We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 3 of Us All Enjoyed the Food and Wine”

Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 221 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 27, 2017

Had a business dinner Monday night at Balabans. The service was friendly. All three meals were very good, as was the wine recommendation. I had the Beef Wellington and it was cooked perfectly. The others enjoyed the stuffed chicken and mahi mahi fish dish. Even the Salad and soup were quite good. Everything was reasonably priced and well worth the value. Will look forward to going back.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank O2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our first visit and would return. The asparagus salad was delicious with nice Parmesan (and quite a large portion for a "half"). Next, I had the lamb chops which were cooked rarer than I'm used to but I didn't mind a bit. They were delicious, as were the potatoes on the side. Service was fine, just a little slow, but we weren't in a hurry either.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Bobbarrenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017

A charming locale in Chesterfield.
Food is excellent and the wine list amazing.
Service and staff terrific.
Unexpected as its in a strip shopping center.
Sadly the decor could use some sprucing up. It's dark and dingy. Has such incredible space and windows.Has such potential

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shempie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2017

This certainly isn't priced like a fast food restaurant, why does it seem the wait staff and cooks all came from one? The first visit, shame on you. The second visit, shame on me.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samiam433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

We went to Balabans for our first anniversary 16 years ago and thought we would repeat it because we remembered it fondly. We regretted it. Our appetizer was lukewarm, and so was our waitress. Most of the food had the only two ingredients that I hate, onion and fennel. The scallops were overcooked, and the grains were too salty. The only positive part was the wine. We will not return.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank JenniferMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Balaban's Wine Cellar and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing