We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We visit Cascade every year”
Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cascade Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Great view of Lake Superior and a convenient restaurant next door. We had kitchen facilities for the first time and this was convenient. Friendly staff, downstairs game room, living room with piano, and fireplace adjacent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittSt_Paul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for returning each year to this special place. We couldn’t be here if it wasn’t for our guests. Safe travels, Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Stayed in Cabin #1 this fall. The cabin was upgraded with new flooring and a LCD TV.
Found the cabin clean and tidy. Has a new view of the lake. We enjoy the wood stove fire
and cozy cabin. So nice to walk to the restaurant just yards away. The walleye was excellent.
We hiked up the trails behind the lodge and found a incredible fall view. Then over to the Cascade River to see the waterfalls and spawning Pink Salmon. Staff is friendly as always. Be sure to walk to the lake shore for the sunsets.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for staying with us. Safe travels. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We were looking for an affordable, cozy place with well-maintained amenities on the North Shore. The lodge is right on Lake Superior. From our room, 210, we had a spectacular view of the Lake. The decor of the room was rustic and cozy, exactly what we wanted for a get-away. The bathroom seemed like it was recently remodeled and was quite clean. Although I recommend the room overall, the bed was extremely creeky and made noises even with the slightest movement. The bed frame and mattress likely require replacing.

The hiking opportunities adjacent to the lodge are endless. Since our stay was short, we opted to hike to Lookout Mountain and the Cascade River Trails. The view from Lookout Mountain is absolutely spectacular! Additionally, if you head over across the road, you can enjoy a nice walk on the rocky shores of Lake Superior. There is seating area on the shore as well, a nice spot for viewing the sunrise/sunset.

The service staff at the front desk was extremely knowledgeable about the hiking and activities around the area. They were friendly and made us feel welcome during our first time on the North Shore.

Bonus, there is a playground on site. This is probably intended for younger guests but my boyfriend and I enjoyed a nice game of tether ball one evening.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

We love to hear about people having fun in and around our property. The playground isn’t just for children, but also for the young at heart. Thanks for staying with us. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We looked long and hard for accessible lodging with kitchen facilities on the North Shore. Cascade Lodge worked for us, but not easily. It was a cozy room in a beautiful spot. The staff was friendly and helpfully answered all of our questions about accessibility via email before we booked. We booked Room 103 after the staff told us it was one of 2 accessible rooms there. There was a ramp up to the front porch entrance. You may need someone to move lightweight porch chairs aside to get to the door. The doorsill was 2" high, which stopped my power chair cold. We pulled the rubber mat over it and with several tries, lots of effort, and a big bump, got the wheelchair over it. The room itself was accessible, and there was even space to use the tiny kitchen from my wheelchair. The bathroom was small, the wheelchair had to be parked in the doorway, with two or three steps to the toilet. No grab bars.
The bed was comfortable, and the place generally quiet and relaxing.Beautiful view of Lake Superior from front porch. Comfortable common room with overstuffed furniture, fireplace, piano, and board games perfect for rainy evenings.

Room Tip: There's a wheelchair ramp to #101,#103. But doorsill is a barrier and bathrooms not accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U2055OYjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you staying with us. I’m happy that the room was able to accommodate your needs. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a lodge room here, as we did on our past visit, a few years ago. We love this place; everything is simple and clean and we had all we needed. We loved being in an upstairs room with a lake view. Absolutely beautiful in the morning! And, in the evening we walked down the new steps to the lake and enjoyed watching the sky change colors, becoming more and more lovely.

Prices here are reasonable and the downstairs common area is a great place to relax. You can catch hiking trails right on the property.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Biz957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us, we’re happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stayed in room 201 which has two queen beds. The room was clean, spacious and lots of windows. We enjoyed walking the trails around the resort and seeing the beautiful cabins they have along the creek/river. We had lunch a couple times at the restaurant which the food was very good and the wait staff was pleasant.
If I had to suggest one improvement it would be to have more interaction with guest.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leervigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your suggestion and will try to have more interaction with our guests. We typically have a USFS Ranger led wildflower hike on Wednesday’s as well as an Interpretive Ranger talk at the campfire area on Saturday nights with S’mores during the peak of summer. I am sorry that we didn’t have the chance to meet as I thoroughly enjoy meeting as many of our guests as possible. Perhaps the next time you come we will have the chance to talk. Safe travels, Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the "chalet" for two nights with three other couples and our young children. It was great! Excellent price and beautiful setting. Nothing pretentious about this place, just a nice Up North getaway. It felt like our own private cabin...could hear the waves from Lake Superior and Cascade creek runs right past the chalet. The chalet has four large bedrooms and two bathrooms (you can also rent just the top floor). Nice high ceilings and a good setup if you are visiting with a large group. Low water pressure in the downstairs bathroom, no oven in downstairs kitchen...these were our only "complaints" and did not detract from our stay. The playground could use some sprucing up but was functional and our kids enjoyed it. There's also a disc golf course out back and many hiking trails. We hiked to cascade state park and lookout mountain. Would stay again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank MplsTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We had to replace the downstairs stove/oven of the Creek Chalet and the new is going in this week. The unit has a fully functioning kitchen in the main living area and we don’t rent the downstairs unit separately (only the upstairs and only if the other two bedrooms are already rented) so it hasn’t been a high priority. I’ll look into the low water pressure as well, thanks for letting us know.
I am happy to hear that your group was happy. Hopefully we’ll see you again.
Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
15.4 km away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
15.8 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
995 reviews
27.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
14.7 km away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
5.5 km away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range: $86 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing