We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
264
145
23
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
145
23
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroute triphistoric routemissouri hickrooms are smallgreat bbq restaurantbar b qthe mother roadauthentic routemodern amenitiespiece of historyfrom chicagohardwood floorsqueen roomfire pitthe cottagesice machinebed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 455 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Small rooms, but clean, comfortable and reasonable price right on historic 66 in Cuba. And right next door to Missouri Hicks diner. Good parking outside your room. No breakfast on site but close by. Experience 66

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B5907JVmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagonette, Owner at Wagon Wheel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Since we truly are one of the original motels on Rte 66 we appreciate
your staying with is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

This recently renovated historic motel of old U.S. Route 66 fame in Cuba, MO is a great place to rest and relax. The owner is friendly and there is a great restaurant directly next door if you're hungry. It's a clean, comfortable, and economical place to stay with a flavor of times past.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank mlshaffer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

A nice traditional Route 66 motel with lots of character. we liked being able to sit outside on the charids provided and enjoy a galss of wine on a blamy evening. Rooms were relatively small, but pretty much what you would expect of a motel of this vintage. The room was clean and facilities in good order, with the execption of a broken shaower head that we were able to sort out. Missouri Hick BBQ right next door provided a very good dinner.

Room Tip: Room down the back had no road noise - nice and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

This was our first hotel stop on Route 66 & we weren't disappointed. We were arriving later than we'd originally planned, so I called ahead to let the desk know. The woman who answered was accommodating & told me what room we'd be in & that she'd leave the key under the mat. We were sorry we weren't able to enjoy this charming hotel & its grounds sooner but were delighted with our room after arriving. Quaint & clean. In the morning we walked around, took photos & enjoyed the quiet before checking out. Loved the patio out back with its chandelier in the tree. Met the owner. She was friendly & informative & besides the lovely hotel we thought the gift shop was delightful as well. If we ever pass that way again, we'd definitely consider staying here. If you want to book this hotel, do so early! I booked this 3 months before our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground level. Several choices available to accommodate one couple or two.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017

We stayed here as part of our Route 66 road trip, our room was so cute, small but so immaculately clean and it smelt great! This was probably the best place we stayed at, it was very relaxing.

The owners do not turn up until the actual check in time, so if you arrive early you cannot check in early.

We paid $127 USD + taxes for a Monday night. Make sure you book in advance as the motel was full!

The gift shop is great and you can even get a key ring of the room you stayed in.

I cannot recommend Wagon Wheel highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeaselsGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews