We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food usually good , service hit or miss!”
Review of Avenue Restaurant

Avenue Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Avenue Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 76 Restaurants in Clayton
Price range: US$8 - US$34
Description: A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant.
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We have eaten at their restaurants many many times. The food was always good, we went to avenue for my husbands 65th birthday he specifically chose this restaurant and i had ordered a dessert in advance with a candle as for once hadn’t gotten a cake at home. And after confirming they forgot to bring the dessert and the dinner and wine was very expensive with just okay service. For as many times as we had eaten at their restaurants i would have expected more. We have been back since and the food is good but if your expecting any special attention dont count on it.

Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Avenue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Susan, we are sorry we failed you on the service. Many people count on us for special attention and we deliver. We hope for another chance with you. Also, we are known for our fair prices on wine, we would be happy to talk with you more about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We gathered with family for a great lunch at Avenue. The restaurant was filled with brunch-goers but we decided to enjoy their lunch menu, each selecting sandwiches and soups.

The grilled turkey sandwich was delicious (and generously sized) so I split it with my daughter so we could both enjoy the French Onion soup as well. The brisk autumn day made us both want to have a cup of hot soup and it was delightful!

My husband had a BLT piled high with bacon and my brother-in-law selected a ham &cheese.

All the sandwiches were delicious and the house-made chips were a treat to nibble with the sandwiches as well.

Parking is on the street. They have a room you can rent for private parties. I may do this for family dinner sometime when we need a room for 30 people or so.

Thank 2beans2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Avenue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

We thank you for your nice words, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Had sidewalk brunch here yesterday. Great breakfast menu - and not crazy over-crowded as some places down the street. Our server was great; and the food was quality. (Biscuits in particular were really tasty!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Avenue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for the nice review Billy! We hope to see you often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

About a dozen colleagues and I enjoyed dinner at Avenue restaurant in a private dining room. The salad was fresh - but nothing special (no add ins). However the short ribs, green beans, and potato cake served with a light brown sauce was very good. The server was knowledgeable and attentive. Overall a nice dinner.

2  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Avenue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your event in our private space. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Stopped in for a quick lunch and had a good experience. The tuna salad sandwich was GREAT with the fresh 7 grain bread. Suggest a more robust serving of fruit for those choosing that option over fries, chips, fresh greens, etc. 2 orange slices, 2 grapefruit slices (all very thin) and 1 strawberry doesn't quite cut it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Avenue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your lunch, please know that your comments are heard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avenue Restaurant also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Avenue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing