We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average to below Fairfield Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average to below Fairfield Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The bottom line is that the facility is not well maintained. Not dirty, just in need of maintenance, paint, wallpaper, furniture. Bed was very clean and comfortable. Staff was great and very friendly. Room was musty smelling and the furniture was probably from the 90's and very worn and dinged up. Wireless worked but was slow. The lobby itself was recently updated, but once you hit the elevators, well, thats where the updating ends. I would not recommend the hotel in it's current state only because there are better options in the area. Once they remodel it, it might be ok.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
30
33
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Recently stayed here as I traveled through MS. Being a Marriott Rewards member, I chose this location because it was the closest to my final destination--further south in Wesson.

Simply put, this is a very average property in need of some updating and remodeling.

Room is your standard fare. Most of the furnishings are getting outdated. Bed was not very comfortable compared to many Fairfield's I have stayed in recently. AC unit was not the best in the world--extremely loud. Room had a dehumidifier in it--yes, moisture can be a problem in MS. Remember, I was traveling in Feb though--no real humidity outside.

My room had an older picture tube TV, no flat-panel TV. Had a mini-fridge sitting on top of the furniture. Carpet was old. Bathroom needed some attention--ceiling had plaster coming off and cracks everywhere. Several areas needed recaulking. Shower was old--didn't even have shower curtain bar that curves out to give you more room. I thought those were pretty much standard now.

don't be surprised by this location. I thought it was also overpriced. Paid $110 total for room.

I travel rather frequently to various parts of the country in SE and Midwest. This is one of the worst Fairfield properties I have stayed in recently.

Sorry, can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milbs_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We didn't expect much from this modestly priced hotel, but the staff was all great, especially the lady who mans the breakfast station. We were in town for a tennis tournament and it rained a lot so we got to use the indoor pool and hot tub which was clean and well maintained.

The rooms were what you would expect for a hotel at this price point, and from the Marriott brand. Smallish, but well appointed and comfortable. Very clean as well. We spent a lot of time in the room because of the rain.

All in all, a very good experience and a hotel that is obviously well managed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed here for one night on route from NOLA to Memphis, for that purpose the hotel is just OK. Location is convinient for passing through Jackson, found the hotel to be clean and safe, but in desperate need of refurbishment and some crash courses for the staff in hospitality. Appliances, furniture, fittings, windows and public areas was tired looking and on top we had a very noisy dehumidifier in the room.

Breakfast was about the only highlight in this hotel.......

There are several other similar properties in the area, so unless you are loyal and scooping up Marriott points, consider going for the competition close by.

I really hope that this hotel is first in line for an overhaul.

If you are in Jackson, even just passing through, a good palce to get an excellent meal is at Walkers Drive In (5-10 minutes from the Fairfield Inn). It is not a Drive In any longer, but a trendy eatery with an innovative and modern take on American Classics.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Pro: Ladies behind counter very nice. Breakfast was good enough. microwave Jimmy Dean bacon, egg & cheese biscuits, cereal, bagels, sausage and gravy, juice, make your own waffles, etc. Whirlpool worked. Nice pillows. Curved shower rod. Free internet and HBO.
Cons: Smelled funny from the front lobby all the way to the room. When we checked in they gave us a room that had somebody in it. Thank the Lord the person in the room had the door latch on or we would have just walked in on them. Pool was indoors but was COLD and had some black stuff under the water line. The smell of chlorine was so strong it made our eyes water. Bath towels supplied were more like hand towels. Had to swipe some towels from the pool area just to have something decent sized to take a shower with. Old style tv in our room but it worked ok. Charged us more than the agreed rate and when I asked about it a person behind the desk (not the check in lady) said "You should have read the notice. We charge for incidentals and then if you don't use them we give it back." First time I ever heard of that. I don't think we will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzeq62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Hotel facilities as expected at a Fairfield, including the overpowering smell of chlorine on the first floor. Used to it. Staff at check-in, according to my wife: one person behind the counter appeared to have some sort of eye-infection, was rubbing it, then picked up our credit card. Breakfast next morning OK. By late morrnng I had developed two huge itchy welts. Stayed with me for 3-4 weeks. Ordinarily would walk in to a Fairfield without a care, even those that aren't the greatest. Not this one. Hopefully just my bad experience and not indicative of their normal operations, but I won't be returning to find out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weretopbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We had our family reunion in Jackson Mississippi. We had over 100 people that attended and many stayed at this hotel. The hotel is very good. We enjoyed our staff. The front desk staff was particularly helpful and friendly (thanks Heather for the directions to our family dinner banquet)! Also, our family wants to give special praise to Cheryl who supervised the morning breakfast. She was exceptionally helpful and very pleasant! Everyone in the family commented how nice she was and did a great job. The rooms were fine, nothing special, but they were good and were clean. The one thing that bothered some of the family was the gym. Most of the equipment was broken and that was disappointed. Overall, we would recommend this place to others traveling to the Jackson area.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.8 km away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
9.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
1.4 km away
Courtyard Jackson Ridgeland
9.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
Address: 5723 I 55 N, Jackson, MS 39206-2939
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Jackson Hotel Jackson
Fairfield Jackson
Jackson Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing