We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John H Stevens House Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Historic stop in the park

Easy walk from Minnehaha Falls. Pay parking. Informational plaque outside house about John Stevens... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
IllinoisKate1
,
Chicago, Illinois
Part of Minneapolis History and Easy to Access

July 28, 2017 - A quick blue lite rail ride from downtown Minneapolis, we visited Minnehaha Park... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2017
JerryH9905
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Read all 7 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Minneapolis
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$38.45
More Info
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
0
1
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
1
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy walk from Minnehaha Falls. Pay parking. Informational plaque outside house about John Stevens. No tours available on the day we visited.

Thank IllinoisKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

July 28, 2017 - A quick blue lite rail ride from downtown Minneapolis, we visited Minnehaha Park and right at the entrance is the Stevens House. Over 134 years, the house has been moved four times and finally is at this picturesque location. There is a statue of John H. Stevens very close to the house.

Very peaceful setting and well worth a visit while you are visiting the Minnehaha Park and waterfall.

Thank JerryH9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017

Unfortunately the house was not open for tours so we walked around the grounds and read the state and city history plaques. This would be a nice place to sit and eat your lunch on a warmer day.

Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

It's so close to the falls park you should walk over to see it. It's on the way to dairy Queen. Nice old house.

Thank PTycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Located in Minnehaha Park, it's a pretty landmark to see and the flower garden on the hill behind is quite beautiful and serene.

Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2015

We found a statue of Colonel John Harrington Stevens and his house while visiting Minnehaha Park. The house was closed for tours when we arrived so we just walked around the exterior grounds. The gentleman was important since he was the first settler in the city of Minneapolis. The house was important sine it was where both the city of Minneapolis and Hennepin County were organized.

I've uploaded the correct photos of the house and statue to this page.

Thank NeoWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2014

I first heard of John Stevens on a show called Lost Twin Cities. He used to have tons of wild animals roaming the Minnehaha creek and falls area. The house is historical and where he used to live. I can remember when I was a kid they moved the house down the road to where it is now. One of the unique and hidden treasures of this area isn't just the amazing garden that is right behind the house but a semi hidden statue of Longfellow exists on this property. When I fifst saw the statue it looked like death without a sythe. Super cool, super old and worth checking out.

1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews