We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"An elegant Middle Eastern oasis in the Middle West"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #74 of 1,779 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Avenue & 3rd Street
Transit: If you are taking the light rail to downtown Minneapolis, we are only 2 blocks away from the last stop at first Ave.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"An elegant Middle Eastern oasis in the Middle West"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Excellent middle eastern specialties served in elegant surroundings at reasonable prices. The small plate mezes can be combined into a full meal that allows the customer to sample a wide range of chef Sameh Wadi's offerings.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LordJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Consistently good, but the vibe has changed a bit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was our second trip to the restaurant. The last time we went, the restaurant was terrific. The food was amazing, and there were very few patrons which made it a romanitc, quiet evening. So quiet that we were concerned they might go out of business. Since that time, the team has re-worked the menu, slimmed the selection of main dishes and lowered the average price point. At the same time they added more tappas-style plates for sharing. The result is that the restaurant is still delicious and we loved our meal, but the vibe has changed with the menu. Very busy, good energy and large groups of friends.

This trip we had the seafood tangine and an order of the gnocchi - both excellent - along with the charred brussel sprouts. As an appetizer we got the assortment of spreads - very good. Overall the meal was right sized and we felt the food was healthier than our average trip out. Neither of us felt like we had consumed a stick of butter and the ingredients were all fresh. The chef uses in-season ingredients and put a middle eastern twist to them.

We went with friends, so the vibe worked well for us, and they enjoyed their meals as well. They had the octopus and chicken croquets to start, and both had the branzini as meals. It is a whole mediterranean sea bass - cooked and served the way it should be.

The custom drink mixes had a middle eastern flair as well and were all delicious (at least the ones we had).

Overall we recommend this restaurant as a great place to have dinner when in Minneapolis.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice fusion restaurant with a great happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I met a friend at the bar for Happy Hour at 4pm. The Happy hour starts at 4pm and ends at 6pm. We really enjoyed the bartender and his concoctions. They have a drink that is a surprise and the bartender makes you whatever he thinks you'll like or what he think fits your personality. It's a fun way to to spend a couple hours. They also make various tinctures that they use in the cocktails and are very proud of their abilities behind the bar. The Happy Hour food was good too! We tried a few items and the Pork and Chicken Croquettes were TDF. I think the bartender calls them baby pacifiers or something like that because little kids even like them. Crunchy on the outside and gooey goodness on the inside. We also had the Kahfta Meatballs, which were a bit over spiced with something like cardamon, not 100% sure which spice was offending. We also had the Spead Plate with pitas and that was pretty good. It has babaganoush and hummus on the plate and both were tasty. I'd definately go back for Happy Hour and take a closer look at the dinner menu next time because I feel like maybe I missed a good dinner while I was sitting at the bar.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crimsonrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NYE price fixe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Had a great new years celebration - the menu was excellent, the wine pairings were nice, and the service was really excellent. My friend dines there regularly and they accomodate her in some special food needs very graciously.

Helpful?
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The service is outshone only by the quality of food at this excellent eatery. Staff is friendly, knowledgable and is truly excited about their products. Food is truly excellent and well prepared. Mediterranean flavors and techniques are beautifully presented. A very enjoyable experience overall and extremely reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank senor_boom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing