We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic dinner”
Review of The St. Paul Grill

The St. Paul Grill
Ranked #4 of 985 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Recognized annually as the best restaurant in Minneapolis and St. Paul, The St. Paul Grill is On Everyone's List! Business or romance, lunch or dinner, casual or upscale. This downtown icon features a classic, yet surprisingly diverse dining menu ranging from prime steaks and thick-cut chops to succulent poultry and fresh seafood. The Grill's classic and impressive mahogany and brass bar is filled with the Twin Cities' finest selection of rare spirits and wines, and is host to the premiere scotch club in Minnesota. From the incredible food and the impeccable service to the gorgeous view of Rice Park, The St. Paul Grill is a destination restaurant with a reputation that spans generations. It's the kind of place that has a very loyal following and makes new regulars all the time.
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Everything was fabulous! Oh, except for parking but everything else was great. The building is beautiful inside and out. The service and food were excellent!

Thank Ronald D. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Public Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you for the great review and for visiting us! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 748 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2016

Nutshell: Elegant, sophisticated without being stiff, bar and restaurant. Wallet-emptier, be prepared ($$$). Fab food, beverage selection and staff.

I'm so hard on all the place we visit, however, I adored this jam-packed & pricey upscale bar and restaurant. Staff was spot-on great, mixed crowd, noisy and lively with a superb variety of fantastic alcohol. Hubs had a fine scotch and I had my standby merlot. A bone-in ribeye later we shared plus fresh asparagus rounded out a super-special and fun night to remember.

Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

Elegant feel and great service along with a great menu are some of the aspects of this place. I had the Rainbow trout which was exceptional. This place is rated near the top in St. Paul and I can see why. If your looking for a classy establishment with a more traditional feel of elegance, this is the spot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Public Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you for visiting us and for the the outstanding review! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

We had gift cards and visited the St. Paul Grill twice in the last 30 days. On our first visit, we used valet parking. Two hours and $13 dollars later I decided to be more proactive and learned that this restaurant will comp 2 hours at the Lawson ramp, approximately a half block away on 5th Street East.
The meal was excellent, We ordered the Hash Browns with Bacon and White Onions ($14.95) to split. There was enough left for takeout that we got two more meals out of the leftovers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Public Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you for visiting us and for the the outstanding review! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

This steak house is so much more! The service is consistently top notch, and the steaks of course are excellent. The prices are what you'd expect, but not overly expensive for the quality and size of portions. The side dishes are good and large enough for 3 to share. A favorite appetizer of ours is the escargot wontons. We have been here several times and never had a bad experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank letsgo1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Public Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you for visiting us and for the the outstanding review! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The St. Paul Grill also viewed

 

Been to The St. Paul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing