We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stop of our whole trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Auberge Camelia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We live part time in France, and this was a long sightseeing motor trip to places we had not yet visited. We stayed here 3 days and truly enjoyed ourselves. We were travelling with Louie our dog and, if possible, Louie had an even better time than we did playing with Django. We did day trips to visit Plateau des Glieres, Lake Annecy, Chamonix and Geneva. The advice we received from Roger and Suzanne made all the difference in each of those trips. They are a wealth of local knowledge. We are pretty picky, but we know we'll return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

We arrived in the Annecy area without a place to stay and the tourist office managed to get us a room at the Hotel Auberge Camelia, roughly about 12 km from the city. We were welcomed heartily by Roger Farrell-Cook, the owner, who had prepared a room with an extra bed for my daughter. The room was comfortable with an excellent view of Annecy and with a very good bathroom with shower. This was just what we needed after a long drive from Tuscany. Roger gave us directions to the most extraordinary restaurant, way up in the mountains. We enjoyed the best meal of the holiday. In the morning we met Sue, Roger's wife, who gave us endless information about the origins of the auberge, and the area in general. Once I declared that I was a History teacher, even more information came our way. We wished we could stay for longer, but a hotel booking near Paris and the Chunnel home meant we had to leave after breakfast. Roger personally escorted us to an open shop, (it was Sunday), so that we could buy a picnic. For an overnight stop, or for longer, summer or winter, the Hotel Auberge Camelia is first-rate!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We first stayed at Auberge Camelia in 2001 and we were delighted to discover that it was just as lovely on this return visit. Proprietors Sue and Roger are the perfect hosts - warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, organised and efficient. Our spacious and comfortable room overlooked the meadows with views to the mountains and was beautifully furnished with an efficient en suite bathroom. Sue prepared a delicious dinner on our arrival and though the auberge does not have the resources to provide dinner every night there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. There is masses to do in the area, from visits to Annecy to mountain climbing in the summer and skiing in the winter. A wonderful home from home perfect for couples or families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We spent two nights here at the start of a French holiday and had a warm welcome from Sue, Roger and the two dogs - from the start this felt like a home-from-home and not like an anonymous hotel. We had planned to go into the town for a meal on the first evening, but Sue was cooking for a meeting of the French pipe-smokers club and we were invited to join them. We had a great evening with friendly people and excellent food.
It was very enjoyable to sit in Roger's bar in the evening putting the world to rights and we were treated like friends, not like hotel guests. The local area is beautiful, the town of Annecy is well worth a visit and the mountain scenery is spectacular and peaceful. We would definitely love to return some time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

What a reception! We were late getting in on a Sunday night and had expected to go into town for dinner but Sue said the kitchen was open and she would cook us dinner. She told us to go and get settled then take their little dog Jango for a walk up the hill and she would have dinner ready for us at 730. We fell in love with their 2 dogs and were in desperate need of some pet love as we missed ours. Dinner was incredible and Sue, Roger and Rogers Mom were the warmest people that you would ever want to meet. The bed was cozy and the mountain air was coaxing us to stay longer , if only we could have. Breakfast the next day was right out of a Good Housekeeping Magazine, superb. What a little gem to find after driving thru the Alps. Thanks to Sue, Roger, Mum and the Pups.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandjudy1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We were in the area for a wedding this week end. Susan and Roger welcome us like we were family. Delicious and very peacefull. Wonderfull. Really a very cozy place to stay. The only remark we could have are related to the price and to the rooms which could be cleaner according to the wives we were traveling with. For the rest, I would definetly stay there again but wished the price was a bit lower.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

At the end of our European vacation, we spent 2 nights at the Auberge Camelia. This small hotel is terrific and Sue and Roger, who own the place, are most gracious hosts who go out their way to make sure you have a great time. We took two adjoining guest rooms that were great. Breakfast is served downstairs in the mornings - and the restaurant - which is managed separately from the hotel is first class. Locatedin a small village, the hotel is very close to Annecy, which is also fabulous, so all in all, this was the perfect choice for us!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cervezaguy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviernoz
15.1 km away
Hotel Rey
Hotel Rey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Blaise
163 reviews
14.2 km away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
374 reviews
7.7 km away
B&B Hotel Annecy
B&B Hotel Annecy
#1 of 2 in Argonay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Les Acacias Bellevue
Les Acacias Bellevue
#2 of 3 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
91 reviews
11.1 km away
Privilodges Le Royal - Apparthotel
9.8 km away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auberge Camelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auberge Camelia

Address: 406 route de Villaz | Grand Annecy, 74570 Aviernoz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Aviernoz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Price Range: $101 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Auberge Camelia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Auberge Camelia is peacefully situated between Lake Geneva and Lake Annecy in the French Alpine village of Aviernoz.Offering 10 very comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, and a restaurant, this is an ideal location for skiing, mountain walking or relaxing. It also serves as an excellent base to explore the French Alps, whether enjoying the clear, clean mountain air, or discovering the beauty of the mountains, lakes and villages in this outstanding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Auberge Camelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Camelia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing