We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Spot”
Review of The Buttered Tin

The Buttered Tin
Ranked #11 of 989 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed October 12, 2015

We've only been for breakfast but have enjoyed both times. Seating is inside or out with good weather - be prepared if it's breezy or there's a early morning chill. I've had the Pig's Eye Breakfast with country ham and the Bananas Foster French Toast. I loved the Pig's Eye Breakfast with organic eggs - and it was simply a beautiful plate of food. If you order the Bananas Foster French Toast be prepared to feel sugared as it's really, really sweet and it's a very large portion. The food quality is very nice, they use a lot of local vendors and I thought, overall, it was a very good value. I recommend making it an early morning to avoid the wait.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annj290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 254 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

My husband had really great pumpkin spice pancakes with peacan maple butter and real maple syrup! I had the eggs benedict on crab cakes with salad. Wonderful!!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Calvinpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

Sunday morning this place is packed. Pancake one of best we have tasted..crab cakes breakfast also wonderful. Also sage sausage is really good if you like that. We will come back next time we are in town.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank GregoryS928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

The food is great, but the restaurant is really busy. There is usually a wait, but the tables do clear fairly quickly. You order at the counter, then your food is delivered to your table. They do not take reservations though, so my best advice is to get their early. The banana fosters french toast is fantastic. There are no espresso drinks, but their coffee is good.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2015

Situated at the corner of Wacouta & 7th in downtown St Paul, The Buttered Tin serves a wide variety of breakfast items, sandwiches, and bakery goodies. It's open daily from 7am to 3pm. Parking can be a challenge, and you may have to walk a few blocks. There can also be a long wait for seating at times, especially on the weekends. The interior is small, with a very simple decor. There is outdoor alfresco seating during nicer weather. The bakery counter is busy and often has lines streaming out the front door.

I've dined here several times and have always enjoyed fresh hot food. Service is stellar and knowledgeable - a recent suggestion to get the hash browns with the scrambled eggs instead of the home fries was dead on. Take a cupcake or cookie home for an afternoon treat!

Date of visit: September 2015
2  Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buttered Tin also viewed

 

Been to The Buttered Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing