We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski and stay at Bluefin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ski and stay at Bluefin”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

What a great place to stay. We had a great time and the staff were very accommodating! Great views and the rooms were very nice and clean. We will definitely stay here again next time we go skiing at Lutsen!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_virgin_no_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    145
    38
    25
    14
See reviews for
147
295
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I was looking for a relaxing environment to relax and reenergize and decided to try the Blue Fin after hearing so many great reviews. The service was exceptional, the environment beautiful, and the amenities perfect. And they are pet friendly! In addition to relaxing on my deck listening to the waves crash against the rocks, I participated in a nature walk and the most incredible hot stone massage at the Spa and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWSkydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

My husband & I were looking for a nice, relaxing, romantic weekend away so after reading the reviews on bluefin we couldn't say no. I'm glad we stayed here. The resort is huge! When we pulled up I was worried due to the size it might be over run with families and hind the "romance". Not so...there were families, there were couples, and even some singles here and more than enough space and activities so no one was intruding on one another.

We had a hillside room. 67c...it was nice. The room was up to date and very clean. We arrived at about 9pm and our tv wasn't working. I notified the front desk and they had someone on it right away. Great service!

We also ordered the romantic package. I was a little worried because I didn't wsnt to be tied down to eating at the resort if there were lots of other yummy places. No worries there ...the town isn't very big and most places to eat are located in other resorts. The food here is fantastic. I would have choosen to eat here even if we hadn't had free dinner.

Overall a great stay. The place is right on the lake but is quite large so if you have mobility issues you will probably want to check with the hotel prior to make sure they can accomodate your needs. The outdoors pool is awesome. Get the smores for the campfire on the beach!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We were looking for a nice getaway for the weekend, and we found Bluefin was offering pay 2 nights get 1 free. We did a Grand Superior 1 bedroom which was very nice and spacious. Furniture is pretty outdated, and not very comfortable. We stayed in unit 65A, and fireplace glass was missing a piece so it would be completely closed, so the unit smelled very strong of the smoke from the fire, and even when closing the glass to the fireplace there was still smoke getting into the room.

Overall very nice place along the shore. Food was good at both the Bluefin Grille, and at the Coho cafe. We were disappointed in the deserts at the Coho as we felt you could get better at even grocery stores in the cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfsideGM, General Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thanks for your comments about Bluefin unit 65A. All Bluefin units are in the third year of a four year process of being remodeled and refurnished. Unit 65A received all new stainless steel appliances last week shortly after your departure. New living room furniture is on order and will be in place within a couple weeks. I apologize for the broken fireplace glass; most broken items are repaired the same day and this somehow got missed before your arrival. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Treat yourselves to Bluefin Bay and, if your experience is anything like that of my wife and myself, it will be stored in your treasure chest of precious memories!
This was our first visit to Minnesota, and I chose Bluefin Bay because of some good reviews on the internet. They were SO RIGHT. We chose the Romance Package, and between the rose petals, the tray of really classy snacks (which fed us for an evening), the champagne, the MASSAGE...., and the views! I just about melted.
When asked what I thought they might improve, I thought about it and wrote, "Make the Lake bigger!?"

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank President99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have been going to bluefin for over 10 years and it is always a memorable time. We have had our family of 8 there every year, but never feel cramped. We always go on the 11 mile bike ride called heartbreak hill that they shuttle you up to. We also go kayaking every year and the guide is friendly and have known him since we first started coming here. The three days that we spend here every year are always my favorite. The pools are very nice and warm. Choose bluefin, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel_ann_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The resort is pretty and the rooms are romantic. They have great views of the lake and they offer great specials throughout the year. The outdoor pool is awesome in the winter!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
11.8 km away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
4.5 km away
Surfside on Lake Superior
13.1 km away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
5.9 km away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
27.2 km away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Property: Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing