We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible wines!”

Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 221 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2017

A charming locale in Chesterfield.
Food is excellent and the wine list amazing.
Service and staff terrific.
Unexpected as its in a strip shopping center.
Sadly the decor could use some sprucing up. It's dark and dingy. Has such incredible space and windows.Has such potential

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shempie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 49 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2017

This certainly isn't priced like a fast food restaurant, why does it seem the wait staff and cooks all came from one? The first visit, shame on you. The second visit, shame on me.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samiam433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

We went to Balabans for our first anniversary 16 years ago and thought we would repeat it because we remembered it fondly. We regretted it. Our appetizer was lukewarm, and so was our waitress. Most of the food had the only two ingredients that I hate, onion and fennel. The scallops were overcooked, and the grains were too salty. The only positive part was the wine. We will not return.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank JenniferMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

Went to happy hour with some work colleagues. They have a full bar (not just wine) and decent snacks. I'd recommend it for happy hour if you like a less crowded, mellow alternative.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

I was visiting St Louis looking for lunch in the Chesterfield area and saw this on open table. Glad I tried it. Nice menu choices for lunch. Food was good. Big wine selection if you like wine.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OkobojiChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing