We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly Minnesotan skiing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isabella
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
National Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The National Forest Lodge is a fabulous one of a kind experience. We have been there three times and each time have left feeling refreshed and energized by our time there.

Here are some of the high points:
*Excellent ski trails
*Wonderful food. The NFL imports a talented chef from Ely, MN to cook common meals for everyone
*Great musical talent - this year it was unreal how good it was - hall of fame stuff!
*Sauna, hot tub, and polar plunge (free bumper sticker if you do it!)
*Good people and an opportunity to mingle with folks from all over.

The owners are good people working hard to provide a truly unique ski weekend.
We generally book for the next year immediately after finishing our weekend.

You should be aware that most rooms do not have private bath. They are heated cabins with a common bath house for showers/toilets. The only time this can be challenging is if you have to get up in the night. But HEY, you are in the north woods! SO deal with it! It's worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms are rustic. Love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Hi Brad. Thanks so much for your enthusiastic review! Happy the trip is "worth it" for you and appreciate your annual visit. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

We love the NFL. This was our third year going for one of the ski weekends. We love the communal meals that make us feel like we are part of an instant community. The ski trails are fantastic, the music was phenomenal, the food was excellent and Andy makes sure you have everything you need. Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hey. Thanks for the glowing review. It was a great weekend! See you next winter. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

A very special place! Skiing the superior national forest on miles of perfectly groomed trails! Food was excellent. Accommodations were clean and cozy. Our unit had a great wood burning stove. Attentive warm staff, highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank cathygrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

So glad you enjoyed your weekend. The White Pine Retreat is a neat cabin. Thanks for the review! -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Fabulous time at the National Forrest Lodge once again! They have the most beautiful groomed trails and there is always snow there. I look forward to this escape every year. Great skiing and snowshoeing, wonderful meals thanks to Chef Augie, whirlpool, sauna and polar plunge.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Loved having you back! Thanks for your long standing support. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We go annually, its beautiful and peaceful, and the food is fantastic! The cabins are rustic and cozy, always clean. We travel 4 hours there and back for a short wknd trip, always worth it. Check it out!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shelly_dalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Glad it works for even a short weekend trip. Once you arrive on Friday (as early as 1pm), you have a full 48 hours to unwind. Play, eat, nap and repeat! Late check-ins and early check-outs were always my pet peeve on a 2 day trip to the shore. Thanks for sharing your experience and enthusiasm with us. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This is an extraordinary option for a quiet and relaxing time! If you would like to be away from the hustle and bustle of your weekly routine, this is the ideal place to be! As a couple, or with your family you will find the peace and quiet you seek, without a schedule to follow:-) Here you have miles of cross country skiing trails, hiking trails, as well as snowshoe trails in the woods of the National Forest. This is truly a Winter Wonderland!
At the lodge there are various cabins to choose from; there is a 2-person cabin, up to as many as an 8-+ cabin available; some have a bathroom included and others are located very close to the shower and bathroom facility.
Not only are the facilities extremely clean, and comfortable, but there are other amenities available at the lodge. There is a wonderful hot tub, a great sauna, and of course, the chance to do a polar plunge in the lake!!
Meals are included in the per person rate, and the food that Chef August and his staff serve, never disappoints! Their meals are always satisfying and prepared with the utmost care to detail!
Honestly, if you are looking for a friendly and quiet place to stay that has many offerings for your enjoyment, don't think twice about selecting this wonderful National Forest Lodge near Isabella, MN.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patagonia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

I'm speechless (not a common occurrence). Thanks so much for this extraordinary review. Hope to enjoy your company again soon. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Once again the NFL delivered with excellent snow, groomed ski and snow shoe trails, awesome food and great company! Best outdoor hot tub, sauna and polar plunge- for the brave souls. Already booked our cabin for 2018!
Andy and Augie are the BEST hosts in the north :)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank panondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Thanks #1 fan. Thanks for sending your friends up this weekend too! You are toooo kind. Appreciate you taking the time to deliver these kudos. Makes it fun to run the joint. -Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to National Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Forest Lodge

Address: 9905 National Forest Lodge Rd, Isabella, MN 55607-9702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Isabella
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Isabella
Price Range: C$88 - C$337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, warm cabins with a charm all their own are nestled in the towering pines of the forest and provide the perfect place to settle into after a day on the trails! National Forest Lodge offers a unique all-inclusive Winter get-away of great cross country skiing and snowshoeing, hearty food, and friendly hospitality. In the Spring, Summer or Fall, rent out the Log Home or one of our camper cabins. Great fishing, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, biking and more. Roast some weenies and marshmallows over your fire pit or get baked in our lakeside Finnish sauna (firewood provided!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing