We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wow. this is Big!

This is a fascinating stop for anybody traveling through the area. There is a great view of the... read more

Reviewed June 6, 2018
montanapescado
,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Family Vacation Stop

We were in route to our family vacation rental and decided to stop in here. For directions to the... read more

Reviewed August 1, 2017
maryjnsteve
,
Glenville, Minnesota
Read all 66 reviews
  
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
40
17
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
17
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand canyon follow the signs equipment mining operation visitors hole minnesota stop directions
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 66 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

A neat place to see what mining about. The view is pretty neat also. It's like our own Grand Canyon of northern Minnesota.

Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I are in Hibbing on a business trip. When possible we like to check out local sights and learn about the area. No better place than here. It's free, takes under 30 minutes, and has friendly staff to answer questions. Also check out the former town of North Hibbing, literally moved about 100 years ago to make way for the mining business - it's on the way to the the Hull Rust site. Streets are still there, also sidewalks and some building foundations. Easy walk around. Posted information tells the story.

Thank GV14218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This is a great view of the open pit iron mine. The volunteer there answered our questions and gave us information about what was going on in the mine that we could see from a distance. There is one of the huge trucks there to see and climb on and information about how the iron is extracted from the ore. It provides jobs and supports the economy of the area.

Thank CADNampa_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Great free attraction. Kids can climb in a giant ore truck and inside buckets etc.

It's more than worth the free admission - I think everyone should leave a small donation to keep the attraction open.

Thank degearchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Friends had told us that this was a must see in Hibbings. Well, it was an impressive achievement. It is free, and the little gift shop has information about the iron processing over the many years it has been open.

Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews