We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oysters from across the country”
Review of Saltine

Saltine
Ranked #12 of 391 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch
Description: The 100-seat oyster bar & seafood restaurant focuses on Southern cuisine highlighting fresh seafood and seasonal vegetables to share. Saltine, named as a nod to the plain cracker often served with seafood, pays homage to Jackson's rich history with oysters and seafood. Oysters are sourced from the Gulf of Mexico, east and west coasts and Canada and served raw, smoked, wood-fired and fried. Saltine also offers an extensive beer list with over 30 taps of craft beer, as well as a wide selection of rum and several signature cocktails. Lunch and dinner are offered daily with a brunch on Saturday and Sunday from 11am-3pm. Saltine caters! Impress your guests with a raw oyster bar, chef-attended station and passed hors d'oeuvres. Our Sales Manager will work with you to create a customized menu to fit within your budget parameters. Delivery and full-service catering options are available for groups of any size.
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Really good food. We had to wait longer than we expected but it was worth the wait. The wait staff was really nice too.

Thank carlos19812017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Saltine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for the review! It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the oyster selection during your recent visit to Saltine. We like to offer a wide array of choices to our guests by sourcing both locally from the Gulf and also bringing in regional varieties from other parts of the country! Thanks again for the four stars; we hope to see you back again soon.

Ali Gensert
Saltine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Great selection of fresh oysters plus a large variety of southern classics with a twist. Pork belly app was tasty. Would be happy to return, however it is a bit pricy.

Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Saltine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi Nancy,

Thanks for the five stars! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Saltine. It sounds like you tried some of our most popular menu items-- the seared pork belly is always a stand out! Thank you again for the review; we hope to see you back again soon.

Ali Gensert
Saltine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I had heard a lot of hype about Saltine. We didn't have a bad experience. It just wasn't a great experience like I was expecting. The food is OK. The service was OK. It is a bit pricey for what you get. Granted, it was a Sunday night and it may perhaps be better if we go back and get different dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank usmboyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Saltine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for coming to check us out! I am sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations. Mediocrity is far from what we strive to provide our guests with here at Saltine, so it is disappointing to learn that we fell short on providing five-star service and cuisine. I'd love to hear a little more about your visit to determine where we could have done better. Would you mind emailing me more details to ali.gensert@4tophospitality.com at your convenience? Thank you for your feedback; I hope to hear from you soon!

Ali Gensert,
Saltine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful. I had the Cajun Pasta and my colleague had grilled shrimp poboy and salad. Both were excellent. Service was even better and Kaylee was outstanding. This restaurant will be on my must visit next time I am in Jackson.

Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Saltine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi Glenn,

Thank you for the five stars! We're thrilled to hear you and your guest enjoyed your recent visit to Saltine. It sounds like you tried some of our favorite menu items-- the Cajun Seafood Pasta is always a winner! Thanks again for the review; we hope you'll return to see us the next time you're in town.

Ali Gensert
Saltine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We had a delightful experience at Saltine. Amber, our server, provided extremely helpful information to help us narrow down our menu selections. She checked in frequently to make sure we were enjoying our meal.

We chose three appetizers: the tuna dip, the oysters Lafitte, and the shrimp/lobster rolls. The portion sizes were ample for two people.

Tuna dip: too heavy on the ?mayo? for us, but features a generous amount of tuna
The Old Bay crackers overpowered the dip in our opinion

Oysters: oysters, crawfish, bacon, parmesan
We were expecting this combo to be WOW...we thought they were good

Shrimp/Lobster rolls: these were a little bland but the spicy sauce enhances the flavors
These were our favorite

We tried the S'more cake. Five layers of chocolate cake, toasted marshmellow cream, graham cracker crumbs. Decadent and delish!

We are already planning a return trip for brunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Saltine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Wendy,

Thank you for the review! It's wonderful to hear that both food and service were enjoyed during your recent visit to Saltine. It sounds like Amber guided you through some excellent menu selections, and it's always a good idea to end the evening with one of Sara's delicious dessert creations! Thanks again for the five stars; we look forward to seeing you soon for brunch!

Ali Gensert
Saltine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltine also viewed

 

Been to Saltine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing