We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$38
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-06
Hotels.com
US$34
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-04
Trip.com
US$56
US$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-04
Expedia.comUS$34
PricelineUS$43
getaroom.comUS$56
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
86
186
67
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
186
67
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall walking distance business trip pleasant stay limited parking house keeping front office value for money front desk staff room for improvement car park strategic location carnival penang supermarket cleanliness convention
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 364 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2020

Comparing this against the hotel just across the property, this hotel is in every bit worse if you are someone who pays attention to details; bed being a little hard, kettle with plastic interior instead of stainless steel, toilet bowl flush that is weak, TV screen that is insanely small by today's standards.

My biggest gripe is the lack of parking spaces and the jockeys wanted to collect RM20 for parking service. My advise to management: this is a hotel, not a shopping mall. Considering majority of your guests are locals you should expect that majority would be driving to your property. Therefore, it is inexcusable not to provide sufficient parking spaces.

That said, it is still a decent place to stay considering choices are pretty limited around this area.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate such beneficial comments and constructive feedback from our guests.

Please accept our sincere empathy for the inconvenience you experienced with our services during your stay with us, especially with our parking facilities. Kindly be informed that your feedback on our toilet bowl flush is much appreciated, and will be highlighted to the relevant department for necessary steps to improve guest experience. Your comments on our kettle, TV size and bed quality are also duly noted, and will be forwarded accordingly to the Management for their attention and consideration. With regards to your comment on our parking facilities, kindly be informed that the Management of the hotel does engage valet services in order to provide guests with complimentary parking convenience in view of the limited parking space due to the ongoing construction of Sunway Medical Centre next door, and the chargeable parking is provided to guests who wish to park their cars within the front porch of the hotel. We hope the service provides better security, and has reduced the inconveniences of guests who might need to look for other available parking spaces around the hotel.

We hope that this single experience will not mar your overall impression of our hotel, and we wish to welcome you back with us again soon to experience the changes.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

Me & my husband really suprised that our duluxe room was upgrade tu suite room without any additional charge!
Tq Ms Punitha to choose us for a lucky guest on that day.Sincerely no other hotel do like sunway hotel seb jaya did which is they choose the guest randomly who stay at their hotel for the first time & upgrade the room.I wish the other hotel also can do like sunway hotel do.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suzana_60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. What a pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind comments will be circulated to our management team and we are sure that such praise will be an added motivation to our staff.

We await the pleasure of greeting you again, and wish to thank you for making Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya your preferred choice of accommodation in Seberang Jaya.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Thank you for the great service provided. Had a well rest during my business trip recently in the upgraded room. However, the a/c was quite warm and the room was stuffy initially. Kindly look into this matter and keep up the good work.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Life_possible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our services to your expectations. Please accept our sincere empathy for the experience that you had with our air-conditioning, your comments will be forwarded to the relevant departments for their attention and guest experience enhancements. We would like to encourage our guests should they require any assistance with their room temperature to contact our Service Centre at any time during their stay, and our team will assist accordingly.

We hope that this single experience will not mar your overall impression of our hotel, and we wish to welcome you back with us soon.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Hotel is good for business travelers due to its location to the kulim high tech industrial park. Also not too far from PIA. The sunway carnival mall is within a walking distance which is also a problem as you would not want to make the 500 m plus walk to the mall but it’s also too near to use grab. There are some eating places just opposite the hotel. But frankly all the places I tried, the taste was plain n normal.

Staff are friendly and helpful. House keeping is good without having any complaints for that. WiFi signal is strong and won’t have dropped signal.

Room is spacious but the TV is too old and picture quality is not good in terms of colour. The top part of about 1 inch is already dead pixels. The ventilation in the shower was too noisy when turned on. Not enough lighting in the room. The wall power sockets are not attached or fixed well enough such that when you unplug the wall socket would came loose as well. But I would compliment the mattress and pillows for their comfort.

Breakfast is normal without anything fancy. Brad and small cakes are good. Apart from that the dishes are standard every day with spicy curry chicken cooked in different ways but all spicy. Teh Tarik is good while the coffee from a pot was so so. Was disappointed to find that the hotel doesn’t have a coffee maker for latte or cappuccino.

One unpleasantness was that when I first entered the room there was some smell of cigarettes inside and took about a few hours for the smell to disappear. I understand it’s a no smoking room but obviously previous guest has smoked in it and the smell still lingers.

To be fair to the hotel I didn’t make my concerns known on the spot to give them the chance to fix them. But to be above average hotel guests should not have been experiencing such encounters in the first place.

I would still stay here again as it’s the hotel arranged by the company for the business traveling.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank 155thihas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate such beneficial and constructive comments from our guests, allowing us to further improve our service standards.

Please accept our sincere empathy for the experience you had during your stay with us, especially with regards to the smell of cigarettes in your room. We thank you for highlighting the matter to us, rest assured that steps will be taken to further enhance our guests experiences, as our hotel remains committed to providing standard services to all our guests. We would also like to acknowledge your comments on the amenities in your room, as we will highlight them to the relevant departments for product improvements. Should guests require any assistance throughout their stay with us, we would like to recommend they contact our Service Centre immediately for our team render timely assistance. With regards to your comment on the coffee maker, please be informed that they are available in our Club Lounge. Kindly allow us to recommend you to stay in our Club Rooms in the future, which provides guests access to the Club Lounge with all day coffee, tea, juices and snacks.

Nevertheless, your kind compliments on our staff and WiFi is much appreciated, and we have conveyed your kind remarks of our Housekeeping team of a good job done. This will definitely serve as an encouragement for them to maintain and strive to raise the service bar further.

We hope that this single visit does not mar your overall impression of our hotel, and we wish to welcome you back with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

We checked in in the afternoon 5pm by Front office lady (Ms.Punitha), she was very friendly and in details person. Offered us an upgrade and she even called to checked with us after 10mins we got in our room if everything was fine.
Room free upgraded to Suite, the room are big enough. This room are as well entitled for club lounge access. 6pm to 8pm for free cocktail (wine & beer) + light dinner for free. We was served by Ms.Bea, she was very attentive! Very good staffs, observative person. We talked to her and she was friendly enough to talked and chat with us. Good!

**Room with Coway air purifier, suberp. I like it!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jasontee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. What a pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind comments will be circulated to our management team and we are sure that such praise will be an added motivation to our staff.

We await the pleasure of greeting you again, and wish to thank you for making Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya your preferred choice of accommodation in Seberang Jaya.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews