We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Best food ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Viva Troncones

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Viva Troncones
Ranked #3 of 17 Troncones B&B and Inns
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We loved it! Just make sure that you are somebody that has no problem sleeping outside with Mexican beach climate and you will have one the best vacations ever. The rest you can read in the other reviews.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tapatileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our trip (2/15/11 - 2/23/11) was my daughter's "Destination Wedding"...and she nailed it. My wife and I stayed in one bungalow and my son's family with four kids (4/9/10/13) and other daugher's family with two kids (12/13) stayed in the other two bungalows. Casa Viva is beautiful. The common area with pool, lounging area and dining area was a great place to kick back and relax. The kids were in the pool most the time or playing on the beach. The wedding was on the beach in front of Casa Viva and the reception was by the pool. The wedding included about 50 people and was spectacular. The staff was great and Elvira is a super cook. The meals were also very reasonable and we never left the table hungry. It was a memorable family vacation.

Room Tip: Round Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san miguel de allende
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We spent Christmas and New Years at Casa Viva with our seven grandhildren (agess 2-11) and their parents..We were spoiled beyond belief..it was a perfect vacation for all of us..We started each day with a wonderful breakfast and quickly decided to have dinner prepared each night by Elvira. The meals were perfect after our hard day of building sand castles, swimming in the pool, swimming in the ocean, breaking pinatas, hunting for shells and lizards etc.... Everyone relaxed and so enjoyed every minute..Thank you

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heidilevasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Casa Viva, the little sister of Playa Viva, is an incredibly precious place. It is environmentally sustainable in every possible way, but you don't miss any of the "comforts" of home. The bungalows are open to the ocean's breezes as is the communal dining and living "rooms." The pool is breathtaking and you will not want to go anywhere else but soak there for most of the day.

If you have kids, Casa Viva can arrange any activity you want to do and have the guide pick you up right from the hotel. But my guess is kids will love hanging out in the pool, at the beach, and in the garden, so you won't need to leave.

If you're going to Ixtapa, think again about the experience you want to have. You will be glad that you chose Casa Viva!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We had a fabulous time here, food was fantastic and setting idyllic! We enjoyed walks on the beach, the beautiful pool, sleeping semi outdoors and listening to the waves. We explored the town and found adventure at every turn. Nice folks and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

The only tough decision is should one sit cradled in the chair sling overlooking the ocean, go in the pool or walk on the rocky, dramatic beach. This place is understated, comfortable and designed around the environment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

It is a beautiful, safe and relaxing lowkey place with private as well as community gathering spots. We spent a lot of time at the big wooden table talking and enjoying the home-cooked Mexican food with plenty of fruit and fresh fish and watching the sunsets. There are many lovely places, including the "barcalounger" swings by the pool to read, reflect, enjoy the ocean view, chat, whatever. The grounds are lovely with much attention to a natural footprint--recycled water, berms to direct the water for maximum use, fruit trees, even bags to pick up shore litter on beach walks, The half hour walk to the nearby small town is fun, with a few rest stops for cold drinks along the way.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherbastow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
8.0 km away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.1 km away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
11.1 km away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
24.4 km away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
7.9 km away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Troncones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Troncones

Property: Casa Viva Troncones
Address: Costera, Troncones, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viva is simple elegance and natural luxury. The spacious casitas (suites) and common area with pool and jacuzzi are spread across 80 meters of beachfront on your private cove between Troncones and Manzanillo. Private and reserved, meals can be arranged with cook so you never leave the premise. Sleeps up to 16-20 comfortably, rent the entire property or just one Casita. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing