We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Casual atmosphere”
Review of Shaggy's

Shaggy's
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Shaggy's is a fun, beach, laid back restaurant with locations on Biloxi Beach, Pass Harbor, Gulfport Beach and Pensacola Beach. The menu is creative fun food with great choices for almost anyone. Looking for the perfect place to hang out or kick back. Come to the water and bring your vacation to dinner with you.
Rogersville, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Greeted as we entered the upstairs restauant by a very pleasant server, we chose to eat inside due to the breeze along the Gulf. We were there for the seafood; I had the fried shrimp basket and my husband had the "Fish-o-day" which was Redfish. Both were mouthwatering delicious and a credit to the chef. Oh...I forgot to say how fantastic the hush puppies were and I ended up ordering three more for dessert!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    157
    43
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millerton, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“perfect dining experience”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

You are sitting on a deck above the Gulf of Mexico eating so fresh, yummy local seafood on a beautiful day. Service was better than great - bring you a new diet coke because the ice might have made it watery. Waitress pointed out the fishing boat that brought in our fish earlier that day
. Perfect.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F00die2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book...”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

It may not look like much from the outside but as the saying goes - don't judge a book by its cover! I travel frequently to the Mississippi Gulf Coast and always find a way to make it to Shaggy's for lunch or dinner. The food is consistently very good and the daily specials are great deals. They have a great touch with fish, it's always done perfectly. I've only been there once during a sporting event, a LSU football game and the joint was jumping with LSU Tiger fans, maybe not right for everyone but perfect after a morning boating trip when we were all thirsty and hungry. Even with the crowd the service was timely.

The owner formerly owned a fine dining restaurant and the lessons learned there are carried forth to Shaggy's. I've had some excellent sauces and some very attractive plating. He owns a retail seafood store just down the road, has a place in Biloxi and is soon to open Pensacola FL. The location details were gleaned from the very personable Asst. Manager, soon to be the GM of the Pensacola location.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pass Christian, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality is Dipping”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The charbroiled oysters were the smallest sized oysters I've ever seen for the price. Ate at Drago's the following day in NOLA and the oysters were about five times the size of Shaggy's oysters. Shaggy's had decent service and portions the first couple of years, but seems to be going down hill as they expand. Same experience at the Biloxi location.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 o'clock somewhere”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Laid back, casual, beach atmosphere. Beer was icy cold. We had the cheesy fries and spicy shrimp! Very good. If you're looking for the must have dish of this restaurant, you must try their key lime pie. The plate came out delightfully decorated and it tasted so good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaggy's also viewed

 
Bay Saint Louis, MS
Pass Christian, MS
 

Been to Shaggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing