We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
86
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski trails outdoor hot tub northern mn andy sauna aggie northwoods
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 104 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Love the good, hot, meals & not cleaning up after eating.
The classic XC ski trails are without parallel with the snow covered trees completely canopying the trail in some areas. I can stop at any point on the trails and be in awe of the forest.

Room Tip: using a fitted sheet on the bed under your sleeping bag makes it much nicer - less noisy, less slippery.
Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 4thSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Me too! Thanks for taking the time to share this review! -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Great location. Cross the lake and you are in the National Forest, a winter wonderland. Trails are well groomed for cross country skiing. The staff at NFL are wonderful, including great food. Been there 2 times and planning to go back. Some cabins have running water, kitchens and bathrooms, others do not. But the hot tub and sauna make up for having to use a communal bathrooms.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H7699TTsusang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Thanks so much for your business and great review. See you again! - Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

My wife and I have been skiing at NFL with a large group for the last four years and it is our favorite trip of the year. The trails start right at the resort and are so beautiful. Huge trees like you never see in the cities and they are usually full of snow. They have an outdoor hot tub where you can soak away the soreness of the day while gazing at the stars, and a wood burning sauna down by the lake for the crazies that like to polar plunge. One problem I've noticed though is that even though I'm burning twice as many calories as usual skiing like a madman I end up eating three times as much as normal because the food is so good! The owners are great and totally easy to work with. Do yourself a favor, get a large group together and treat yourself to skiing and relaxing in the north woods :-)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jlrover2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

That is quite a problem. I'll have to tell chef Augie to start making worse food and burning as much of it as possible. Thanks for the swell review and your many years of organizing the Rovers! Definitely makes all the weekends following kind of a letdown. :( -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Beautiful setting, gorgeous trails and wonderful visit to the national forest!
Will definitely be one of my annual trips going forward. Incredible nature and beautiful backdrop for a nordic ski weekend. Loved the outdoor wood sauna and surprised myself with the polar plunge. I would highly recommend it!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Glad you've taken the plunge both literally and figuratively. See you next winter. Thanks so much for the review. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

This was my first visit to NFL but it will NOT be my last. The setting is gorgeous, the accommodations cozy and comfortable, the staff friendly, funny, personable, and very helpful, the ski trails superb and beautiful, and snow shoeing was also great. I'll be back in the winter time as well as in the summer and/or fall!

Room Tip: Not all cabins have indoor bathrooms so if that is important to you, be sure to request one that does.
Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

"Funny" is the watchword here at the NFL. Glad you enjoyed our quirky little spot in the woods. Thanks for reviewing. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews