We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This hotel was disgusting. The sheets were nicotine stained and the whole room smelled like urine. The floor also hadn't been vacuumed in a very long time and the walls were sticky. Nasty!!! We got up and left in the middle of the night because my asthmatic daughter couldnt breathe because of the smells. Cheap? Yes but certainly NOT clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atxcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofJackson, Tasha Jenkins, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel. We do hope that you enjoyed your visit to Jackson,MS despite your concerns with your accommodation. We are always more than happy to address any issue a guest encounters. We take it serious when a guest brings any issue to our attention and regret that we were unable to rectify the issues you encountered. We always want to show our guest that we are willing to go above and beyond to ensure their stay was a positive one. I apologize for not being able to do that for you as our guests’ input is important to us. Again thank you for your comments and our team would like to extend an invitation for you to return so that you may see the improvements made since you departure

Thanks
Tasha Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

Racquel Lee was very nice and helpful while we stayed here thank you guys for all the great and fantastic service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofJackson, Tasha Jenkins, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for choosing and sharing your experience with the Red Roof Inn ~ Jackson Fairgrounds! I am pleased to hear that we provided you with clean and comfortable accommodations. Our economy brand is a good value especially for the location. We find pleasure in giving our guest the same value and service as other brand hotels do without charging outrageous fees. Our staff always strives to enhance everyone's stay. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again when you are in the Jackson area.

Thanks,
Tasha Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Are their any good hotels in jackson fairgrounds. Nasty attitude through the door. Wouldn't get off her computer she had on counter. They have and offer nothing.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank followupjct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofJackson, Manager at Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your feedback is an important teaching tool and I have already addressed the issues you stated with the front desk. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed three days, the housekeeper never cleaned our room. The air condition did not work,the tv remote did not work,and we had to unplug the tv every time we wanted to turn it off. Bit the funny thing the housekeeper had nerves enough to take the tip we left saturday morning. My advice to you is dont stay at the red roof inn in Jackson,MS. off if I-55

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackgold985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofJackson, Manager at Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am very sorry this happened and we have taken corrective measures to assure this does not happen again in the future. Fortunately this sort of thing does not happen often. I really regret you did not enjoy your stay with us. I hope you will give us another opportunity next time you travel.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The desks clerks, Jatanzela, Corey, and Perstephie, were very professional and friendly. The room was nice and clean. The atmosphere allowed us to have a good nights rest. The value was great. 3 nights for $99! can't beat that! The hotel had entertainment qualities such as the cable that presented "movies still in theatures" and "unlimited game play" for purchase and internet is free!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My children were competing in The State Fair so I was so excited to find a hotel that was reasonably priced right across the street from the fairgrounds. My excitement ended when I entered the building. Checking in the staff had no costumer communication skills at all. Our floor was on the 3rd floor so we decided to take the elevator, which was the last time we stepped foot in there. It had such a strong smell of oil I thought I was going to have an asthma attack and the noises that thing made was scary!! The carpet in our room looked like it had not been vacuumed in days. My 2 year old found a lighter under the bed...now that is scary. How about the fact that our shower had NO SHOWER CURTAIN!!! People were out in the parking lot partying to all hours. I will never stay at that place AGAIN.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveslaughin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofJackson, Manager at Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We strive to provide every customer with superior service and quality and your feedback is very important to us. Obviously, we did not reach that goal during your stay. I want you to know that we have specifically taken action concerning your comments in the areas of customer service, noise problems and housekeeping that occurred during your stay. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The clerks at check in were great. The rooms were small, and didn't have a lot of extras, but we had a TV and a radio, and really that is all we needed. The bedding was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Close to several fast food places, with easy access to highway if you want or need more. Just down the street is downtown area with a great walking tour, fabulous scenery, and several free museums to take the kids. I liked that the police made rounds every hour or so, and that made us feel safer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattysteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.8 km away
Extended Stay America - Jackson - North
8.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 39 in Jackson
242 reviews
9.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson
8.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 39 in Jackson
312 reviews
2.5 km away
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
#10 of 39 in Jackson
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds

Address: 700 Larson St, Jackson, MS 39202-3436
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $72 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds Hotel Jackson
Jackson Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing