We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday”
Review of Embudu Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embudu Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed from 1-15th February. We have been to the Maldives twice before, both times to Club Faru.
Our room, no 72, on the windy side of the island was an upgraded one, with a great bathroom and the best shower I've had on holiday.
There aren't many British guests, which is great because we didn't go there to meet new best friends. In fact the only two couples we spoke to in 2 weeks were German and Austrian - that made such a nice change.
The room was kept very clean each day, as were the grounds of Embudu. The gardeners are constantly sweeping up fallen leaves to make sure the place looks as good as possible.
The food was really good and the chefs, our waiter Fatu and the restaurant manager all did a brilliant job.
The bar staff were excellent - Shyam, Sunil and Sree were so good at their jobs, they knew your drinks within a day of being there and the next drink was on it's way before you'd finished one. They were really friendly, as were all the staff, and helped make the holiday so special.
The snorkeling was amazing - we saw turtles, sharks, eagle rays and lots of beautiful fish. The coral garden at the front of the resort has no current so is safe, but beware the other side of the island as the current can be scarily strong. The guys at the dive centre will talk you through this when you arrive, so at least you know what your doing.
We had a fantastic holiday - not just because we were chilling in such a wonderful place - but thanks to the staff on the island who are so friendly and work so hard to make sure everyone has a great time.
We are gutted that Thomson are not flying from Manchester soon, that is such a shame, however if we never go again at least we had a stunning last holiday there.
If you are thinking of going here - get it booked - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Piglets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Embudu Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was my third trip to Embudu and it remains my favorite place anywhere!

The rooms are better now they've been upgraded. We stayed in room 89,which is a good position. This isn't a posh island, but rooms are spotless, roomy and good enough. The bathrooms are huge and the new big shower cubicles are great. Not a huge amount of wardrobe space, but that's a minor issue. The airconditioning in superior rooms is a must I think, can't imagine how people manage without them in the standard rooms.

The staff are excellent, couldn't do enough to help. My husband cannot eat gluten, which we mentioned to the restaurant manager - every meal after this, my husband was presented with his own gluten free food. The food generally is good, with enough choices for most tastes (I put on a stone in 2 weeks!). Bar staff remember what drinks you look and your room number (maybe we just visited too often!)

We went all inclusive this time, which worked well and we certainly enjoyed the daily special cocktail! (think the cocktails are to blame for the stone actually!)

The house reef is excellent and is like swimming in fish soup. We saw octopus, eagle rays and some pretty big sharks this time, as well as a very friendly turtle! We went on a snorkelling trip with the dive school and swam with manta rays for an hour - excellent!

People still bring children and I don't understand why - there's nothing for them to do. This is an island with no entertainment (other than once a week), so you need to be able to amuse yourselves.

This place is my idea of heaven! Just blissful, peaceful beauty with helpful staff.

Can't believe that Thomson are stopping the Manchester flight though,so I might not be able to go back again - booo!

Room Tip: Rooms near the sand bank are in the 30's and is a quiet area. Rooms in the 70's are on the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank teriwidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

left our booking till late and options were above our budget or below and we chose the latter. After reading some bad reports we were unsure of what the island would be like. This was our 5th trip to the Maldives and the greeting was much the same as other islands, half of the island rooms have been refurbished and luckily we were in room 89 which was almost brand new nothing to complain about there, bathroom, shower spotless. apparently from room 50 upwards has been refurbished. Unlike other islands we have been to there were no beach towels or the usual toiletries etc but that was not a problem as we had read about that before we went, no TV in the rooms we were in beachfront villa. The sunbeds are hard rigid fibre glass, we bought airbeds from the shop approx £50 and left them near our sun loungers only to find the next day they had been taken by a German couple so strongly recommend you write your room number and name. Food was very good different themes every night. Snorkeling around the island is really good, small sharks, plenty turtles, reef is teaming with lots of fish, the current around the island can be quite strong so make sure you take note of the entry and exit points its great to be in a drift but we saw quite a few people being rescued from the reef!!. We went on a couple of snorkeling trips which were well worth it, lots of pods of dolphins, One pod in particular came right up to the boat and the small Dolphins started jumping and spinning what a spectacular sight, we also saw Manta not far from the island. Most folk on the island when we were there were French and German, not many English we found a lot of people return year after year and love it. We could not dive as my husband had a problem with his foot but the diving school appeared to be well run and friendly. The Water bungalows were in three rows of 4 with no access into the sea as far as we could see, apparently a viewing area but they had no privacy really. All in all it wasn`t the best island we have been too but great value for money, staff are really friendly and cannot do enough for you. We have booked our holiday for 2013 back to South Ari Atoll on 3rd Feb, cannot belie ve Thompson have stopped flying direct to Male from Manchester, it is a bit of a chore having to go from Gatwick.

Room Tip: ask for room numbers 50 upwards these have all been renovated
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank moira053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This was the second time we have been and both times were brilliant. We arrived on the island early due to a following wind on the flight, which was nice, and allocated room 22. Off we went, once inside we were shocked! The room was a disgrace, it was filthy, dusty and old. It hadn't been cleaned in some time and you could run your fingers through the dust! Fortunately some friends were in room 82 so we trotted off to see what there's was like. It had recently been refurbished and was a million times better, anyway, a quick complaint at reception and the next day were moved to room 72 which had been refurbished. Apart from the errant room everything else was brilliant. Swam with turtles every day(got photos to orove it), swam with a Manta, again got photos. The staff were good, a special shout out to Sham in the bar. Overall Embudu is a fantastic place to stay, just don't expect a tv in your room. Would love to go back but Thomson aren't flying from Manchester any more so we have to travel from Gatwick. Not impressed .

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pcx8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

very nice viewed rooms ,excellent washrooms,fast boot pick and drop to airport,nice food.Love to spend few more days here in future trip.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are nice
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neelam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have visited a few different islands now and also work in the travel industry and can honestly say that this island is excellent value for money. We stayed in a refurbished room which was very clean and a brilliant glass enclosed shower with black granite sink and fully tiled bathroom. The bed was massive and also quite firm but that's fine with me. New air conditioning units in the room worked perfectly. There is also a fridge for you to use. Whilst we were there, the island had just taken a delivery of new black rattan furniture so every room has a new table and chairs outside.
The food in the restaurant was buffet style for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not much variation in the fruit (only pineapple, bananas and melon) for breakfast but they did have proper pork bacon which I have never come across before in the Maldives being that the staff are muslim and aren't normally allowed to handle it. Lunch had a few different dishes to choose from including curries, normally some sort of fish dish and some other meat dish. There was also pasta and salad and soup. Dinner was a different theme every night and I must say that the beef steaks are absolutely lovely! Again there was always a curry available and different dishes depending on the theme. If there was still nothing there that you would eat, you could ask your waiter and they would cook you something else from the kitchen. This never happened with us though as the food is always varied at dinner time and really tasty.
The reef is the best I have seen yet! The coral garden is huge and has the most living coral I have ever seen in the Maldives. I would come back to this island again just for the coral and marine life alone. Many people we spoke to on the island were actually on their 10th, 11th, 12th........visit to the island because of the reef.
I don't think there is a 'bad' spot on the island to have your room. Having walked round the island (everyday) all rooms either have a little alcove of beach or are very close to one of the larger expanses of sand. There is a windy side and a calm side and you need to be mindful of currents when you go snorkeling outside the reef.
I don't normally go back to the same island twice as there are so many to see but I would definitely go back to this one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank KatTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

arrived at embdu village on nov 6th for 2 wks,this island is out of this world,such a pretty island snorkelling is great, array of fish so many colours,resturant food excellant,all the staff on this island makes you so welcome,thanks for that,our room had been updated,very clean,cleaned everyday,and back at evening time aswell,to check our room boy was excellant sory forgotten his name. so a big thank you to all the stafffor making our holiday such a good one would we go back to embudu, yes,hoping to get back there in may.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank suebar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embudu
7.5 km away
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
#1 of 1 in Vaadhoo Island
879 reviews
26.4 km away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,464 reviews
18.9 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,664 reviews
20.8 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,038 reviews
23.1 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embudu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embudu Village

Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Embudu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Price Range: $379 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embudu Village 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embudu Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embudu Village Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Embudu Village Male
Embudu Village Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing