We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Modern and Historic at the Same Time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Manitoba
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Modern and Historic at the Same Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My daughter, her friend and I recently took an extended weekend getaway to Minneapolis for spring break. We rode the train all night and thankfully were able to check in at 8am when we arrived. What a great place. The staff were so helpful and diplomatic even though we looked very dishevelled after the train ride! The hotel is in a very historic building (the first skyscraper west of the Mississippi!) with a museum and observation deck on the top floor. Hotel guests can go tour the museum for free. At the same time, it's ultra-modern with a dark interior and changing colors of lights. The hotel room was also modern, so much so that we had to call the front desk to ask how to operate the tap in the bathroom. The hotel was very convienient for us to walk to the light rail stop to take the train to the Mall of America. Lots of great restaurants to choose from in the immediate area too. The weather was a litte cool and we used the skyways a lot to get to the Target store and other shopping places. Great location, great staff, great decor; a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Hello Deborah P,
Thank you for choosing the city of Minneapolis for your extended getaway with your family; we hope that you enjoyed the amounts of parks, urban life, museums and restaurants that Minneapolis has to offer. We appreciate your feedback of your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay; it's great to see that you learned a little historic fact about the Foshay Tower while you were here! We hope to see you back in the great city of Minneapolis in the near future.

Matthew Hawkins
W Minneapolis-The Foshay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    336
    144
    55
    32
See reviews for
99
500
99
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
686 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The historic structure, updated in whimsical modern, makes for a memorable first impression. Of course, hisorical wlways has its drawbacks, too.

PRO
The front desk staff is warm, attentive and welcoming, plus friendly and professional. My flight arrangements meant very a very early arrival, yet my early checkin request was granted without a flinch, and I was placed on a high floor to boot! Overall, the property is fun and festive and certainly in the middle of it all. The bed is very comfortable and the blinds block out light nicely. Views from higher floor rooms are amazing. The old elevators are impressive and an example of "they just don't make 'em like they used to."

CON
As a historical property, the rooms are TINY. The entryway is completely underwhelming and offers limited protection from the weather. The doormen were outright rude and dismissive to my cabbie, which was completely unjustified. The cigarette smoke on the sidewalk outside of the hotel entrance is enough to kill a person.

In sum, this hotel has a neat visual theme and solid customer service, plus and edgy tone. But "historic" has its limitations.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Hello COLadyRoadWarr,
It was our pleasure to share your review with our team here at W Minneapolis-The Foshay; we thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community. We strive to do everything we can to live up to our Whatever/Whenever philosophy, so I am happy to hear that our team was able to accommodate your early check-in. Thank you for bringing the smoking issue to our attention as we are currently working on a new designated smoke area on the outside of our hotel. We hope to have you in-house in the near future.

Best,

Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

the hotel was very visual as you can tell by the pictures. The parking rates are terrible. I was a little surprised there were no hot tubs in the building or even bathtubs in the rooms as i was there for our 11th annivers. Christian at the front desk did send us up a nice surprise as it was our annivers. The beds were great, the full stocked fridge was not so fully stocked and we were worried that we would get charged for the empty liquor bottles. No one is obviously checking that the bottles are empty and my biggiest complaint is the cleaning staff waking us up every morning before 8:00am didnt drive 10 hours to be awaken sooo early! we paid a very decient rate and it was clean. so all in all it was nice

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kehlercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hello Kehlercc,
Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community! Our apologies as W Minneapolis-The Foshay does not provide hot tubs within our room accommodations however we do have deep soaking bathtubs within our entire suite fleet. You will be happy to know that a select few of our guest rooms do have bathtubs however we would ask that you call ahead and request this through our whatever/whenever service before booking. Thank you for bringing the empty bottles to our attention as we are executing a munchie box inventory audit as we speak. We hope to see you in-house in the near future.

Best,
W Minneapolis-The Foshay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the W - Minneapolis in early February, and we definitely plan to go back. The rooms are very clean, quiet and modern. The hotel staff is very professional and helpful. Don't miss dining at Manny's Steakhouse on the street level, and spend some time in the trendy Living Room bar, also on the street level. It was a great night - a very romantic place for couples.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNdawnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hello MNdawnygirl!
Thank you for celebrating such a wonderful occasion at the W Hotel! We love to hear the romantic experiences from our guests and hope for many more!

SIP.BASK.CELEBRATE.

W Minneapolis-The Foshay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We loved the staff, the decor and the great location of this hotel. The view from our room was amazing. I would have given it four stars but the bed was uncomfortable. Our alarm clock went off at 7am (set by the previous guest) and the loud door slamming made it difficult to go back to sleep. We were located next to the staff room so I am not sure if that was why we heard the door slamming so frequently. Perhaps another room would have been more quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hello Ella721,
Thank you for your review of W Minneapolis-The Foshay! We want to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy a good night’s rest in our famous W signature bed and our apologies that the disturbances from the surrounding doors prohibited you from doing so. We are happy to do everything we can to make sure you are not in the similar location upon your next stay with us.

Best,

W Minneapolis-The Foshay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stands out as one of the better Ws I have stayed in, although on the whole you cant really go wrong with this chain. The building that serves as the backdrop for this hotel is amazing and the hotel has been decorated very much in keeping with the original flavor of the place. The bar downstairs and the prohibition bar upstairs are amazing and the room (i got a corner) very large and comfy. Excellent value as well. I didnt use the parking....instead parked at the parking garage just opposit. I did eat in the bar and the food was overpriced for what it was, but I guess thats to be expected. I avoid these hotels at the weekend and I imagine this one is suitably rammed with part goers on Friday and Saturday.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Hello Mactoki,
Thank you for taking the time to share your gracious comments in regards to the beautiful W Minneapolis-The Foshay. We take great pride that W Minneapolis is housed in such a historic nature! We worked very closely with the historical society to preserve many elements as possible! We look forward to having you in-house in the near feature.

Sip.Bask.Revel.

Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We live in the cities and decided for our 10th anniversary to book a room at the W to celebrate. I found the room to be very contemporary and fun! I loved the contrast of black/pink and grey. The shower was pretty unique too! It had a rain shower head, and the tiles were lit up purple. It also a shadowbox type of shower, so the person in the living room could see your silhouette. The bed was very comfortable as well. The only reason I am not giving this stay a 5 is because the room we were in was on the third floor, and there are vents outside that were extremely loud, that by 3AM I was debating if I should pack my bags and go home. Needless to say I didn’t get much sleep. If you are staying anywhere below floor 6-7 I'd say, bring ear plugs!
Otherwise, the experience was great! Room was clean, staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Hello Anuta27!
Thank you for taking the time to review W Minneapolis-The Foshay and sharing with the Trip Advisor community. On behalf of W Minneapolis-The Foshay, I would like to personally apologize that you were disturbed by the outside noise during your stay. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can track these types of issues when they are occurring within the hotel. We want all of our guests to have great sleep on our W signature beds. In the event of a noise disturbance, the W Hotel does have complimentary earplugs available through our whatever/whenever service if a guest does need them. Please see the direct message I have left for you in regards to a follow up conversation.

Best,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#3 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Property: W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Address: 821 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing