We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveller rating
493
302
246
212
218
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
302
246
212
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand grill economy room across the street lord essex mayo clinic peace plaza an older hotel gonda building methodist hospital free parking convenient location fitness center downtown rochester mayo buildings mayo visit subway convenience
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Our recent stay at the Kahler Grand is one of many. It is our preferred Rochester location because of the architecture, design, Old World elegance, staff, and convenience. There are unique shops and restaurants incorporated into the building, as well as easy access to surrounding facilities through the "subway:" not a train, but underground walkway that is particularly appreciated during below zero weather! This walkway system links many buildings around downtown Rochester, both below ground and over street, so I advise using your walking GPS!
We have also taken the Rochester Shuttle Service from the Kahler in Rochester, to both the Minneapolis-St.Paul airport and the nearest train station in Winona. We were grateful that the Kahler is a designated pickup for these destinations.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OhioFlowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Maria N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

One of the two men calling the shuttle was rude and evasive on multiple days. Everyone else was wonderful.
Does the Grand Kahler still have patient rates for rooms and parking? Someone mentioned this after I got back home, and it surely would have been appreciated.
Aside from the above, it was a great place to stay for medical care at the Mayo clinic or St. Mary's Hospital. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Thank you for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Maria N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2017

The room was well appointed but the plumbing in the bathroom left much to be desired as it leaked, but only when running, The hotel itself was attached to the Mayo Clinic with good service, nice dining, and no need to be exposed to the brutal winter temperatures.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laurel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Laurel T-

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear of your plumbing issue. I will ensure that the maintenance staff is aware of this. That falls below our standard. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your experience. We hope to see you at your next visit!

Regards,
Maria N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2017

Easy convenient and a wonderful place to stay
I had appointments at the Mayo Clinic and staying at the Grand Kahler made my stay very easy. Using the subway when it was bitter cold worked perfect. Great service, friendly staff!!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

The hotel staff are very nice. Pity I can't say the same about the room. I've stayed in nicer motels. Worn , ancient carpet with holes in it, mold in the corners of the shower. Nothing to recommend this place aside from location.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank ElsieSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

ElsieSanDiego-

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the location and staff. While this is a historic hotel, the description you provided falls well below our standard. I will ensure that our maintenance and housekeeping supervisors are aware of these issues. Consider requesting an newly updated room at your next visit.

Regards,
Maria N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews