We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ!”
Review of Big Muddy Bbq

Big Muddy Bbq
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Hannibal
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

Delicious! My husband had the brisket sandwich and I had the pulled pork sandwich. We loved every bite!

Thank rmgneher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schooner8888, Owner at Big Muddy Bbq, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thanks for the great review !
Come see us again and soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

I've stopped by three times over a span of several months on the way to my home in St. Louis after being in Quincy. Have only had the brisket but it is flavorful, well seasoned, with some fat as brisket should have. Nice space and folks, and very reasonable-they could even up their prices a bit. Recommended!

Thank clvier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schooner8888, Manager at Big Muddy Bbq, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thanks for the review !
MUCH appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

A couple of blocks away from the Mark Twain Museum we stumbled across Big Muddy BBQ. Big Muddy may look like a local dive bar from the outside, and entering the establishment will do little to change your mind, but the food all had a home-cooked, made-with-love feel. I had the Snackin’ Basket ($14.95) of ribs, tips, pulled pork and brisket while my wife contented herself with a pulled pork sandwich ($8.95). We had Cole slaw and beans on the side, each of which were very good. Big Muddy was a very pleasant surprise.

Thank DMartin216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schooner8888, Manager at Big Muddy Bbq, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thanks for the thoughtful review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We stopped in Hannibal on a road trip to St. Louis.
This little BBQ is so good! It has just a few tables but we didn't have to wait - although it was kind of a cool grey day so not a lot a people out and about.
You order at the counter and then they bring the food to you.
The food was delicious and the homemade potato salad was kind of life changing!
Kids and adults both loved the sampling of meats we tried and the chef came out and talked to us about how he does the preparation and some of the places he has competed for best BBQ in other states.
If in Hannibal, MO, I recommend you stop by Big Muddy BBQ.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Laura961962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schooner8888, Manager at Big Muddy Bbq, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thanks for the thoughtful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We had a late lunch here as it is very close Encore Antiques. Bill took our order and we were served quickly. I had the pork tips, beans & slaw while my wife ordered the pulled pork, chips and slaw. While the bbq is a little different than what we would consider traditional we enjoyed our meal and would come here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schooner8888, Manager at Big Muddy Bbq, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thanks you guys !!

Please come back and see us again , appreciate the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Muddy Bbq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing