We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy country retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bothy
Sitting Room with DVD Library
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The Bothy
Sitting Room with DVD Library
Bedroom by evening
Ample storage with bathrobes, hairdryer and extra towels
Bedroom by day
Kitchen
Dining Area of the Kitchen (seats 4)
Fresh flowers from the Garden
Herb Pot
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dog friendly! Please let us know if you are bringing a dog.
The Pond of the main house fishing and swimming on request.
Entrance to the Herbaceous Border
Jersey Herd on the Home Farm
Burns Monument Mauchline
Tennis Court available on a request basis
Table with a View - Buy the best fish & chips from the Wee Hurrie and salty air and sea-views to Arr
Small Terrace with BBQ
Troon Habour renowned for its fish and chips at the Wee Hurrie.
Sunken Road to the Bothy
Snowdrops
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hurlford, Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PKj2012
UAE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy country retreat”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Wee Bothy cottage exceeded our expectations. It was cosy and comfortable and a great secluded location in the Carnell Estate. It is even better than the photos on trip advisor. We have stayed in many cottage rentals, and this was by far the most well supplied and considered holiday rental - you could turn up and everything was there - it felt like a home. The owner even left some toys out for our young son. Would fully recommend it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Hi Katrina

Thanks so much for your very kind review. We do hope you will return next time you're back in Scotland. Best wishes
Adrienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola__87G...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional! ”
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed here for three nights, it was absolutely fantastic. Our perfect kind of holiday - peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.
The Bothy was very well equipped with lots of unexpected extras, a lovely touch. It was very comfortable and really felt like a home away from home.
The gardens were stunning! We were lucky enough to have lots of sunny weather during our visit, we spent most of our time in the gardens relaxing. We'd love to return and see the garden during different seasons.
The welcome and communication through the whole booking experience from the hosts, Adrienne and Micky, was fantastic. The staff in the estate were also very friendly and welcoming. Haggis, one of the dogs, was also a very friendly visitor!
We will definitely return - hopefully sooner than later.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thanks so much for your very kind review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we do hope you will come back later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic retreat, in beautiful surroundings. The cottage had everything you need and more. Very friendly ground staff and very welcoming hosts Mickey and Adrienne who are very focused on making your stay an enjoyable one.

Very pet friendly and our Golden Retriever Fergus enjoyed his stay too, with plenty of space to take him on walks.

We loved this accommodation so much, that we will definitely return for another break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Hello Graham, thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you, Jenny and Fergus and enjoyed your time here. We do hope you'll be back soon. Best for now, Adrienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainejan...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What A Find”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Wee Bothy is a wonderful cottage ideal for a couple (plus a furry friend) set in the most beautiful surroundings. The cottage is beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable with everything you need a for relaxing, chill-out stay. Hosts very welcoming and attentive. Attention to detail is amazing and everything is provided (and more) with a welcome pack on arrival, toiletries etc. and many extras to make it a real 'home from home'.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Dear Elaine
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We're so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your visit. You must come back to see the gardens in Spring or Summer when they are full of colour particularly, the herbaceous borders nearest to the Bothy.

Thanks again,
Adrienne & Micky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoegal97...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Cottage was great for my weeks visit . Grounds were amazing , beautiful ornimenta gardens (even in autumn ) and the owners couldn’t be more helpful .
The supply of more than basic stock items for the kitchen on arrival was a great touch ..( milk bread butter eggs etc )
Only down side was there was no freezer and the settee was a small 2 seater so a tad snug for us .. (we are a large couple /6 ft 4 and a 5ft 10. )
The dog had an amazing time playing with the owners dog and a dog staying at the neighbouring cottage .
Would definitely book again if in the area again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Hi Lisa

Thanks so much for your kind review and for the feedback. We may well add a freezer if we can find space...otherwise, you can always leave frozen things with us if you head back. I appreciate that's not as convenient but is an option for the moment. Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing