We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spindle cottage”
Looking towards Ruth's Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking towards Ruth's Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun
Carlotte's Post Office playhouse, for every childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Looking towards Ruth's Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun
Carlotte's Post Office playhouse, for every childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving
The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room
The Norman Guarderobe which houses the garden loo, so querky. You can sit on a throne be King of all
The lovey sunny kitchen which looks out to Ruths Cottage & Charlottes Post Office. What fun to play.
Sitting room with the woodburning stove, dining room beyond. So cosy and comfortable come home to.Ah
Tea in the Gazebo, lovely on a hot sunny day to catch a cool breeze. The water feature is qurky.fun
Tom's Lodge play house was on Shed of the Year. Folks come from miles around when the garden is open
Our garden was featured on BBC2 Open Gardens with Carol Klien what fun we had. Carol was inspired.
Another veiw of the peacefull garden for you to enjoy and relax. Maybe have a before dinner drink.
Sheep on the our Green in front of Spindle Cottage. They have come for a holiday as well, how nice.
The Barbecue has a Mediterranean feel, with a wonderful table to seat many, next to Ruth's Cottage.
The sunny conservatory from kitchen door. Whatever the weather this is the place to enjoy the view.
Dining room towards the kitchen, lovely pitch pine table, pews & dresser with willow pattern china.
Tom's Lodge playhouse & the Gazebo . Find Myrtle the Mermaid she is washing her hair, try the quiz.
Tom's Lodge an Elizabethan playhouse just waiting for children to enjoy and have fun brill Love it s
Inside Tom's Lodge playhouse, a little table & stools, even an upstairs. Mind how you go on stairs.
The lovely garden, just relax & enjoy. Lots of places to sit & enjoy lunch with a glass of wine.
View from the twin room balcony, with the Green beyond and we sometimes have sheep visiting,charming
The Owl and the Pussy Cat & the Pea Green Boat in the Post Office garden. The Box Hedge is the sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Binegar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suma L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spindle cottage ”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place owned by lovely people. Spindle cottage is a place that both children and adults can enjoy equally. The moment you step into the cottage it's like you have entered a fairytale. But what makes the place even more special are the owners. Angela and Alban both are very kind and extremely helpful. We loved our stay here and children still can't forget the sheds in the garden. We hope to return really soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Dear Suma,
Thank you so much for taking the time in your busy life to write a review for us at Spindle Cottage.
I hope the children and the adults will never forget their holiday here as one of those special places that stays in your memories.
We certainly look forward to your return and hopefully stay a little longer next time. Take care and very best wishes to you all.
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zahra K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beyond amazing!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Living in the spindle cottage was like visiting your grandparents when you're little; they welcome you with such warmth and make sure you've got everything you could possibly need.
The cottage itself was simply lovely! Really gives you a nice cosy and homey feeling. Even if you're not planning on going out much you'll find plenty to do inside. There's a wonderful piano inside, two trunks full for kids to play dress up, chess, board games. I was pleasantly surprised to find a baby monitor as well which is something i always need but have never found in other cottages I've been in. It's a beautiful cottage and a wonderful place to be in with the kids especially. Make sure you meet angela and alban whenever u visit; they are simply delightful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Dear Zarah
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. How lovely for us to have you here at Spindle Cottage and how sweet that it felt like visiting your grandparents. You felt like family to us as well. So come back soon as we would love to see you again and of course you need to visit grandparent often, we shall have a warm welcome here for you always.
With all our love.
Nanny Angela & Granddad Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeremy692...
Lyon, France
1 review
“Great stay in unique Somerset cottage”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We (myself, my wife, two teenage children + daughter's friend) had a great week in Spindle Cottage. The cottage is unique with Alban's touch everywhere; you're always discovering something new! But little things really made the difference - pint of milk in the fridge and coffee when we arrived at 11.00 p.m. after a 14-hour trip from Lyon, France, loan of watch-maker's screwdrivers to repair my son's computer, fire made-up and ready to light, letting us leave our luggage until the evening of our departure, and Angela and Alban's friendly but not encroaching presence!
Only one slight drawback - Angela and Alban didn't manage to organize a rain-free week for us! ;-) but we had a great time anyway!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Dear Jeremy and family,
Having known your mother for many years from the next village it was a great pleasure to meet you. Next time you come we shall do our best to provide better weather. But we shall always be on hand with umbrellas and anything else you may require within reason of course. Someone said 'They is no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothes'. Best wishes and many thanks.
Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myhappyti...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A magical place for children aged 2-102”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Very very occasionally, life has taken me to special places that I was meant to visit and will never forget.

We (ages 62,34,34,31,29) stayed at Spindle Cottage last week to celebrate my retirement birthday and spend family time together. We knew about it from Gardener’s World and from their “Shed of the Year” award, but nothing prepared us for the experience of staying there.

A week later we are still aglow with all the fun, laughter and memories that being together in such a magical place triggered. Every corner of Spindle Cottage is full of hidden treasures that will appeal to young children, but it is a remarkable place that tapped into the child in each one of us.

If you are reading this review then you are probably considering booking a stay. Read the reviews and look at the photos: know the beds are comfy and the linen fresh; the washer dryer works a treat; the wood burning stove begs to be lit. There’s wifi (but phone-wise, Vodaphone has a better signal than EE). Supermarkets deliver, so we booked a delivery slot to coincide with our arrival, and ate at the Horse and Jockey which does great value pub food (we were glad we'd booked a table). During the week we visited Bath (half an hour's drive away), Weston Super Mare (45 minutes away and complete with Pier arcade and attractions), the Cheddar Gorge (with yummy cheese shop and £1.50 viewing tour to see cheese being made. We visited pretty Wells (7ish miles away) a couple of times and some of us climbed Glastonbury Tor. If you stay between November and February, the starlings will be doing their thing (murmuration) at dawn and dusk near Ham Wall (4 miles on from Glastonbury) which is an amazing spectacle (but don’t look up). There is a lot to do in a week - we could easily have stayed longer.

If I was a grandparent, I'd take my grandchildren to Spindle Cottage for memories they would never forget. As a parent of young children, I'd had brought more wine: there is a lot for children to discover while you sit and watch them. The Gazebo is the place to make a marriage proposal - unless it is raining, in which case you can always hide the ring in the dragon cupboard above the fireplace.

Spindle Cottage is the place to connect with your dreams.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Oh my, oh my!, what a review Mary, you have touched our hearts and I know we are going to meet again. Opening up Spindle Cottage and having folks like you to share it with, we are sure this is one of the best things we ever did. All those years ago when we saw this derelict long house we new this is going to be a place to share, even the door knocker said Sanctuary. Now here we are meeting lovely people like yourselves. Love and blessings to you all, see you soon.
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
An utterly magical review thank you so much. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Spindle Cottage, this is what we aim for and we hope you will return one day in the not to distance future.
Best wishes to you all. Angela & Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LGNpton
Northampton,UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm, spacious cottage with bucket loads of charm”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was our second stay in Spindle Cottage, due to the success of our first visit last year. We had mixed weather, but the area around the cottage has interesting towns, old churches and museums in abundance. A highlight was the Midsomer Norton South Railway Station, part of the Somerset and Dorset Railway, open on Sundays. We also enjoyed visiting Glastonbury, the town and the Tor. We repeated trips to Frome and Wells and were not disappointed.
A treat on our first morning was brunch at a wonderful eatery just down the road from the cottage at Hartley's Kitchen, where we were made to feel very welcome.
However, this cottage has so much to offer that it becomes more than just a place to return to at the end of the day. It allows you to relax and forget the stresses of life and to enjoy the wonderful artistic features of this lovingly restored property. If you have children, there is so much to entertain them, with lots of space for them to play and explore. We also enjoyed trying to complete the treasure hunt of cottage features such as the hidden carved pigsty and the many animal and plant engravings, though the Toucan remained a mystery, only solved after consultation with Angela!
The kitchen is well appointed and the central heating worked so efficiently that we didn't have an excuse to use the wood burner. With a bathroom, an ensuite and a downstairs cloakroom, we were never queuing to use the facilities!
We hope to book again as this is a tonic to everyday life.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Your review is a tonic for us too, thank you so much. Next time we hope the toucan can stand on his/her own feet even though it's very naughty peaking out like that to spy on you. Your report on the places you visited makes me want to go again to see them once more, which I will do. Of course Hartley's Kitchen is always on our list for a fantastic foody experience, we go as often as we can. We look forward to seeing you all again in 2016. Best wishes for a happy Christmas, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bod_99
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unique property you will want to return to”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our second holiday at Spindle Cottage, and just as special as the first. Angela and Alban are warm and friendly people who give you a genuine welcome and will do anything to help, without being intrusive. The property is full of character created by Alban's amazing woodworking skill. It is very well-situated and within easy reach of Wells, Glastonbury, Cheddar, Bath, etc. The garden is simply stunning, with its collection of little stone houses built by Alban - a magical place for children!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Dear Phil,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are always thrilled when guests return to Spindle Cottage for another holiday, that indeed is a complement in it's self. But when a guest, as you have done, takes the time to also right such a wonderful review we are delighted. Thank you to you and all your family for being such brilliant guests. We hope you will keep us in mind for another visit in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Angela & Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing