We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior(Lutsen)(Great Value!)
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior(Tofte)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
214
123
42
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
123
42
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorgrand maraishiking trailsnorth shorelookout mountainlake superiorfront porchstate parkcozy cabina couple timescross country skiingfall colorvideo gameseggs benedictgreat view of lakerocking chairswe loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 403 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Stayed in Cabin #1 this fall. The cabin was upgraded with new flooring and a LCD TV.
Found the cabin clean and tidy. Has a new view of the lake. We enjoy the wood stove fire
and cozy cabin. So nice to walk to the restaurant just yards away. The walleye was excellent.
We hiked up the trails behind the lodge and found a incredible fall view. Then over to the Cascade River to see the waterfalls and spawning Pink Salmon. Staff is friendly as always. Be sure to walk to the lake shore for the sunsets.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for staying with us. Safe travels. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We were looking for an affordable, cozy place with well-maintained amenities on the North Shore. The lodge is right on Lake Superior. From our room, 210, we had a spectacular view of the Lake. The decor of the room was rustic and cozy, exactly what we wanted for a get-away. The bathroom seemed like it was recently remodeled and was quite clean. Although I recommend the room overall, the bed was extremely creeky and made noises even with the slightest movement. The bed frame and mattress likely require replacing.

The hiking opportunities adjacent to the lodge are endless. Since our stay was short, we opted to hike to Lookout Mountain and the Cascade River Trails. The view from Lookout Mountain is absolutely spectacular! Additionally, if you head over across the road, you can enjoy a nice walk on the rocky shores of Lake Superior. There is seating area on the shore as well, a nice spot for viewing the sunrise/sunset.

The service staff at the front desk was extremely knowledgeable about the hiking and activities around the area. They were friendly and made us feel welcome during our first time on the North Shore.

Bonus, there is a playground on site. This is probably intended for younger guests but my boyfriend and I enjoyed a nice game of tether ball one evening.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

We love to hear about people having fun in and around our property. The playground isn’t just for children, but also for the young at heart. Thanks for staying with us. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

We looked long and hard for accessible lodging with kitchen facilities on the North Shore. Cascade Lodge worked for us, but not easily. It was a cozy room in a beautiful spot. The staff was friendly and helpfully answered all of our questions about accessibility via email before we booked. We booked Room 103 after the staff told us it was one of 2 accessible rooms there. There was a ramp up to the front porch entrance. You may need someone to move lightweight porch chairs aside to get to the door. The doorsill was 2" high, which stopped my power chair cold. We pulled the rubber mat over it and with several tries, lots of effort, and a big bump, got the wheelchair over it. The room itself was accessible, and there was even space to use the tiny kitchen from my wheelchair. The bathroom was small, the wheelchair had to be parked in the doorway, with two or three steps to the toilet. No grab bars.
The bed was comfortable, and the place generally quiet and relaxing.Beautiful view of Lake Superior from front porch. Comfortable common room with overstuffed furniture, fireplace, piano, and board games perfect for rainy evenings.

Room Tip: There's a wheelchair ramp to #101,#103. But doorsill is a barrier and bathrooms not accessible.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U2055OYjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you staying with us. I’m happy that the room was able to accommodate your needs. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a lodge room here, as we did on our past visit, a few years ago. We love this place; everything is simple and clean and we had all we needed. We loved being in an upstairs room with a lake view. Absolutely beautiful in the morning! And, in the evening we walked down the new steps to the lake and enjoyed watching the sky change colors, becoming more and more lovely.

Prices here are reasonable and the downstairs common area is a great place to relax. You can catch hiking trails right on the property.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Biz957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you for staying with us, we’re happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

We stayed in room 201 which has two queen beds. The room was clean, spacious and lots of windows. We enjoyed walking the trails around the resort and seeing the beautiful cabins they have along the creek/river. We had lunch a couple times at the restaurant which the food was very good and the wait staff was pleasant.
If I had to suggest one improvement it would be to have more interaction with guest.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leervigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your suggestion and will try to have more interaction with our guests. We typically have a USFS Ranger led wildflower hike on Wednesday’s as well as an Interpretive Ranger talk at the campfire area on Saturday nights with S’mores during the peak of summer. I am sorry that we didn’t have the chance to meet as I thoroughly enjoy meeting as many of our guests as possible. Perhaps the next time you come we will have the chance to talk. Safe travels, Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews