We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It meets all our needs and is easily accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This chain provides a quiet and restful accommodation for the weary traveller. It always has an excellent breakfast and is close to restaurants. We stay at an Americinn if they are available at our destination.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winterhaven46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

I found a great rate to split with my girlfriends on a getaway to Duluth. The staff members were friendly and smiley from start to finish. Breakfast was nothing special, but it was enough to start the day. The room didn't have a closet and so they added an armoire which made it feel a bit crampy. For the price all I wanted was clean and safe. It fit the bill!! TIP: found our cheap deal at: http://hotdeals.visitduluth.com/

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamananash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Proctor needs a check up, they don’t know their customers
Our association booked 20 + rooms for an annual hockey tournament in Cloquet. The rooms were clean, however the evening staff was unaccommodating and treated our large group with a hawk like attitude. The front desk hires inexperience young people who do not know the difference between a group of middle aged parents talking to one another in the lobby vs. the young just turned 21 year old bringing in boxes of beer. We were told repeatedly to quiet down (while playing a board game) and when asked to use the party room, the answer was no because there was an event the next morning. We offered to clean the room and leave it spot clean and the answer was still no. So, we stayed in the lobby until 11pm to finish our conversations and board game. The party room still was not used the next morning, however the breakfast was nice as was the morning staff was very accommodating. We asked to reserve the party room on Sat and it was booked so again, we were in the lobby. Once more, watching boxes of beer come thru the doors, only this time the front desk at 9PM reminded us (not the other’s checking in) that quiet time was at 11pm. So, they had no problem taking our entire teams money for the rooms yet treated us like young children while the other private rooms were loud all night long. If you are going to market to hockey groups, create a space for the kids and the parents in the evening where they can be social. The hotel knew what tournament we were attending, work with the tournament directors to allow late check out well in advanced for the group. Most hockey groups chat and tell jokes at night, book the party rooms for them at no cost to anticipate the social aspect. Let the beer drinkers stay in their rooms or at the next door bar.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minnesotahockeymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at this motel while enjoying a trip to Duluth to see the fall colors. The decor in the lobby was great. The breakfast was satisfactory except for the stale doughnuts. There was quite a bit of noise when the people in the next room took a shower. The blankets on the bed had cigarette holes in them and were quite tattered. The staff was courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniordancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

My husband and I had a terrible experience trying to move me to Duluth for a new job into a temporary apartment. It didn't work out and we had to find a place that would take me and our pets and finally we found the Americinn in Proctor. The woman checking us in was extremely helpful and friendly, we ate at the attached restaurant at a discount and stayed in a nice, comfortable room with one bed, microwave and fridge. It was appointed just like a Comfort Suites room, just a bit smaller. The breakfast was wonderful - make your own waffles. The staff was just so friendly and helpful to us after such a terrible experience otherwise that I had to come on and write this review. For the money, this is a very nice hotel and I would recommend it if you need a clean, quiet, comfortable place to stay and aren't looking for someplace close to the mall, downtown or waterfront, as you're going to drive about 10-15 minutes to those places.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesschloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Americinns have advertising in their brochures boasting about the soundproof rooms.
You could hear as if there was a sheet between the rooms instead of actual walls.
Pretty remote. 13km from the mall. Staff didn't give you the
warm fuzzies. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macaroni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

A seasoned traveler and business professional, I have several favorite hotel brands, AmericInn being one of the top 2. This property is fast becoming the equivalent of a Super 8. Wafer Thin pillows, loud parties, and little to no care from the staff. We stayed here as part of the Duluth Airshow, and have done so in years past. Each year, it seems the hotel loses some of it's charm. It's a great location, and plenty of room. Microwave & Fridge in each room as well as a 25" TV. Our room, however, showed a lot of wear. And $103 for a single handicapped room is fifty dollars too much. My next stay at this property will be arguably different.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AnAreaLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctor
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#5 of 31 in Duluth
412 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
9.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
10.4 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
515 reviews
9.9 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center

Address: 185 Highway 2, Proctor, MN 55810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Proctor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Price Range: $126 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Duluth South is located in Proctor Minnesota, on the South end of Duluth. Just a quick 10 minute drive from the Downtown/Canal Park area and 1 mile from Spirit Mountain. 67 Newly renovated and updated rooms and suites. Conveniently attached to Black Woods Grill & Bar and Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel & Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Proctor
Americinn Hotel And Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Convention Center
Americinn Hotel Proctor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing