We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Safe, but nothing special” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Columbus
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Safe, but nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Good points - free wifi, free cereal for breakfast, nice staff, cheap price.

Bad points - can hear the neighbors next door, got a smoking room when asked for non-smoking, 2 of the 4 cereal canisters were empty and the milk was a shared gallon instead of individual containers.

Room Tip: Don't buy the cheapest room in town like we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    2
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
1
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

To get the bad out of the way, I called this hotel directly and made a reservation. All was set, so the employee told me. We get to the hotel and the poor clerk on duty does not have our reservation. The first employee we talked to flat dropped the ball. There is, thankfully, a room available anyway and so in this case no big deal. From this point on, it only got better. The room was clean and modern, and also had amenities-- fridge, microwave, hair dryer-- I would not expect in a room with such a low rate. My wife even said there was some type of continental breakfast. The area appeared to be safe. The location was convenient. I would without hesitation book here again, although I might require a confirmation number or something of our reservation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

Avoid America's Best Value Inns. They do not value their customers, and in fact, assume that they are liars before they would consider the fact that their employees might have made a mistake. I made a reservation for this hotel using the 800 number. I called to cancel because my flight was delayed and I was not going to be able to drive all the way to Columbus, MS where the hotel is located. I called the 800# to cancel as soon as I was able to turn my phone on once the flight had landed (59 minutes after the cancellation time). The woman I spoke to cancelled the room, assured me that everything was fine and not to worry. She did not inform me that I would be charged. As it turned out, she did not pass the cancellation information on to the hotel in Columbus, and they charged me. She noted in her file that she informed me that I would be charged, which she DID NOT do. Neither America's Best Value Inn corporate, or the hotel itself will refund me. They are making me pay for the mistake of their employee.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JeuneTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

My mother’s family still resides in Columbus so I have been here numerous times over the decades. In 2006 I was here for a family reunion and my wife and two children joined me. We stayed at the Wingate Inn which I do highly recommend if you can the rooms at $65/night or less.

On to America’s Best Value Inn. I had to return to Columbus New Year’s day 2007 for a funeral. Since I was going alone, I wanted to save as much money as possible without compromising comfort or safety. After an extensive search and phone calls for best rates I decided to take a chance on Best Value Inn. Their published rate at the time was $55, after a phone call I was able to get $47 per night. I wanted to have microwave and fridge and internet access, all of which were very helpful for saving money and getting directions. There were no reviews so I thought I would help any other travelers to the area.

The rooms have supposedly been remodeled. I would say there are some minor cosmetic things that have been done, but my room is just ok. It is clean; maid service came by early to check on my room. The hotel is fairly quiet; I have not heard anyone through the walls.

The staff is pretty helpful. I was surprised to find out there are no irons, I called the front desk and she promptly brought an iron to me. There were no coffee makers in the room. I am a coffee snob so I was not going to miss hotel generic coffee- try Beans and Cream over on Military Rd, good coffee and nice people.

The web site suggests they have a continental breakfast- that consists of a cereal dispenser, milk and a juice machine. I would suggest taking advantage of the fridge and microwave. Pick up some groceries at the super Wal-Mart and make a quick meal in your room.

I would suggest this hotel to the budget single traveler. Clean basic rooms that served my needs. At $47 a night I did not expect the Hilton or Raddison, so I was ok with everything. Of course I am not that picky. There are cheaper motels in town (Economy Inn) that you may want to avoid.

If you are with your family or young children check out the Wingate. Decent breakfast and indoor pool for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doccraw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 km away
Ramada Columbus Highway 45
2.6 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#1 of 13 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Days Inn Columbus
Days Inn Columbus
#9 of 13 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
1.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus
Address: 510 Highway 45 N, Columbus, MS 39701-3951
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Columbus, come stay with us and discover the adventure. Enjoy spacious accommodations and cozy furnishings in our newly renovated guestrooms. Included are such amenities as high-speed wireless Internet access with 24/7 support for guests, microwave and refrigerator. Coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. Wake up each morning to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast including waffles served fresh. Twenty-four hour front desk staff and laundry service are available for your convenience. Our courteous staff will make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing