We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Mission American Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Mission American Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 1,982 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th & Marquette
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered 3 appetizers. The Thai chicken, the crab cakes, and the homemade chips. The chicken had a horrible texture. It was way too soft. I could only eat half of one, and they are small. The chips were ok. Not salted enough. And the sour cream dip was very plain. It was edible, tho. The crab cakes had a coating on them that reminded me of frozen fish sticks. Not AT ALL what I’d expect from a restaurant that supposedly has gotten awards. And there was no sauce for the crab cakes, not even lemon slices. This was our first and last time. Seriously disappointed. Not worth $50!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TheHappyTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Mission American Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking a moment to review us. We are very disappointed your recent visit was not satisfactory. Your feedback is important to us, please fill out our online feedback form here: www.missionamerican.com/feedback/ - Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So enjoyed having dinner (filet mignon) at Mission American Kitchen & Bar in Minneapolis last Friday. It was a delicious meal from beginning to end.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fischer709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Mission American Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Filet! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very helpful and friendly service. Very attentive. We started out with Thai chicken bites and cornmeal rock shrimp. Both very good with nice dipping sauces. I had cracker crusted walleye withe seasonal vegetables and 5 grain medley. Loved the walleye. Perfectly done and moist. Hubby had the halibut just for the halibut. He enjoyed it. It also came with red pepper polenta. For dessert I had the ice cream, yummy, while he smacked his lips on the red velvet cake. All of that for $105 which was very reasonable.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Mission American Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking a moment to review us! We are so glad you could stop in and enjoy dinner! We appreciate your business and hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2018

1/2 priced bottles of wine on a Saturday night - Yes please!

Service was good. Cool booths. Loved the truffle cream cheese won tons. Would come back just for those! Didn't love the scallops or Thai chicken bites - but those 3 apps were all we ordered so I would love to come back and maybe try some different things.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W9866YAnicolec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Mission American Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thanks for your review! We are so glad you could enjoy our half off bottles of wine night - also available on Tuesdays! We appreciate your business and hope you'll be back to join us for a full meal soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

So to be honest this was our last stop in town after all the other places were completely booked until 9pm. However stumbled upon this place and we were so glad we did! Service was top notch with waiter Thomas! Food was delicious. I had the Halibut and my husband had the braised beef! Cost was a little pricy. But we did get fantastic service and it was our anniversary! Also Thomas found out we were celebrating it and gave us a free slice of cake to go! Very Sweet!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank M1982GDstephanieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Mission American Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thanks for your review! We are so glad you could celebrate your anniversary with us! We appreciate your business and hope to have you back for a special occasion in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mission American Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mission American Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing