We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What great food”

Lichen Restaurant and Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called into Cloverhill Winery on the way to St Helens Tasmania . The young lady recommended we have lunch at Lichen restaurant at Binalong Bay.
I have been in hospitality for 20 years, never have I had such great food that was cooked so well, service was sensational, and the hosts were amazing. Do your self a favour, these people know what their doing, simple formulae, good food, good service, and a location to dream about . WOW, WOW and WOW, how many hats have you got!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sightsee31527456757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch on our back from Bay of Fires. A beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous view of the bay. We had the beef burger & chips. Sensational!!! Best burger & fat chips on the Eastern coastline. Slightly more expensive but worth every cent. Do your tastebuds a favour if you’re out this way.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Location amazing with gorgeous bay views, whale and dolphin spotting to be had all while sipping a Bay of Fires chardonnay. The staff are super friendly, the owners work the floor and know their produce, pizzas and wines which makes the whole experience the best on the east coast. This place is the next big thing!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

If this review was based solely on the wood fired pizza we ate, then it would be 5/5! The Bay of Fires pizza is super tasty - perfect base with the right amount of delicious toppings ($25 for the large size).

However the service was a bit strained - admittedly it was a busy night and all tables were full but we waited a while to order drinks & food. And it took even longer to get our meals. The kids meals took about 40 minutes to arrive and while one (the chicken & chips) looked good, the other (fish & chips) looked like half the size & half the chips for the same price (not worth the $14.50).

The food we received was very well cooked & yum but maybe more cooks are required to lessen the wait time on food.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank nic189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser824888, Owner at Lichen Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thanks for your insight and recommendations Nic, we will try harder to get meals out to our customers at high speed as 40 minutes, as you say, is totally unacceptable, even on an extremely busy Saturday night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

Stopped for lunch after touring the beaches of this beautiful east coast. This restaurant has a perfect view of Binalong Bay. The signs outside say wood fire pizza but on closer inspection pizza not available midweek. Only Friday and Saturday during off season and every day during summer. A little disappointed about pizza, but the rest of the menu looked good so we gave it a try. The quality of our meals were average, grilled fish, hamburger, and the prices relatively high. Although oysters were amazingly fresh and excellent. One entre, two mains and two glasses of wine $93.00. Reasonable but not amazing.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Lithodownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser824888, Owner at Lichen Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Hi John, Thank you for your feedback.
At the moment pizza is not available until end of the month, we do state this on our website and also have this up on the window at the restaurant. The numbers of patrons at presently are not high enough to justify lighting the wood fire oven so we only do this Friday and Saturday evening until the busy season. I am sorry that you found our meals average, most of the time we get very positive feedback. Unfortunately we can't please everyones taste buds but most of the time people are walking out very happy. Our prices on our produce reflect the market price and we only use Tasmanian which is of the highest quality available to us and is expensive. We want to create a great dining experience at Lichen Restaurant, hopefully we will be able to meet your expectations next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lichen Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 
St Helens, Tasmania
 

Been to Lichen Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing