We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorites downtown”
Review of Hell's Kitchen

Hell's Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Hell's Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,800 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Join your friends for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Drinks at Hell's Kitchen, an award-winning, chef-owned restaurant with unique but not fancy, interesting but not fussy damn good food. And don't miss The Minnesota Room, which celebrates Minnesota's wonders, richness, playfulness and curiosities in a most unusual way.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of my favorites downtown”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great food, great prices, good service, live music. What more is there to say. The food is great I love the ham and pear crisp sandwich as well as the buffalo burger. Also make sure to try the peanut butter, definitely not to be missed. It can get VERY busy for lunch but is generally pretty low key on the weekends and later at night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msturgis524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    968
    315
    106
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I had breakfast there a couple years ago and the menu was fantastic - very unique, lots of different entrees such as french toast, waffles, etc. My husband and I went there this morning for their weekend brunch, and the menu was very disappointing! Other than a couple of unusual things, it was your basic breakfast fare that you can get anywhere. I certainly wouldn't make a special trip downtown to eat breakfast there. Maybe the chef changed or they just decided to have a more basic menu - either way, we were very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome creative food”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

On the weekends the waitstaff is dressed in pjs and the motiff is well Hell's Kitchen. The food is some creative interesting mixtures that always please. Definitely worth a stop if in the downtown area, but expect for there to be a wait.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank mcassd2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Brunch but What a Crowd”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I really enjoyed the food at Hell's kitchen, but we had to sit at the bar or wait an hour (easy choice). But the whole place was SOOOO crowded that it really took away from the rest. I would recommend a non weekend time to visit this great restaurant. Be sure to try the lemon ricotta pan cakes or the southwestern omlet. they were great!.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krewerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Totally Unexpected - Enjoyed the entire experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We were staying in Minneapolis and walked by Hell's Kitchen twice without going in. Finally after church we decided to get breakfast and since it was open we gave it a try. We were not expecting a 1.5 hour wait since we did not have reservations. We were lucky and found two spaces at the bar. There we learned about the tasty bloody Marys and also about some special things on the menu. Wow, we were not disappointed!! The lemon ricotta hotcakes are fantastic! The shrimp/crab cakes with poached eggs and red pepper hollandaise were also outstanding. We love the ambiance, the drinks, the food, - everything. Don't miss eating here if you go to Minneapolis. I bought the cook book. I read it on the plane ride home - great story and great recipes. Yum.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hell's Kitchen also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Hell's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing