We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise”

People's Food Co-Op
Ranked #32 of 323 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Soups
Description: People’s Food Co-op is a community-owned natural food store located in La Crosse, WI, featuring local farmers and producers, made-from-scratch deli, fresh and organic produce, in-house bakery, full-service meat & seafood, coffee bar, fair trade products, and a health, beauty and supplement department. Anyone can shop. Everyone is welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: People’s Food Co-op is a community-owned natural food store located in La Crosse, WI, featuring local farmers and producers, made-from-scratch deli, fresh and organic produce, in-house bakery, full-service meat & seafood, coffee bar, fair trade products, and a health, beauty and supplement department. Anyone can shop. Everyone is welcome!
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Went to pick up healthy food for stay with relative at Mayo hospital, decided to eat prior to shopping. Great salad bar, nice hot entree selection - keep going back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BigSkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
People's Food C, General Manager at People's Food Co-Op, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hi! Thanks for the great review! We're so pleased to have served you during your stay in Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2018

Met my wife for lunch today downtown and we decided to try the food coop for a sandwich and salad. We ordered the chicken salad sandwich. When I saw the man weighing out a portion of chicken salad I knew it meant a skimpy sandwich and I was right. There was soo little chicken salad on it and one half of the sandwich was mostly bread with little to no contents. For $6.99 it was a major disappointment. We will most likely go back to City Market where the sandwiches are much better and they do not skimp on the ingredients. The pasta salad was good.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doctari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
People's Food C, Manager at People's Food Co-Op, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Hi! Thanks for the feedback. I've passed this along to our deli manager and store manager to revisit our sandwich production process to make sure we're preparing and serving the best possible sandwich. We hope for another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed lunch here while we were out and about running errands. I had the Awesome Wrap which was appropriately named. I wouldn't typically order a vegan entree but I couldn't pass up something named the "Awesome Wrap". It was warm and very flavorful. My husband ordered the BLT and was satisfied. It was a little awkward ordering from the deli and going through the checkout line since we had never eaten here and weren't given much guidance from the staff. I would have given 5/5 if service was friendlier otherwise the food was surperb!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank kgirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
People's Food C, Manager at People's Food Co-Op, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi Kayla G! Thanks for the great review! And, thank you for the feedback regarding customer flow from the deli to the checkout line. Definitely an area that we can improve. I'll will pass your feedback along to our deli counter manager and store manager. Please stop in and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Very good BLT made from local fresh ingredients. Nice little spot to sit at too where you can look out at the town while enjoying your meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 4Jeremy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
People's Food C, Manager at People's Food Co-Op, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi Jeremy! Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your visit. Please stop in and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

This was a first visit and stopped to do some grocery shopping. Parked on the street and fed the meter. Did not see a parking lot designated for the store. This food co-op store is very similar to a large chain of Health food stores in that it carries a variety of supplements, organic foods and foods that are not organic plus it has a place to eat with seating. Having shopped in similar stores in Rochester , found some items were priced competitively and others not so competitively . Found Throat Cordial Elderberry manufactured in Missouri was on sale. Organic blackberries were $1.99 for 6 oz. A pint of organic grape tomatoes was $1.99. The store offers a nice array of produce, some local some not so local. There are organic cereals and prepared foods. You can grind your own coffee, make your own peanut butter, and buy food in bulk. The deli is in the front of the store and offers an array of sandwiches plus a buffet style salad bar with other food choices. There is a coffee bar that has Tea and hot apple cider. The other beverages sold in the deli area are pre-bottled. Ordered the PFC BLT and a hot apple cider for lunch. The BLT came with avocado for $6.99. The hot apple cider was a 12 oz size for $2.50. The sandwich was excellent and the hot apple cider was a perfect accompaniment on a chilly day. Ate in the dining area . This area holds maybe 20 to 30 people and was about half-full. You help yourself to napkins and whatever utensils you need. Don't plan to just throw your trash away; you have to make sure you sort recyclable from non-recyclable before you throw things away. It's all good! By the way, bring your own bags.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UStravelmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
People's Food C, Manager at People's Food Co-Op, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi! Thanks for the review! Next time you're in the store, try shopping our weekly Fresh Deals, bi weekly Co-op Deals, and Co-op Basics. These promotions/programs feature items throughout the store at great prices - often well below our competitors. Thanks for shopping the co-op!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed People's Food Co-Op also viewed

 

Been to People's Food Co-Op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing