We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT, relaxing escape from the Twin Cities...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Briggs Farm

The barn and outbuildings as seen from one of the surrounding bluffs in late fall.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The barn and outbuildings as seen from one of the surrounding bluffs in late fall.
The farmhouse has three bedrooms, a front porch, a deck (not visible), and a patio. The front yard offers plenty of room for gatherings or games.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The barn and outbuildings as seen from one of the surrounding bluffs in late fall.
The farmhouse has three bedrooms, a front porch, a deck (not visible), and a patio.
The front yard offers plenty of room for gatherings or games.
The dining room looks out on a bird feeding station, and the farmyard.
The master bedroom features a queen-size bed; the doors open onto the deck and patio.
The deck offers a great view of Cedar Valley, as well as of our outdoor wood-fired oven.
The modern kitchen is stocked with everything you need, from microwave to dishwasher.
The second bedroom, upstairs, features a queen-size bed and a twin bed.
The third bedroom, on the second level, features two twin beds. All linens are included.
An antique bureau in the upstairs bedroom.
The view from the front porch in early spring, just as things are greening up.
Briggs Farm includes some 15 miles of trails suitable for hiking or back-country skiing.
The living room opens onto the deck and patio.
A view of the farmhouse early on a fall morning.
A green field in mid-spring, with Sanctuary Ridge in the background.
We host events, too, including weddings.
The view from one of our bluff-top trails, overlooking Cedar Valley, and a little country church
A view of the barn in the fall; the colors can be magnificent.
Our wood-fired oven in action.
We raise grass-fed beef cattle, which are growth hormone and antibiotic free.
Located between three Audubon-designated Important Bird Areas, our farm is great for birding.
Kids enjoy exploring the farm and the surrounding blufflands.
Morel  mushrooms grow around here in the spring.
Our extensive trail system makes for great back-country skiing.
Our family enjoys just hiking through the bluffs.
The farm was started in the 1800s by Norwegian immigrants; many of the original buildings remain.
A great shot of the woods on our 500-acre property.
Barbed wire waiting to be strung.
A wood-burning stove in the living room . . . perfect for cold Minnesota nights!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Winona, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Yvonne S
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
“The previous reviews cannot be from customers, they have to be from family.”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

No one said you were bunking with anyone else, silence of the lambs weird, You do not get keys, you do not lock doors, Bug poop on everything, dead bugs every where. You share a fridge, Yuck, Yuck, Yuck. Steve has full access to property at all times, even when your in the house. Very awkward. We stayed up until 5am just to wait to leave But that was not hard as for the dog barks allll night long. Beds are so old and dirty they actually hurt to sleep on. Filthy Bugs and poop everywhere. To bad everything was booked for the night or we would have left sooner. Steve Likes a lot of attention. Your vacation is for Steve and his ego and not for you. I come from a farm and it was just gross and weird yuck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I liked the idea of the farm house
Liked least: what it actually was
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Yvonne, we discussed some of these issues at the time of your arrival, at which time I offered you a full refund, which you declined. I also offered to kennel the dog (which you also declined), and gave you a key to the house. Although we're in a very rural setting with very minimal traffic, not to mention a guard dog, we do offer a key to guests who want to lock up while they're out.

This is a working farm; I do come and go on the property to get outdoor work done, but I live in town, and always respect the privacy of my guests.

About those bugs...the weekend you stayed, the entire area was experiencing a major outbreak of Asian lady beetles, an invasive pest. Although the outbreak lasted only a few days, they do like to come into the house, and as anyone in rural southeastern Minnesota knows, it's pretty hard to keep them out.

Just to be clear: This is a rustic farmhouse experience. The photos you'll find online are representative of what you can expect: clean, basic accommodations with antique farmhouse touches as well as modern conveniences.

We genuinely enjoy working with our guests, and are always happy to work to accommodate any issues or concerns that come up...as the other reviews here attest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT, relaxing escape from the Twin Cities. Family Owned. Rural in the best way.”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at Briggs farm in July and really enjoyed it. It was just what the doctor ordered - relaxing, peaceful, and quiet. It was just us, a wonderful dog (Bruce, gentle giant) who roams the property, roaming chickens, and a little livestock, etc. A wonderful change of pace from city life and a pleasant, pretty place to spend some time and disconnect.

We'll appointed house - everything you need, and nothing fancy (in a good way, it feels like a chic farm house which is what you're coming here for). Ample space - with a nice master on the main floor, and room for 2-4 upstairs. Plenty of fridge space for bringing your own food (recommend stocking up on your way, as there aren't many markets in the near vicinity). It's a family-owned, working farm. The owner is a really nice guy who genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay - he made sure we had everything we needed and was available if we had any questions (we didn't, everything was very easy).

We plan to go back with some friends to take advantage of the very nice patio and woodfired pizza oven outside and make a weekend out of it. It was great as a couples retreat. And it'd be a great place to take kids and see the farm animals.

Highly recommend.

Book direct (through Briggs' website) and save the fee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint peacefulness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R
Paoli, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Peaceful old-style farmhouse for our small family get-together, and a gracious host!”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was the perfect place for our small family 5-day get-together. My granddaughter especially loved the farm dog Bruce, and his pal Tiger the cat, who were as friendly as can be. We were close enough to Winona to enjoy the activities there, which included morning day-camp for my granddaughter. There was no air conditioning, but a central fan kept the air circulating, and fortunately the mornings were cool and the afternoons stayed in the low to mid 80's. The tire swing was also a hit. We enjoyed the relaxed, quiet atmosphere, and just loved sitting on the front porch, feeding the chickens, reading, playing games, listening to the sheep, and just hanging out. No internet in the house, which was fine with me. We could get that in Winona at a coffee shop or the library. The owners were very gracious and helpful, and easily reached.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth D
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Race Birthday Party at Briggs”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

8 children 12-14 years old spent 2 nights and 3 days at the farm. Highlights were making their own pizza's. Bonfire. Chickens. Haymow. Spotting deer. Tire swing. And, doing what I did as a kid - running around in the dark playing tag and hide and seek. Loved the sound of laughing and running as I lay in bed. Adults were tired and took the bedrooms in the house. Kids tented outside. Absolutely would do it again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S
1 review
“Friendly Family Farm”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We randomly chose Briggs farm as a destination during our drive cross country; it has been the highlight lodging of our trip. The home was comfy and warm, and the farm was perfect for our city kids. We loved Bruce, the farm dog and Tiger, cat in residence. The bird feeding station was so relaxing as was the tire swing which our children played with all day. We hope to return for a longer stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
060615fly...
Buffalo, Minnesota
1 review
“Secluded and peaceful!”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

So glad we found Briggs Farm! You will find this farm nestled in bluff country, away from traffic, just you and the wildlife. Exactly what our group was looking for during our 3 days in the area fly fishing. Great place to relax and unwind. Thank you Steve for everything!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetoc...
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“Stunning setting worth exploring!”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family had a beautiful visit. The setting among the bluffs is unbeatable. We went on hikes and a beautiful snowfall allowed for sledding, too! The owner was super--staying in touch with us to see how we were doing. Great place for a family with room to roam. Kids stayed in great upper bedrooms giving us the first floor master suit. Well worth a visit! We'll go back for a summer or fall experience next time. And they have ALL the kitchen items you could ever dream of--fully loaded for a big breakfast feast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting and space for kids.
Liked least: Don't expect to do any work--hard to connect technology. And be ok with a farm dog on site.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing