We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire ring brainerd area paddle boards lake edward marty hosts nisswa fishing
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 15 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017

We rented a Handicap cabin that had 3 bedrooms. We were heading to Merrifield to visit family. I did not know what to expect because up in the Brainerd area you will find many places to stay that are run down. Well we hit the Jack Pot with Shing Wako!!! The cabins were beautiful done in knottypine. The kitchen was complete with any and all dishes, glasses ect. that one would need for a vacation. The handicap unit had nice wide hallways and doorways to get through. We had 3 bedrooms and with 2 baths. The living room had nestled in the corner a fireplace. It was so peaceful and warm, We received a wonderful welcome from the owners. The were very hospitable and attentive. If you wanted to have a bond fire each cabin had there own fire ring and wood could be purchases for roasting hot dogs & marshmallows. We really enjoyed our stay. We definitely stay at Shing Wako Resort in the future when we visit family.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank jkjohnson55044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a most complimentary review! We enjoyed meeting your family and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this resort in one of the two bedroom cabins over Labor Day weekend for two nights. Our first impression of the cabin was that it was a shabby old fashioned classic cabin which was ideally what we were looking for because we wanted to get more of a "camping" feel. The resort was well kept and not busy even for over the holiday weekend to my surprise. The lake is nearby within walking distance for the cabins (none right on the lake) and is very sandy and shallow but clean. We rented a pontoon for one of the days we spent there and enjoyed riding around on the lake exploring the sights and having good conversation with our family.

On our second night and last night at the cabin we were listening to some quite tunes, making smores, and chatting around a campfire enjoying each other's company when at approximately 10:30pm one of the owners, Marty, aggressively approached my family telling us to shut the music off "right now, not 5 minutes from now, NOW". Being that this was our first warning about the noise we were taken by surprise at how the owner approached us so disrespectfully. As a respectful family we abided by this request started no conflict and turned the music off, however we proceeded to stay at our campfire having a conversation and making our smores. Not 10 minutes after the owners came back to our campfire and told us to shut it down now or he will poor water on our campfire and call the cops, or we could leave the property. At this time there was no music on it was just strictly us conversing.
My father in law tried to rationalize with the owners but they would not come to any understanding with us.
At this point of the night we felt so insulted that we decided to pack our things and leave.

The point I would like to get across to other travelers thinking about staying at this resort is don't make a peep and go to sleep by 10pm or the owners with abruptly shut you down even after paying a pretty penny to use the amenities and being completely compliant with the rules.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Kelsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Hi Kelsey, Thank you for your review. It appears we were everything you were looking for in a resort, except our quiet time.
Our standards have earned us a solid repeat business for families looking for a quality, quiet, relaxing, family vacation. Guests have shared with us how impressed they are that we choose to stand by our resort rules and have a few open cabins here and there, rather than make filling our resort our priority.
We have chosen not to go into details of that night, as ours are quite different from yours. We think it is important to let you know we found ourselves apologizing to our other guests the next morning because your group had disrupted their vacations, both nights you stayed at our resort.
We enjoy being in the resort business and have found our niche in relaxing, quiet family vacations. We try to communicate that as best we can. We are sorry we did not meet your vacation expectations as you deserve a vacation your way. We are just not a good fit for you. These situations are unpleasant for us as well and we spend time discussing how we can handle them better.
Again, I thank you and Trip Advisor for this opportunity.
Sue & Marty Paradeis
Owners, Shing Wako Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2015

Our visit to this resort was an extended family group, ranging in age from 8 to 81. We had 3 cabins, and had plenty of space for our family- the accommodations were great! We so enjoyed being in a family friendly place, that was peaceful and beautiful. The beach is great for kids, the water is very shallow for quite a way out. Nice sand beach for all to enjoy. Everything was so clean and neat, the cabins clean as can be, and well stocked with all the necessary dishes and pans. The hosts are very helpful and so nice, they make the stay very comfortable. There are many things to do in the area in easy driving distance, so there is something for everyone. We hope to be back again!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post such a flattering review of our resort! We hope to see your families return as well! Have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2014

My large family needed a cabin that offered multiple sleeping and bedroom space. We rented one of the Reunion Cabins and loved it!! The facilities where very well kept and very clean. You could tell the owners take pride in their establishment. They both where very helpful yet also gave us space. The water clarity was excellent alowing fun fishing for the kids. Lake Edwards was very quite during the week so we had some awesome fishing and boating without the distractions of other boaters. I would highly reccomend this resort to anyone looking for a clean, quite getaway!

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Oh my! Thank you for such a positive and thorough review of our resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have gone to this resort for 30 years and we love it!! We stayed in the red cabins for years and now stay in the newer cabins below and they are very nice and accommodating, the cabins even have air conditioning for comfort. The beach is amazing too because it is very shallow for a long ways so good for kids so you don't have to worry about the deep water.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send a review of our resort. 30 years of staying here certainly makes you qualified! We both thank YOU for staying with us and look forward to seeing and visiting with your family every year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews