We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery around”
Review of Lau's Czech Bakery

Lau's Czech Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in New Prague
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

My kids love going to the bakery. The staff is always super friendly and great with kids. Great selection even late into the morning on the weekends.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2015

Unfortunately for us we don't get thru New Prague very often, but when we do we always allow time for a stop at Lau's Bakery. Their donuts are excellent and we always get a box full to go. I'm always surprised that they have an excellent selection even when we're there later in the morning. Then we check out what breads are freshly made that day-- the rye bread is my favorite and makes excellent sandwiches (especially grilled cheese!).

They have a lunch counter where you can order lunch or sit and enjoy your breakfast treats. It's fun to see all the older residents of the town swapping news and stories.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Very nice, little bakery with a small café area. They have daily lunch specials and are very reasonably priced. Their chicken salad is the best! You get your choice of bread & I always go with the marble rye. On your way out, take some baked goods home.... very nice selection and variety. You definitely feel the old-fashioned hometown presence here!

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shadow30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2015

This is the best bakery in the county! It is like walking back in time to a 50’s diner/bakery. The bakery items are homemade, everyday. If you come early you might be able to cash in on day old breads/pastries/donuts that are very fresh yet. The selection is amazing! As for the diner food, it is served hot, fresh and delicious. They have daily specials that are tasty and at a great price. This place is a gem! If you are coming to New Prague you are cheating yourself if you don’t visit! Only draw back is that they close early(but on the flip side they are open early in the morning) and are not open on Sundays. It reminds me off the bakery, as a young girl, I used to go to when we lived in Iowa that has long since closed.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2014

A true hometown bakery, with some Czech specialties and delicious soups. Friendly and charming. A New Prague landmark.

Date of visit: October 2014
1  Thank Foodies0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lau's Czech Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lau's Czech Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing