We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One good thing...breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Extend a Suites Meridian
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One good thing...breakfast”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The room rate for a Friday evening in November was $79. The room had 2 full size beds, 2 broken chairs and a table which was crammed in the corner. The room was outdated, much light came in the room at night (exterior entry) and just felt dingy. We were not impressed with the room but one good thing about the stay was the complimentary breakfast. In the hotel lobby the have a staff member cooking made to order omeletes,they also offer yogurt, grits, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, biscuits & gravy, cornbeef hash, homemade waffles and pastries.

Not recommending this hotel due to the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missorganized19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
11
10
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We were traveling across Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama. Some points on our trip we had a planned layover and reservations, others we did not. All the way from B&B to top casino suites. For the drive through Mississippi we did not have a planned stop over or reservations, but had picked up a magazine at the border welcome center that had coupons for lodging. Since we had spent a good deal of our vacation budget at casinos and on the bed & breakfast, we decided to spend this one night at just a plain economy type motel. It was getting time to pull over and spend the night, so 30 minutes before we reached Meridian, I flipped through the magazine and noticed that we could stay for $39.99 by using the coupon at the Quality Inn, and have access to Wi, plus a free HOT breakfast. We had thought about using the Best Western which offered similar....and wish we had even though I have no idea what the Meridian one is like. I don't think I've ever stayed at a Best Western that wasn't clean and comfortable though.

So, 30 minutes out...I called and asked about availability. The person on the phone had availability for the non-smoking room we requested, and just asked how long it would be before we arrived. She didn't even ask for a card to reserve since we were so close.

As we drove up, it looked modern and nice enough, and I was relieved when I saw a very clean and comfortable lobby. I could see into some of the open doors where conference rooms were in use, and that was reassuring to me that a business would book there. The person with whom I had spoken on the phone was on break when we were checking in, but another very nice lady helped us. Another business traveler was checking in as we were, and as we left he told us that this place has the best breakfast and he always stayed here on his route because of it. Again...I'm feeling so much better about all this....and for only $39.99 with that coupon. Especially since I'd asked how much the room rate was without the coupon and was told $80. And that's what the man had said he paid.

The room we were given was at the VERY BACK of the lot. As we pulled out of the portico and began to wind our way back to the very back, we passed a deserted service station right next to the grounds. Then as we were still winding our way past the different buildings that housed room units, I saw a man who looked like he was hiding in the forest of trees that surrounds the lot along the side and the back of the property. What had looked nice suddenly became a little nerve wracking. Who goes into the treeline to hide? For what purpose? It was not well lighted in this area, and I no longer wanted a hot free breakfast. But too late...and my husband kept reassuring me.

As we came around the corner, there were a group of men around a grill cooking out. Okay...so they provide this for the crews of construction workers that they house. That's good. I have nothing against construction workers....my family has a lot of them. We are just normal hard working people. And I feel for those who must be on the road and away from family in order to make a living. Maybe the Quality Inn helps make them a little less homesick with amenities like that. We notice several sitting on curbs away from the group, in order to use their cell phones. I'm thinking...calling home to stay in touch with the family...and it makes me feel warm at that thought. My heart goes out to them.

We finally reach the very back where our unit is located. Again...construction vehicles and car hauling truckers parked everywhere. We barely have room to squeeze our mid size Chevy HHR into a parking spot. And we notice that the workers are all hanging out outside their units and around their cars and it's very noisy. We get stared at...but I guess we were staring as well. I can handle that.

But when we open the door and see the room....I don't even have to say the first word. I know it's as bad as I think it is when my husband jumps in with "It's only for one night."

Having just come from a wonderful bed and breakfast experience in Louisiana.....any hotel room would have been a let down. Even a nice suite. Can't describe it as a little let down.....it was the bottom PITS!

Walls that haven't been painted in forever with stains, cracks....grim. Carpets haven't been replaced even before that. This room looked like it had been partied in on many occasions. It was nothing the cleaning crew could have done to make it cleaner. The whole room needed to be renovated. The bed was not comfortable, and I did not sleep well worrying about the sanitary issue of the mattress.

It was VERY noisy from all the folks tarrying outside our room. Not so much their voices, but they did enjoy gunning engines, screeching brakes, and pulling in and out of the parking lot all night. The drapes don't help much in keeping those car head lights from coming in.

I would have demanded my money back had I paid $80...and left. I wanted to demand my $40 back and leave....it was that bad, but I tried to "cowgirl up and be a good sport" because hubby had made sure all of the other places we had stayed and planned to stay were nice.

The breakfast was okay. They have a lady that prepares an omelette for you after you select your ingredients, biscuits & gravy. Neither of these are from scratch, but mixes. They also provide continental type foods.....cereals/fruit/bagals.

To their credit, the staff asked how the stay was, and I told her the condition of the room was not acceptable. But it's nothing the staff can do. The Quality Inn is not quality. The only thing that is quality there is the nice staff. The Quality Inn management should be ashamed of the condition of the rooms.

The word "Quality Inn" is now a joke between my husband and myself. As we continued our trip, we enjoyed seeing the "Quality Inn" on the interstate in each town that had one, and we waved as we passed it by.

I can't speak for other "Quality Inns" because I haven't stayed in any others. But I would not recommend the Quality Inn in Meridan, Mississippi to anyone, nor will I stay there on any return trip to that area.

Room Tip: In this particular facility in Meridian, I would advise you to ask to see the room before you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I was in on a road trip recently that included MS - during the torrential rains from Tropical Storm Lee. I arrived early afternoon in Meridian and thought it best to get off the road. I appreciated that I was able to check in early to the Quality Inn. The front desk personnel (including a trainee) were very nice and helpful. The lobby was well-appointed and the grounds were decent. The room? Not so much.

The room was old and in desperate need of updating. Scuffed and battered walls (including a large hole by the towel bar), shabby carpet and bedspread. It was roomy and clean enough to provide shelter for one night. The wall unit a/c was extremely noisy and emitted unpleasant smells. As the temps had dropped to the 50's and very damp, I made the mistake of turning on the heat. The whole thing smelled as though it would burn up any minute! Had to open the door, and it took a while to clear the air.

I stayed because the weather was so bad and I didnt' have much choice. Definitely would not recommend this hotel. The free breakfast was decent, but I was certainly glad to leave the next day! Even with AAA, the room (plus taxes) was nearly $80!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbolina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Room very clean, safe and secure. Bed large and very comfortable. Rates excellent and front desk people were very helpful. Free breakfast in the morning was good also.

Room Tip: Park at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpeapb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, MA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We travel with our dog alot. We were very pleasantly surprised that this hotel had no charge for our dog. The check in was very nice, turns out the gal at the counter was the owners daughter. She was so helpful. The rooms are ok a little dated but clean. The cost was $67 plus 9 % tax. The next morning we spoke with the owner. Very nice man and very good to his staff. We will stay her again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed at the Quality Inn because most of the other local chain hotels were booked up. The Quality Inn is made up of multiple two-story motel-style buildings. Staff was friendly and quickly moved me out of the smoking room to which I was accidentally assigned. But the second room was worse. There was a large dead bug in the middle of the worn-out carpet. The windows were filthy and the fixtures were dusty. I turned on the sink and streams of brown water shot out for several minutes. I drank bottled water during the trip just to be safe.

There was a cigarett burn hold in the bedspread but the linens were otherwise clean and the bed adequately comfortable.

We tried the free breakfast the first day. There was a very friendly woman making omelets - a nice touch. But the milk was sour and we ate at the Waffle House across the street for the rest of the trip.

There was no desk in the room - just a table and chair, so it's really not appropriate for busines travel. It is inexpensive and not _horrible_ --- but stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MvGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Pros: Friendly, responsive staff. Conveniently located to the highway. Non-lumpy beds.

Cons: Decaying physical plant with inadequate wiring. Smelly rooms. Molasses-slow Internet access.

My room had a slightly musty smell that turned to a urine-like smell after a rainstorm increased the humidity. Unfortunately, the mildew smell from the AC unit (which, in its favor, was strong enough to cool the room down very quickly) was not quite enough to overpower the urine smell, so I got whiffs of both mildew and urine depending on where I sat in the room.

I wasn't thrilled with this, but it didn't matter that much to me because I was really, really tired and hungry after a full day of meetings and just wanted to eat my take-out dinner and go to sleep. My task was made easier by the excruciatingly slow (but free) wireless Internet access, which discouraged me from surfing the web.

Unfortunately, at around 9:30 at night, the fuse in my room blew, apparently because the circuit couldn't handle recharging both my laptop and my cell phone at the same time. On the plus side, the owner/manager drove from home very quickly to try to get it fixed. On the minus side, the fusebox was apparently so old that he couldn't get the fuse to stay in the "on" position. So after a half-hour or so of him struggling with the fusebox while I stood outside in the dark, I had to borrow his flashlight, pack up my things in the dark, and move to a new room. The new room was next to a vomit-stained breezeway. Although the overpowering smell of perfumed cleaning chemicals inside the room made me a little concerned, I was tired and the bed was not lumpy, so I fell asleep pretty quickly.

The staff does deserve kudos for being friendly and responsive. But I can't really recommend this place on that alone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misochipotle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meridian hotels
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Meridian
2.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 29 in Meridian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.9 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Meridian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Meridian
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Meridian
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Meridian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extend a Suites Meridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extend a Suites Meridian

Property: Extend a Suites Meridian
Address: 1401 Roebuck Dr, Meridian, MS 39301-6614 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Meridian
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extend a Suites Meridian 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest easy in one of our 105 spacious rooms that make you feel at home. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi, or use of the in-room microwave, refrigerator and ergonomic desk for extended stays. Guests will appreciate access to our refreshing outdoor pool, convenient on-site laundry facilities, and a satisfying homemade breakfast featuring delicious eggs, grits, biscuits and gravy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Extend a Suites Meridian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Meridian
Meridian Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing