We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 November 2017

This July, my husband and I spent the first few days of our honeymoon at the AG Thomson House. We stayed in the Mayor's Chamber. The moment we arrived, one of the owners came out to greet us and help us with our luggage. The rest of our stay was magical. The house and grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious (the best we have ever had at a B&B), and the owners were amazing hosts. Thank you so much for such a wonderful start to our honeymoon! We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amybethvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you! We can't wait to see you for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

The AG Thomson Bed and Breakfast is a phenomenal experience. The property is beautifully kept along with the rooms being comfortable. The highlight of our entire trip was breakfast each morning. Angie's breakfasts' were some of the best meals I've ever had. My wife and I will make a point to stay there anytime we can.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tomt4525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much! I so enjoy coming up with new breakfast ideas and could not be happier you enjoyed them! See you next time for something new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

My wife & I have now stayed here 7 times and it never gets old. This has become a tradition for us to come here every Oct since our egagemnt. We usually stay in the the Ryerson Sutie wich has a cozy little sun porch on the back. We spent a lot of time in the sun roo. watching movies and me watching hockey while my wife read some books in the bedrooom. The food is also something that you really cant find anywhere else. It seems like every year we come back it gets better and better . Tim & Angie are truly amazing people. The pride they take in there B&B is something all large and small hotels should take .. A tip for any guys that want to surprise there wifes/finances. The rose pedal turn package is truly amazing and your wife/finance will truly love it

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You two are truly, truly amazing and feel like you are a part of our family! We've enjoyed sharing our time and watching your family grow! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite. Gorgeous, huge, stocked with goodies, comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious and your hosts are so friendly! We will be back. There is a reason this place is rated so highly - it is the best around!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, thank you!! We can't wait to have you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Such an amazing staff, with friendly staff, great library of videos, wonderful bathtub and very close to so many great restaurants. The breakfast was so delicious and there are lots of other treats when you are hungry.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you! We love our location - so close to everything and yet tucked away in peace and quiet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

My husband and I just stayed here for a weekend and will definitely be back. Tim and Angie are amazing - so friendly and warm, but after a warm welcome with a tour they allow you to have your privacy and spend your time as you wish. They really seem to have thought of everything, from umbrellas and towels by the front door if needed to Q-tips in the bathrooms. The grounds are amazing - many charming seating areas and water features to make you really feel like you're 'away from it all' even in the middle of Duluth. We even saw 3 deer sleeping in the yard of the home next door! Breakfast was delicious both days we were there - I'd rave about one specific item but they were really all great - and kept us full until supper time! And my husband definitely enjoyed the wonderful chocolate chip cookies Angie made. If you're looking for a relaxing escape in Duluth, this should definitely be your first choice!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - we are so happy we enjoyed your stay! We are humbled by your kindness and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My husband booked us into the Lake Superior suite for my birthday. Even though the Inn was full, it was almost like we were the only ones there. Our suite had a private deck which overlooked some of the gardens. I am a big flower gardener, and loved walking through the property to view all the pots, yard art and plantings.

Angie and Tim were great hosts. Angie gave some recommendations on where to have dinner, and we tried two of her recommendations, one for each of the nights we were there. Both were spot on.

Definitely can see why A. G. Thomson House receives such high ratings. We have been spoiled, and will now have a hard time finding other B&Bs that will live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aw...thank you!! I love my gardens and enjoy spoiling too! See you on your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.1 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3 km away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 31 in Duluth
362 reviews
4.5 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
The Inn on Lake Superior
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
4.9 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range: $353 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing