We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was here for a funeral but good to come back home to family”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macon
Reviewed 1 May 2014

my husband is from macon but im not. i was worried after reading the reviews. Well towels look fairly new enough and the rooms smell clean. Its an older property but our family enjoyed the nice staff.... very helpful

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at this property 06/22/13 to 06/23/13. It was disgustingly unclean. Bedroom walls were soiled; draperies had food stains; faucet had not been cleaned; bathroom floor had multiple hairs; toilet was brown inside; bathroom walls appeared to have fecal matter and menstrual stains; bed had hairs on sheets; outside sidewalks and stairs had never been washed down, heavily soiled and grimy; air conditioner leaked water onto sidewalk; lobby was unclean; sketchy crowd hanging outside. This property will not last much longer unless the owners get serious and hire a strong and trained cleaning staff. Overpriced ($65) for the quality and the fact that it is a roadside hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mctlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Not the worst hotel I have ever stayed in but could definitely use some updates and a good overall cleaning. We were visiting a friend who lives nearby and since it's the only hotel within about 40 miles we will more than likely stay there in the future but.. First of all was super cheap to stay there and At first glance it looks clean, but behind the bathroom door was pretty grungy (of course the bathroom was so small you had to sit on the toilet or stand in the shower to shut the door so the cleaning person probably couldn't see it). I had read other reviews and I was afraid to look under the bed. I didn't notice an odor like some other reviewers. Staff was not ride but not exactly welcoming, The one young lady who worked there seemed to do everything while the other woman sat around with her head down most of the time. Breakfast was edible.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

When going to this hotel you should remember that your in the middle of nowhere in Mississippi. The hotel wasn't the nicest hotel by far that I have stayed in but was better than paying over $200 for a hotel in Starkville during homecoming. The bed was very hard for my taste and they were pretty stingy with the towels. The A/C unit worked good and they had pretty good water pressure, even though the shower head was kinda low. We did not eat the breakfast provided because there is a new McDonalds right down the road. There is a La Fiesta Brava attached to the hotel and we sure wished they had been open when we got back to the hotel that night. This hotel wouldn't be my absolute first choice but for the price and to keep us from driving several hours home after a game it was worth it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ak3usm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Don't pay more than $60 bucks for this hotel, not worth it. There was a pube hair on the toilet, nasty! Walls were cracked and dirty, don't look under the bed either because they clearly skip cleaning under there...bed was comfy and clean though. Couldn't watch the television because there was a loud ringing noise on each channel. Staff was friendly for the most part. Overall it was decent considering we didn't have many other options around there..but I have definitely stayed in much nicer, up to date and more clean hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahood87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

No improvement from previous reviews. We had the same towel problem. We had been driving for 11 hours and we were going to get a hotel in Tupelo but there was an Elvis Festival and all hotels were booked. We saw on the phone there was a hotel only about an hour away so we decided to stop there. We should have just drove the last 6 hours through and arrived at our destination at 9 in the morning. We arrived at 3 in the morning to find a very nice front desk clerk. She gave us the last room and we called her an hour before and she told us she would wait up for us. What we were not told until we got there was that it was a smoking room. She apologized and we understood it wasn't her fault. Since we were so tired we decided to pull through. First only one towel so apparently the towel problem has not improved. We went to the front desk to get more and we got some but were told they used alot of them for the pool earlier and that they were being washed. Yeah. The four of us never took a shower since the bathroom was so bad. Everything we had smelled like smoke afterwords. It was horrible. We just got 3 hours of sleep and just left at 7:30 in the morning. Should have read these reviews on here before going to this hotel. We should have just stopped at a rest stop and slept on our cars. Seriously. We had to wash all of our pillow cases and blankets once we got to our final destination. Best to proceed to nearest rest stop and sleep in car.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

The room looks okay for the main part. It does have a musty smell (rm 204). Beds are uncomfortable but pillow are plush/. Bathroom I found to be the absolute worst. Very small and if you undress in bathroom you will bump into wall which by the way looks gross. There are no small face towels and when ask staff says "we are wash them, sorry we are all out" this happen everday I was there (5 days). Bathroom tile floor has spots and needs to be replace. Housekeeping do not clean room with multi day stay, however they will bring fresh linen. They give keys to other people without guest permission. Staff is very nice and always greet you with a smile. This is the only decent hotel in Noxubee County, so I will stay here again I will just bring my own towels and overlook musty room and stain floor. Other than that, well you are good to go.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WellLetMeSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mshotels, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2009

Hello,
I am emailing in regards to the review of your previoius stay at the Best Western Oak Tree Inn. Our hotel has recieved new management, and we have been addressing all issues that may keep from our guests experience from being upto 100% in excellence. In regards to our towels, we have continued to increase our supply, to keep from a deficiency. Our rooms are also beutifully maintained. Our property recently won a Director's award in Excellence for Quality assurance. Our staff continues to exceed expectations as well. So that others may realize the quality of our hotel, we would appreciate your help with a re-visit to our hotel, and/or and updated review. Please let us know if there is information we can send to aid in your re-review of our property.

Thank you for your time.

Respectfully,

BW Oak Tree Management
662.726.4334

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: 46922 US Hwy 14, Macon, MS 39341 (Formerly River Chase Inn)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Macon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macon
Price Range: $51 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Chase Inn Macon Hotel Macon
Macon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing