We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot and great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Auberge Camelia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful spot and great people”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed for only one night and I've never felt more sorry I made my plans ahead and didn't book at least two nights in hotel Auberge Camelia. What was intended as a single 'on route' stop to get some rest turned out to be a great pleasure in the company of our lovely hosts Suzanne & Roger! They sure know what they are doing making you feel absolutely at home in their lovely family hotel!
Food was delicious, wine was perfect, what else could a traveller needs in France?
We are on a motorcycle tour across southern France and I know we're coming back to Auberge Camelia one day soon!

Room Tip: For 3+ pax ask for room 8 on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vakme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    39
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
44
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Sue and Roger made us feel at home and made excellent recommendations to help us enjoy the fantastic scenery and alpine fare.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimNeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our initial first impression of Auberge Camelia was excellent. We arrived late at night and were greated by a sumptuous platter including meat, cheese, wine and chocolate cake. Once arriving in the room we were disgusted by the filth. The corners of the room didnt appear to be recently vacuumed, there were some cobwebs, and appeared to be some mold in the bathroom. All of these deficiencies could have easily been corrected with five minutes of cleaning in the room. We were also concerned with the breakfast. The jams were left open all day and the bread/ croissants needed to be replenished more often. On the positive note, Roger and Sue (owners) are very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do in the local area. We also had dinner one night which was very good and we tried the local specialty. Our overall impression impression is that Sue and Roger run this bed and breakfast more like a hobby then a business, which is good and bad. I think alot of the customers are regulars who like the quirkiness of Auberge Camelia. If the hotel put an emphasis on cleanliness I would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast in the french alps. We flew into the Geneva airport and rented a car to head to the bed and breakfast. Well, we got lost....Roger was so kind to come to town and meet us and let us follow him to the B & B. When we arrived there it was about 9-10 p.m. Suzanne, a very friendly and wonderful hostess, gave us dinner at this late hour. What a treat ! They treated us like family, took us on a tour of their town and the mountains. What a beautiful trip they took us on. We will always remember their grand generosity and friendliness and truly ..... I hope we can go back some day. It would be wonderful to spend a week there to relax. What a break from our busy trip we were on. Thank you, Thank you Suzanne and Roger we enjoyed every minute of our visit with you. And your beds are so comfy also......

Room Tip: No noise in the french alps ! Peace & Quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
66350 Toulouges, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We live part time in France, and this was a long sightseeing motor trip to places we had not yet visited. We stayed here 3 days and truly enjoyed ourselves. We were travelling with Louie our dog and, if possible, Louie had an even better time than we did playing with Django. We did day trips to visit Plateau des Glieres, Lake Annecy, Chamonix and Geneva. The advice we received from Roger and Suzanne made all the difference in each of those trips. They are a wealth of local knowledge. We are pretty picky, but we know we'll return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We arrived in the Annecy area without a place to stay and the tourist office managed to get us a room at the Hotel Auberge Camelia, roughly about 12 km from the city. We were welcomed heartily by Roger Farrell-Cook, the owner, who had prepared a room with an extra bed for my daughter. The room was comfortable with an excellent view of Annecy and with a very good bathroom with shower. This was just what we needed after a long drive from Tuscany. Roger gave us directions to the most extraordinary restaurant, way up in the mountains. We enjoyed the best meal of the holiday. In the morning we met Sue, Roger's wife, who gave us endless information about the origins of the auberge, and the area in general. Once I declared that I was a History teacher, even more information came our way. We wished we could stay for longer, but a hotel booking near Paris and the Chunnel home meant we had to leave after breakfast. Roger personally escorted us to an open shop, (it was Sunday), so that we could buy a picnic. For an overnight stop, or for longer, summer or winter, the Hotel Auberge Camelia is first-rate!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We first stayed at Auberge Camelia in 2001 and we were delighted to discover that it was just as lovely on this return visit. Proprietors Sue and Roger are the perfect hosts - warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, organised and efficient. Our spacious and comfortable room overlooked the meadows with views to the mountains and was beautifully furnished with an efficient en suite bathroom. Sue prepared a delicious dinner on our arrival and though the auberge does not have the resources to provide dinner every night there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. There is masses to do in the area, from visits to Annecy to mountain climbing in the summer and skiing in the winter. A wonderful home from home perfect for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviernoz
7.7 km away
B&B Hotel Annecy
B&B Hotel Annecy
#1 of 2 in Argonay
87 reviews
13.0 km away
Domaine des Avenieres
Domaine des Avenieres
#1 of 2 in Cruseilles
291 reviews
12.9 km away
Mercure Annecy Sud
Mercure Annecy Sud
#2 of 4 in Seynod
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
317 reviews
13.7 km away
Ibis Budget Annecy
Ibis Budget Annecy
#3 of 6 in Cran-Gevrier
414 reviews
14.9 km away
Fasthotel Annecy
Fasthotel Annecy
#3 of 4 in Seynod
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auberge Camelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auberge Camelia

Property: Hotel Auberge Camelia
Address: 406 route de Villaz | Grand Annecy, 74570 Aviernoz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Aviernoz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Auberge Camelia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Auberge Camelia is peacefully situated between Lake Geneva and Lake Annecy in the French Alpine village of Aviernoz.Offering 10 very comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, and a restaurant, this is an ideal location for skiing, mountain walking or relaxing. It also serves as an excellent base to explore the French Alps, whether enjoying the clear, clean mountain air, or discovering the beauty of the mountains, lakes and villages in this outstanding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Auberge Camelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Camelia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing