We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and facility!!! Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and facility!!! Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The entire facility is really an awesome place. The ice rink is beautiful, the waterpark is fun----and the pool is HEATED!!!!! The restaurant at the hotel has delicious food and when one of our children got sick they sent up chicken broth and saltines. Perhaps it's just "Minnesota-nice", but the employees at this facility were outstanding.

Room Tip: A two bedroom suite includes two bathrooms, a kitchen, and a sofa sleeper----excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gika2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    78
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
66
35
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as an impromptu get-away. We had never heard of it and had never been to that part of the city, so it was a new experience all around. Check in was quick and easy. We rented a studio room with a queen bed and a sleeper sofa. There was a kitchenette well stocked with plates, cups, silverware, and other basic cooking items. Bottles of water were available for $6 each, but we didn’t indulge. The room was spacious with high ceilings making it feel even bigger than a typical room. Areas of the room showed some wear such as the couch cushions, the chair cushions, the walls, parts of the carpet, and the bathroom floor, but overall it was pretty clean. The hotel was booked that particular night so we expected some added commotion, but weren’t so happy when the loud hallway traffic was still going on at 3am. Unfortunately, there didn’t seem to be any involvement from hotel staff to monitor the area for the comfort of other guests. The complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise and was fully stocked with eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogurt, muffins, juices, milk, coffee, etc. There is a pool area which is designed for kids with a train depot theme. This area was packed when we went during the afternoon, but we still had a good time while we were there. This hotel is also just across the parking lot from the Depot Ice Skating Rink which was so much fun to use before we left town. Overall: I would stay here again, but may look for other options in the area if I had more time to plan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. We did when we made our reservation, but received a 1st floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJEBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was there on business for 3 days. Granted, it was -15 outside (-25 wind chill) the the room furnace could barely keep up; thats what the extra blankets are for.

The room is clean and service is wonderful. What is it with Marriott this last year.. ALL of their staff from Front Desk to Food service is wonderful and friendly.

Its a great change!! Thanks Marriott!

The location to downtown is just right. A little off the path but in the center of action.

Parking is not included and a little steep. (19 + tax), but hey, its heated and underground. Appreciated in the winter climate.

The appliances and counter tops are getting dated and should be replaced soon, but are functional.

Room Tip: Not the NORTH side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Pros: Good (huge) rooms, nice amenities (e.g. breakfast, snack at dinner), nice staff, nice water area for the kiddies, nice location for vacation travel

Cons: Pricey, not connected to the skyway, better options for the business traveler

I am a big fan of Residence Inn's and this hotel is one of the better ones. It's location is great for the vacation/family traveler and if I were one of them I would love this hotel. But since it's not connected to the skyway (an issue in the winter) and pricey for the area, I don't think I'll be returning, at least not in the winter.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadofgirliegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Second time we have stayed at this hotel. I'm a big Marriott fan to begin with, and this one is excellent. We are from Wisconsin, and this time we went for the Packer/Viking game on 10/23
Super clean, super staff, and super location. ( Walked to the game in the Dome, to the river, downtown, and even to the Sculpture Garden.

Room Tip: Parking ( we drove) can be just a little confusing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flynnie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Part of the historic Milwaukee Railroad terminal in central Minneapolis, and just two blocks from the fun and fascinating Mill City Museum, this hotel was a wonderful base of operations. I travelled on business, but brought my wife and two young kids. There was an indoor water park for them, and a big breakfast buffet for all of us. The room was big and bright, and the staff were cheerful and helpful. The only thing they could have improved was a knowledge of local transportation: we took the light rail in from the airport, and used the bus system to get around, but it took some sorting out.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side, or the 2nd Ave. side of the hotel. The back side, facing the former train sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teasmuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel location is not very central, it is within a very short drive though. Beware the downtown traffic during game days, parades and overall summertime weekends. The kids water park this hotel offers, together with the Renaissance hotel beside it, is amazing. One tip, if you stay at the Residence Inn Downtown MSP they generally waive the non-guests fee (not guaranted), this hotel rate is cheaper than there though. The property is newly renovated, rooms are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andytravelerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2181 (Formerly Residence Inn at The Depot)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing