We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at the Riverport for a weekend in June and had a great experience! The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast food was fresh, delicious and there was alot of food. They did not run out of food like some hotels offering a free breakfast.
The staff was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuluthM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
24
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Riverport Suites ONLY because many of the other mid-priced hotels the area were booked the weekend we were in town. It is GROSSLY overpriced for what you get. The staff was not attentive at check-in when there was a line of people (staff standing around chatting rather than helping customers). we overheard one of the managers actually tell someone in front of us not to "push their luck" because it was a busy weekend. We could not believe it! The room had things left it in from previous guests and even though we requested a non-smoking room, we still smelled smoke all evening. The deluxe whirlpool in the room was not clean and there was no way in hell I'd take a bath in it. DO NOT EAT THE BREAKFAST! Pay $20 to go elsewhere. We stated at another Best Western in MN this week and the quality of breakfasts between the two was like night and day. The "Free Deluxe Breakfast" is free for a reason. Winona is a charming little town. If you don't want to be tainted by a crappy, over priced hotel - STAY ELSEWHERE!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vela13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverportinn, General Manager at Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the problems you experienced during your recent stay with us. The issues you experienced were unacceptable not only from a guest point of view but from management as well, Please be assured that these issues will be addressed with the staff and that improvement in our staff performance will be my number one priority for the future.
We need guest feedback to help us maintain the high standards that our guests expect and we welcome any comments you wish to share with us. Again please accept my sincere apology and hopefully you will give us another chance to meet your hotel expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were in LaCrosse for the State Track Meet and had not booked well in advance. Of course all in LaCrosse was booked. We called to check for cancellations and one hotel recommended Winona Minnesota which is only 30 minutes drive away (and a beautiful drive I might add). Riverport Inn Express Suites had rooms available. We arrived very late after a VERY LONG and HOT day! The front desk person (Jordan) was exceptionally cheerful and quick to help us check in. The rooms were clean and nice looking. We were still able to use the pool area even that late at night. It was clean and very attractive with the murals painted on the walls. In the morning we ate a very hot and tasty breakfast (my kids LOVED the waffle makers). The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful as well (we needed more shampoo for the thick hair in our family :). My only negative was that the tub drain plugs did not work effectively in either of the rooms we had (minor in my estimation but would expect this would be inspected and resolved. All in all I would definitely recommended Riverport Inn Express Suites. It is well worth the drive from the UW LaCrosse track.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fasttrack2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

The staff was very friendly and informative. Nick working at the front desk was great with local info for places to eat. This hotel would also be good for a family because it has a nice pool area. Continental Breakfast in the morning was good. It had waffles and hard boiled eggs, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerner040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed here after driving all the way from eastern PA in one day -- we actually started looking for hotels hundreds of miles earlier, but everything was booked solid. A big thunderstorm was threatening up ahead on I-90, it was after 11 p.m., and I'd been driving since 5 a.m. -- I was getting a bit anxious. We left the interstate for Winona, and tried three hotels with no luck before hitting the Riverside. What a relief -- not only did they have a room available, but all their rooms are suites -- perfect for a four-member family like ours. The staff was a little slow and confused (initially they put us in a room that had already been given to another family!) but they corrected the mistake cheerfully and were very pleasant people. The room itself was great -- spacious, clean and quiet. We got a great night's sleep. If we intended to stay longer, this would have made a great base camp -- the suite had a refrigerator and plenty of room to stretch out. The hotel has a nice little pub on the ground floor and is in a good central location in Winona, which is a pretty little town on the Mississippi. I'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RidingwithJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

I found this hotel a bit outdated. However, after talking to the new manager and having a discussion of their renovation plans I found this hotel to be a good value for family travel. What a great indoor pool they have.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugby65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

This is no longer a Best Western. Still called Riverport Inn, but afilliated with Express. This motel is definitly a cut above the norm. Appears to be quite new, as everything is in good condition and decor is on the upscale side. Room was average size, but nicely furnished, including a frige and microwave. Bathroom was large for a motel, and had a whrilpool tub with shower. Even a small TV in the bathroom, viewable from the tub, for anyone who is hopelessly addicted to the tube.
Free breakfast bar was also good, with cereal, fruit, waffles, etc. in a pleasent area. Small bar with restaurant was on premises looked OK, but we didn't use it. Large indoor pool room also looked good. Room was fairly quiet.
All this was a bit pricey at $100 for a fall weekend night,
but if you don't mind the price most peole will be pleased here.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverside123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
6.1 km away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 6 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.5 km away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
38.0 km away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 19 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
32.5 km away
Prairie Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center

Property: Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Address: 900 Bruski Drive, Winona, MN 55987-6206 (Formerly Riverport Inn Express Suites)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 Beautiful Rooms, Suites, Jacuzzi and Theme Suites, Free Deluxe Hot Breakfast, Fridge and Microwaves in every room, Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, 24 hour Fitness Center, 5,000 sq ft of fine quality banquet facilities, 3 diamond AAA rated, Free wireless internet, Guest Business Center, Brewski's Pub and Grill with Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverport Inn Express Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing