We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glimpses of customer service greatness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Reviewed 20 August 2017

On occasion the customer service was excellent but overall it was average. The bar staff did a great job of ensuring my drinks were served quickly. The front desk staff did a nice job of getting me checked in and out quickly. The staff at the restaurants needs trained on customer service, but did a good job of food safety. One of the dealers was rude and talked down to three of us at the blackjack table otherwise the rest of the dealers were nice and friendly. The room was decent but a little disappointing to see a sign charging $250 for smoking in the room, yet the throw pillows were covered in cigarette holes. The event staff was great and did a nice job taking care of the hundreds of us in attendance. Lastly was the baggage and valet service. The young lady took my valet and bag tags and told me to wait to the side and she would get me taken care of. 10 minutes later still no bags so I had to find another porter who told me my bags were still in another area and I should follow him to pick them up. Overall, not a bad experience and not a great experience.

Room Tip: Good water views from my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

We have stayed here several times, over the past 10 years or so. It is nice to take our grandkids to the pool and lazy river. However, the smell of smoke and general dinginess is now getting to me. The carpets are filthy and the whole place is showing it's age. Our room was not ready for us (at 3:00) and we had to wait til close to 5:00 to get in. There are rarely any Bell hops handy. Some of the salads (in the downstairs snack bar) were actually moldy! You get exactly 2 towels per room and seemingly no perks for being loyal.The water in the pool is actually looking questionable, too. Sorry, Hollywood Casino, I have to fess up!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool so you do not have to look at the air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lady-of-Chalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We visit the buffet at around 11:15 line went quite quick; 14 hungry in our group! Josh hep us big time he was very profesional. His assistance was Avery big help since we were missing 6 in our group. We were able to hold an extra table for us.
Once seated seated let the feast begin!!! From salad to soup to the steaks, creole dishes and of course my favorite the Crab legs and shrimp we love it!!!!!! My favorite was te dessert station one of the best I seen. This buffet couldn't have bee a hot without the help and efforts of Nicole our waitress!! She was on point super helpful to our needs and specially for bringing a slice of cake and a candle for the birthday boy !!! Very employee had a smile in their face the kitchen look very clean and so were each stations!! The price was also very reasonable!!! Love this place! Oh by the way we hit to see the pools area with the lazy river it looks spectacular we are planning a future visit in September for another bday party . Thanks everyone at Hollywood for being the very best. Oh we also Did a little gambling; the smoke was not that offensive we just came from Vegas and it was almost the same level of comfort!!!! great job on the aspect!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Husband and I stayed one night here and really enjoyed our stay! I read the negative reviews, but decided to take a chance . We have stayed at other Hollywood properties and enjoyed our stay very much.
The building did have a heavy smoke smell was the only negative we encountered. We also enjoyed the buffet.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank debbieengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We visited her for a business meeting for two days. I was pleasantly surprised coming back to a place that I was not looking forward to being.

I must say although not known I feel they must be under new management. And to be fair of not knowing when the policy, staff and management changes took place. Here is my open ion.

The obvious manicured entrance and grounds are back to status more becoming to a resort. My congratulations to the grounds and maintenance crews for a job well done.

Entering the hotel you could also tell the changes made to the housekeeping too. Wile they have not quite come up to the resort level the have have gotten much closer to it. I give them A for effort and encourage them on continuing an often unrelenting job of perfection. that's necessary to maintain a Hotel of this caliber. You have come a long way and your efforts and teamwork have not gone in noticed.

The room was excellent, with one reservation. when I checked the bed I always check for clean sheets. I found what I feel were som that may not have been changed. (Sheets that have random wrinkles could be ones that may have set in the dryer too long or Ina pile after removed ... but sheets that have large folding wrinkles running to to bottom of bed represent smut that have possibly been used already). Having found the latter I opted to request that the housekeeper I passed on my floor come and change them. Which she did without question. And I thanked her for her effort and dropped the subject.

Last prior to check in I specifically as for a room that definitely had internet for work. I was told that all rooms have internet. And again this year there was no access to the internet from this room. Immediately I called the front desk and was told some on would come and check the issue. No one ever came nor was the issue ever resolved. This was the same issue as my last visit. And in my opinion they need to resolve or just say no internet in rooms

I give them a poor performance on still not providing the free wireless in all rooms as stated on website and when specifically ask!

While the over all appearance has greatly improved...
I feel a three star for effort. But still lack the resort atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

First of all the young lady at the desk tells my husband she can't check us in until 3pm or until her boss says it's okay and her boss didn't come in until later. My husband work at another hotel in another state and when people come in early if there is a room available they check that person in. Believe me this place wasn't booked to full capacity. Finally after 3 we get our room the door doesn't close without you pushing it closed. The carpet was stained. The shower had mildew in the corner and the tub had been repaired from being chipped more than once it seems. The roof of the shower had pealing paint. I will never stay there again. If I were you I would check out the hotels along the beach. Plus the place to eat in there wasn't much a Rueben sandwich for $10 is more than one slice of corn beef (should've been multiple slices) with Russian dressing not thousand island, and very little sauerkraut. The soft drink dispenser also had a weird smell. STAY AWAY from Hollywood.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GammiGammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in rv park not well maintained water leaks everywhere mudholes everywhere very underkept a very good layout just not happy with the grounds also went and gambled cant get a bartender played cards for an hour never seen a drink only brightspot is golf course it was wet but management there is the best

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Saint Louis
12.7 km away
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
#3 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
19 reviews
2.5 km away
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
#1 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
169 reviews
23.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
2.3 km away
Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
#4 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
72 reviews
27 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast

Address: 711 Hollywood Blvd, Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520-1808
Region: United States > Mississippi > Bay Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Price Range: $91 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay at Hollywood Casino Gulf Coast in Bay St Louis, you'll be convenient to 100 Men D.B.A. Hall and Bay St. Louis Little Theater. This casino hotel is within close proximity of Historic L and N Train Depot and Saint Stanislaus College. Make yourself at home in one of the 291 air-conditioned guestrooms. Cable television is provided for your entertainment. Bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and coffee/tea makers, and housekeeping is provided daily. While the golfer in the family is out on the course, try one of the other recreational amenities offered, such as a casino, lazy river and outdoor pool. Additional features include complimentary wireless Internet access and gift shops/newsstands. Satisfy your appetite at the hotel's restaurants,serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, or grab a snack at a coffee shop/cafe. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, express check-out, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference space and meeting rooms. Free valet parking is available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis Hotel Bay Saint Louis
Hollywood Hotel Bay St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing