We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
31
9
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
9
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishsmall breakfastdown the roadstate parkpizzaguidesummerweekendfunpetsatvlakedogcookbrandicegrounds
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Although not the fanciest hotel around, this place caters to the traveler looking to fish, or on business. Front desk is unoccupied most of the night, but still feels very homey. Small breakfast offered in the morning, and you have to ask for ice for your room, but still enjoy staying there.

Room Tip: Rent a cabin if you can for large groups...very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 13Bubba1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We were a party of 3 that drove 2 hours to go on a fishing launch from 6:00-10:00.
At about 1 1/2 into the launch the weather turned bad. We had to turn back to the dock. No fish and no discount on a future trip, because we used a groupon.
They offer the groupon but wont stand behind it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank wendyvanbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

If you are in the Mille Lacs area, this is a very good place to stay. It's not the Ritz or real fancy, but we found it to be clean and friendly. It could use some updates, but for the area it is a top pick. Very close to the lake and also right in the middle of the action in terms of fishing and other things to do. If you are on the east side of the lake, I would recommend staying here. They are also connected with Twin Bay resort and together they make a great package!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FamilyDad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017

It's alway tough to know if I should rate according to the area or to the international standard. For this area, the place deserves a 4 rating. For the international standard of places I've been to it deserves a 3. In short, McQuoid's is oldish and clean. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were dated, but clean. A bit of caulk coming loose around the tub and minor issues like that. The polyester towels are wearing thin. The beds were comfortable and the linen was clean. I think this is one of the nicer hotel's in the area. However, it is not a world class hotel as you would find in a large metropolitan area. If I were ice fishing in the area again, I would have no problem staying at McQuoid's again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank curioustravelor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We have a large family group 21 plus dogs, so it can be difficult to find places to stay. McQuoid's was perfect. We rented hotel rooms and a few cabins. It was great that we could spread out and still had enough room in the cabins to hang out. The rates were very reasonable.
We did not go on a fishing trip but it looks like a nice setup and the people seemed to have fun.
There is a small playground for smaller kids but there is no beach, pool etc. to entertain themselves.

The hotel rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean, and comfortable. The bed was too hard for my liking but my wife thought it was fine.
The AC worked well!

They have real KEYS. The kids thought that was great.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews