We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Fun Honeymoon!”
Review of Embudu Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embudu Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What can I say about Embudu that people haven't already. We arrived on the 16th April 2012 and during the transfer took a quick detour as the boat pilot and crew saw a school of dolphins swimming a couple of minutes off the Island. I great start if I do say so myself.

We picked Embudu due to it's trip advisor score, the reviews and wanted a nice relaxing Honeymoon on the budget we had. There were another couple on their honeymoon too and we both came to the same reasoning. A small island that was quiet and relaxed but at the same time had some things to do.

As other reviews have said it's mainly Germans on the island which was good for us as we didn't want to bother others or be bothered by others. There are times on holidays where you feel you have to couple up and talk but luckily with the language barrier we were left, of course unless we all wanted to talk.

The bar is amazing, the food is awesome and I recommend anyone who goes go All Inclusive, pay the extra as if you are buying drinks, water is £2 for 2 litres (ish) and a beer 330ml about £2.50. We totted up the bill for the 2 weeks and figured we would have spent £1000+ on drinks.

We did a couple of trips during our time there, we did a night fishing trip together where we did catch a few, but my wife doesn't really like fish or fishing so the next couple of times I went by myself, they do this twice a week.
On the first Sunday we did the island hope and for $37 and a 5 hour trip is wasn't bad value. We went to another hotel island, which was a lot busier and was not the type of Island I would have liked to have stayed. We went to a local island which was very surreal and very interesting to see how the locals lived compared to the hotel islands and it's very good for shopping. The 3rd visit was to a sandbank, where you jump of the boat have a little swim before going back to Embudu.

The one down point was the new beds, they are harder than the floor and less comfy than sleeping in the sand. If they were just a little bit softer then Embudu would have got a 5.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LuckyNoS7evin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great experiences.. was on a holiday with my friends and had a great time.
Place is reasonable and has great value for their guest..
I recommend this place and will come back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Collins M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our 1st Maldives trip, & went for two weeks, we'd read reviews that said this was by no means a luxury resort and this was true. HOWEVER READ ON - This resort is for those of you that want a quiet, no frills, relaxing Maldives holiday. As mentioned in other reviews here, rooms 50 & above are the refurbished ones. We initially were put in 17. These rooms are old & tired, but fine if all you want is a bed. We asked to move as our fridge wasn't working, which actually turned out to be faulty electrics on that side of the room. Reception were very helpful & understanding & we were moved to 65 the next morning. The new rooms are a world away from the others in that everything has been updated, including very nice bathrooms with lovely big glass shower cubicles. A/C was also new & worked a treat!! The only negative we had was the mattress was pretty hard, but then we are used to our memory foam at home!!

The island itself can be walked around in literally 10 minutes and has two really nice beach areas. Our room was on the "windy" side, & as such had no beach but a small wall to protect the island from the sea. Not exactly a problem as you had to just cut through the middle of the island to get to the sand. There is loads of shade to sit/lie in if you're not a sun worshipper, so I was very happy with that!

We worked out that this resort could have around 300 people there if full, but the weird thing was that even though it was full when we went, the island seemed to "eat" people! If you walked around, you hardly saw anyone, very strange on such a small place! Everyone appeared for food!!

The food was brilliant!! Buffet style as per every All Inclusive holiday, but very, very good! Every evening was themed, with selections including Eastern, Italian, BBQ & Asian nights. There was a really good variety of food to suit every taste, you could even have spicy stuff for breakfast if you wanted! Our waiter was excellent, & they are all very attentive and polite.

There is only one bar, but that was fine as it never got really busy anyway. Evenings were obviously the busiest, but there was always room to sit, including the lovely decking area over the water looking out to the setting sun!! There is not a load of entertainment, but we knew that before we went & was one of the reasons we chose this place as we didn't want some noisy nightclub resort. There's one disco a week on a Sunday & only up to midnight, they also had one other entertainment night a week. This is really good because it gives you the time to actually sit & have a quiet drink & chat.

So to the water!! We only went snorkelling & didn't dive, but the dive school was always busy & popular if you want to do that. You get a briefing by them on the evening of your arrival about safety and where best to snorkel, etc. Having said that, snorkelling had no bad areas! This place is amazing for coral & fish. The house reef completely circles the island & has 3 cut throughs to swim back in via. This is so the coral doesn't get damaged. The sea is beautifully clear & warm, and the amount & variety of fish and other life was breathtaking! I personally saw everything except a ray, including black tipped sharks, angel fish, groupers, clown fish, parrot fish, barracuda & luckily even a turtle! There were many more than this, but need to be seen to be believed!

So overall an amazing holiday, and one of the few places we've been that we'd happily return to as we normally like a different location for each holiday we go on.

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms 50 & above are newly refurbished, & better quality than those below them in number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Rick_M43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beautiful island with very attentive staff. Excellent house reef for both snorkelling and diving. Many of the people we met here, who had visited other Maldivian Islands, said it was the best reef in the Maldives. My husband dived but I decided to just snorkel this time and I saw black tipped sharks, eagle and sting rays, tortoises and free swimming moray eels, as well as all the usual tropical fish.

We had a recently renovated room which was fine, with tea and coffee making facilities in the room and plenty of extra coffee/milk/tea sachets left each day so no need to bring your own. Also, no need to take travel adapters as the sockets are UK 13amp. We had a gecko in our room that cherped and woke us every morning at around 5am!

Beach towels are not provided so you do need to take your own and the hair dryer is one of those on the wall ones in the bathroom that just does not seem to work as well.

We found the food much better here than other islands we have visited, with lots of choice and a most impressive Easter barbecue. Again the restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive - special thanks to Hassan for great service every day.

There is a distinct lack of comfortable seating on the island. The sunbeds and outside bar chairs are hard and there is a notice asking people not to remove chair cushions from the covered bar area; I guess other people have found the seating uncomfortable too. Having said that, lots of people brought their own inflatable beds and we would do the same if we visited again.

We were given a fold up sunbed, with a mattress, by an English couple who inherited it from another English couple. Apparently it was brought to the island by an English lady originally (not sure when) who must have brought it as baggage to be stored in the hold of the plane as it is quite large. It was really comfy and when we left we handed it to another English family. Hopefully the bed will continue for a while longer providing a comfy place to snooze in the sun.

A weekly disco provided the evening entertainment and this was enough for us as we were content to sit on the deck with a drink in the evenings.

The guests were mainly German, with French and Italians and a few Brits when we were there. This did not really bother us although my husband would have preferred some English company on the dive boat; to enable him to discuss/compare dive experiences etc. more easily.

We travelled with Thompson Holidays and they do not have a rep based on the island. This was a bit worrying when we were told there was a Tsunami warning and we all had to group together in reception to await further instructions. We had to rely on the German rep to tell us what was happening each time, after she had explained things to the German guests. We did feel a bit abandoned and thought Thompson Holidays could have got some sort of message of reassurance to us during this time.

All in all we had a very relaxing fortnight in a beautiful location and would not hesitate to recommend this island to people who want total chill out without canned entertainment or the need to 'dress' for dinner each evening. We did not wear shoes at all on the island so one pair of flip flops is ample.

Room Tip: We had room 61, which is near to the jetty although a few steps from our door brought us to what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here with our diving club, where we were able to get very good rates. The fact that it's near enough Male that we didn't need to take a seaplane but far enough not to be disturbed by the airport, lights and sounds of the city made the location ideal and budget friendly. Buffet food was average but had a good selection and overflowing desserts. I actually gained weight because full-board meant a buffet at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The chef was Indian but he also prepared continental dishes (with average/low quality). You could request for a particular food and he will try to prepare it the next day.

The rooms, I would rate as 3-star. We stayed in a water bungalow which is also 3-star. The main advantage of this to other rooms was the bigger size, the balcony with a view and the bigger bathrooms. I read reviews of this place before going so I had low expectations. The water & beach near the water bungalows was starting to smell like a sewer though, but nevertheless, we saw some a stingray, a quite a few blacktip reef sharks swimming in it.

The best part of this hotel was the house reef on the other side of the island. There is a wreck nearby and the beach was amazing. The dive center was run by Diverland and they arranged dives in different parts of the Maldives within 30-45 minutes by boat. Usually 2 dives a day, with the boat coming back for lunch at the resort, except when going to Manta Point where they have 2 dives at the same dive site, and sandwiches provided on board. Dive guides are thorough and professional. The Dive Center has ample space for assembling and washing dive gear. It's nice that they provide mesh bags too. Bringing your own fins is a must. My friend rented and ended up with blisters all over her feet!

The only thing that was missing for me was service at the beach. There was NO SERVICE AT THE BEACH. If you wanted to have a pina colada while basking on the sand, you had to go to the restaurant or bar to order. There were no tables or umbrellas at the beach either. They did have these yellow fiber glass recliners though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gisela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed from 1-15th February. We have been to the Maldives twice before, both times to Club Faru.
Our room, no 72, on the windy side of the island was an upgraded one, with a great bathroom and the best shower I've had on holiday.
There aren't many British guests, which is great because we didn't go there to meet new best friends. In fact the only two couples we spoke to in 2 weeks were German and Austrian - that made such a nice change.
The room was kept very clean each day, as were the grounds of Embudu. The gardeners are constantly sweeping up fallen leaves to make sure the place looks as good as possible.
The food was really good and the chefs, our waiter Fatu and the restaurant manager all did a brilliant job.
The bar staff were excellent - Shyam, Sunil and Sree were so good at their jobs, they knew your drinks within a day of being there and the next drink was on it's way before you'd finished one. They were really friendly, as were all the staff, and helped make the holiday so special.
The snorkeling was amazing - we saw turtles, sharks, eagle rays and lots of beautiful fish. The coral garden at the front of the resort has no current so is safe, but beware the other side of the island as the current can be scarily strong. The guys at the dive centre will talk you through this when you arrive, so at least you know what your doing.
We had a fantastic holiday - not just because we were chilling in such a wonderful place - but thanks to the staff on the island who are so friendly and work so hard to make sure everyone has a great time.
We are gutted that Thomson are not flying from Manchester soon, that is such a shame, however if we never go again at least we had a stunning last holiday there.
If you are thinking of going here - get it booked - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Piglets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was my third trip to Embudu and it remains my favorite place anywhere!

The rooms are better now they've been upgraded. We stayed in room 89,which is a good position. This isn't a posh island, but rooms are spotless, roomy and good enough. The bathrooms are huge and the new big shower cubicles are great. Not a huge amount of wardrobe space, but that's a minor issue. The airconditioning in superior rooms is a must I think, can't imagine how people manage without them in the standard rooms.

The staff are excellent, couldn't do enough to help. My husband cannot eat gluten, which we mentioned to the restaurant manager - every meal after this, my husband was presented with his own gluten free food. The food generally is good, with enough choices for most tastes (I put on a stone in 2 weeks!). Bar staff remember what drinks you look and your room number (maybe we just visited too often!)

We went all inclusive this time, which worked well and we certainly enjoyed the daily special cocktail! (think the cocktails are to blame for the stone actually!)

The house reef is excellent and is like swimming in fish soup. We saw octopus, eagle rays and some pretty big sharks this time, as well as a very friendly turtle! We went on a snorkelling trip with the dive school and swam with manta rays for an hour - excellent!

People still bring children and I don't understand why - there's nothing for them to do. This is an island with no entertainment (other than once a week), so you need to be able to amuse yourselves.

This place is my idea of heaven! Just blissful, peaceful beauty with helpful staff.

Can't believe that Thomson are stopping the Manchester flight though,so I might not be able to go back again - booo!

Room Tip: Rooms near the sand bank are in the 30's and is a quiet area. Rooms in the 70's are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank teriwidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embudu
7.5 km away
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
#1 of 1 in Vaadhoo Island
1,365 reviews
20.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,562 reviews
18.8 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Tropic Tree Hotel Maldives
Tropic Tree Hotel Maldives
#1 of 1 in Gulhi Island
128 reviews
9.3 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,785 reviews
20.8 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embudu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embudu Village

Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Embudu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Price Range: $346 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embudu Village 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embudu Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embudu Village Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Embudu Village Male
Embudu Village Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing