We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphins playing in the waves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqualuna Beach Resort
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Scenic nice place to stay.
We headed to the spectacular beautiful beach for a walk and saw some Dolphins playing in the waves.
Pool was beautiful, kids loved it.

Ocean View self contained apartments we stayed in 88 -
-kitchen, Dishwasher flimsy didn't clean dishes properly, No potato peeler, cheap toaster, massive burnt crumbs under microwave from someones chicken schnitzel, 3 mugs only :-/ .
-2 bathrooms Clean towels, Lovely orange soap grime on shower door main bathroom, and in the spa bath that was also the shower in the en-suite bathroom.
Laundry great.
PLEASE PUT A PELMET ON THE MASTER BEDROOM WINDOW, It is very bright very early in the morning.
The decor of apartments are stuck in the 1990's....cane furniture, If you like that error this is the place for you. Feels like it was once a very beautiful resort, needs a bit of love and freshen up to make it as spectacular as it probably once was.
Cigarette butts are scattered throughout the garden, lovely as your first impression when before enter your room.
Very easy access to the pebbly beach.( remember your thongs....or flip flops.)
i noticed a sign upon check in, you can have an updated room (??) for extra $40.00 a night, personally they should all be updated, keeping the same rate.
Young Blonde girl at reception at check in and check out was lovely to me.I could tell she was a bit over Customers I made sure I was nice/easy going with her.
I discussed the issues i had with the room with her, she seemed frustrated about housekeeping, I got the feeling that they often have issues. She apologised.
honestly I have stayed in worse..just needs love.

Room Tip: Ocean view room, best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

The room was tiny the spa was dirty the water was only Luke warm the bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever slept in I have told the staff at the resort no apologies just oh I'll let them know I'll never stay again we could not have coffee in the room as the only coffee cup was dirty filthy we waited an hour and 10 minutes for food although it was beautiful and the staff on the restaurant were amazing so thumbs up to them

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank becca201179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Very comfy for a family of 4 adults with all amenities. Easy access to nearby attractions and shops and the view is spectacular. Had a nice stay. 2 bed room villas were great with 2 bathrooms with a kitchen and tv.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank CA Neha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The Aqualuna is a nice place to stay. It has everything that you could want with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and easy access to the beach. The self contained apartments are a little tired and in need of updating but the beds were comfortable and after a day mountain biking they were nice to return to.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank happytravellers12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

If you think $140 per night for a 4 star resort sounds too good to be true, you would be correct. On check in you will argue the $140 was total price and there is not a collection of other fees now owed, your argument will be won by the fact the printed invoice confirms this. Having accepted you have won, the attendant hands you a ration of milk served in a macchiato cup providing enough milk for one of the four of you to have a cup of tea. Entering your two bedroom resort apartment, you can expect to be hit with a wave of the musty, never quite dry, op shop mixed with 70s cane furniture scent. Carefully ascending the stairs to your very small kitchen and living room, so as not to spill your ration of milk, you will discover an odd collection of crockery and glasses where no two pieces are quite the same. You hear a terrified yell behind you as one of your slightly OCD companions notices all three down lights on the ceiling are different colours. Sitting down you realise unlimited wifi means only one person at a time can login to the unsecured access, and decide not to use the internet for anything personnel. Your friend pours everyone an alcoholic beverage in a coffee mug knowing those two queen beds you confirmed don't exist and reception have no intention on correcting it. You have one teeny tiny room containing two small singles and another room with a queen. The mattresses will provide you with an inner spring massage while you sleep to the sound of a running toilet, with one skinny pillow each and a single blanket to share. Aware the windows don't lock you fall asleep hoping for the best. Waking the morning you all decide to use the main bathroom shower as the ensuite shower does not have a screen. You take your child size towel and hope you can get clean before the water is lukewarm again. As you leave your one night adventure and get back on the road your head is full of allergies due to the dusty, poor ventlation, you feel slightly bad the toilet brush was broken. The view of the beach was great but let's call a spade, a spade it was 2 and a half star accommodation and you won't be back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank lissbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the resort for work so just got a basic room for the night, it was very modern but pokey. The bed head banged every time you moved, so don't plan for a wild night in there. It just wasn't attached and I'm sure the wall would be well damaged. When we went to bed all we could hear was our neighbours spa filling up then the bubbles being put on then the water draining....it was very noisy. The bed was a king but only two singles together without anything to bind them comfortably together. One sagged and the other was firm, terrible mattress and pillows. The bed was that close to the cupboard you couldn't even open it. Would stay again but possibly in an apartment.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kelt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Visited Aqualuna for their restaurant Papa H's Bar & Grill for a friends birthday. We had their extreme donut smoothies and desserts. Fine dining atmosphere and great view with accommodating staff. Resort looks great but even the restaurant is worth the visit. Modern food.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Renae E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sapphire Beach
5.3 km away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
97 reviews
7.6 km away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
199 reviews
2.4 km away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,767 reviews
0.8 km away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#20 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
127 reviews
1.6 km away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualuna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualuna Beach Resort

Address: 94 Solitary Islands Way, Sapphire Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour > Sapphire Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sapphire Beach
Price Range: $115 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqualuna Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Aqualuna Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuna Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Aqualuna Beach Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing