We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
86
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski trails outdoor hot tub northern mn andy sauna aggie northwoods
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 104 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Definitely one of the best weekends of the winter. Both the skiing and the lodge were great. Andy was a wonderful host and really made everyone feel welcome. The cabins were very basic, but perfectly comfortable. Augie put together tasty meal after tasty meal. The polar plunge was addicting. Just a great place for a ski weekend.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

What a nice surprise to get an NFL ski review with no snow in sight. You made my day! Hope you can make it up again this winter. Thanks much! -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

We've been enjoying NFL for 15 years. Best XC trails, great host, and love the outdoor hot tub. Enjoy family style dining. Live music on Saturday night by localThe artists is lots of fun and great for dancing.
Trails are classical, trees are tall pines and snow is ubiquitous. It's my favorite.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Safari281505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Always wonderful to get feedback from a longtime fan. Thanks so much! See you again and we'll work hard to keep it your "favorite." -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016

Rarely have I had a weekend away that I came back feeling so refreshed, happy, and so looking forward to a repeat. Pack up a few things (most importantly you X-country skis and swim suit, and a beer or two or bottle of wine) and head a little over an hour past Duluth and get ready to enjoy every moment. The beautiful trails (through the woods with plenty of snow) for skiing would be enough to bring me back, but throw in , healthy and tasty prepared meals in a fun, friendly communal dinning hall, outside hot tub and sauna right next to the polar plunge, topped off with music and dancing on Saturday night, an easy going, responsive host and you can't miss. NFL is truly a vacation treasure!

Room Tip: Only three cabins have indoor plumbing.....the rest of the cabins use a bathroom/shower house close by.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Wow! You certainly made the NFL sound like heaven on earth. Thanks so much for your amazing reflections of the weekend. Do come back and "refresh" again anytime. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016

Beautiful ski trails.
Delicious cuisine.
Fun live music and dancing Sat night.
Fun group and warm and friendly hosts.
Only 4 hrs from the Twin Cities but I felt very much away for a break.
I will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Thanks so much Joe. It was great to have you here and I'll look forward to seeing you winter 2017! -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2016

We heard about NFL because my wife stayed here in the mid 1990s during the summertime. We were not going to be taking a warm trip, so cold it was. Everything was awesome! Food, trails, hospitality! Andy and the staff were awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Thanks so much for your "cold" review. Looking forward to having both of you up many more times in the summers and winters to come. - Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews