We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent, passable, friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Joplin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Joplin
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent, passable, friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Spent a quick overnight "in transit" here. Hotel is older but has been well-maintained and updated superficially. A bit careworn (cigarette burns on the shelf in the bathroom), but not a terrible place to spend a night. Not sure Joplin has much better to offer, alas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaraselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Joplin, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Drury Inn and Suites in Joplin. Your thoughts will help us address the issues you had and improve our hotel in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kristopher Karsten
General Manager
Drury Inn and Suites-Joplin, MO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    52
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
55
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I try to stay at a Drury whenever I have the ability. I travel a lot, and the Drury is always one-up from the rest that my employer budgets for. The evening kick-back (appetizers/happy hour) is great. I look forward to it all day at work.

This particular hotel is convenient to restaurants and the interstate. The staff was excellent;helpful;friendly. Comfy beds.Clean,bigger rooms. Breakfast better than most.

If you're staying over in Joplin, you should be here.

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy the evening happy hours, 5:30-7:00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed one night at the Drury Inn Joplin while traveling for Christmas vacation. Drury is very convenient to access, first hotel off the interstate (easy to find and access). Surrounded by plenty of restaurants as well (Bob Evans, Outback, Olive Garden, Cheddar's, etc), so if you do not make the 5:30-7 pm kickback like we did, getting a bite is easy to take care of. As with Drury, pets are allowed, which was our main draw since we have 2 small dogs. Were given a 2 double bed room. It seemed to be in good order, albeit smallish. The hotel on the inside is built soundly, we did not hear a thing from neighbors all night. My couple of gripes about the room were: 1) Blankets had holes in them 2) The bathroom vent was chock full of dust (not a nice sight and a fire hazard) 3) The overflow holes in the sink were nasty 4) The tub/shower drain was very slow, meaning it was probably clogged with hair. It was otherwise clean, a little dated, but we have seen way worse. We settled in for the night, kids passed out before 10. Trying to fall asleep, the bed was not the most comfortable and the pillows were so soft that your head went right to the bottom. Here's the worst part: about 10:30, I started hearing noise, like bass, coming from the outside. After about 15 mins, I went outside to check, thinking maybe it was kids getting off work from Outback (which is literally out the back door of the property). The sound was coming from a building a half block to the north (there is an open lot between the hotel and the "Jukebox", a night club. The music was blasting from the club, and drunks were shouting from their "back patio". Went to the front desk and asked if this had been a problem before. The staff said that this had been on and off for the past 5 years; that they had kindly requested the music turned down a little, and then involving the local police when they were snubbed. The desk staff (by the way who were super nice and very courteous) attempted to call, but no answer. They called the police dispatch, who said they would send a unit to enforce the noise ordinance. It did seem to get quiet about 30 mins later, but started back up again about an hour later. Being very tired, and having another early day to drive, I went back to the front desk. They said that no officer has stopped by to either ask questions or say he/she had been to the club. I called dispatch, which mentioned that they had been there, I requested it again. Finally, about 1:30 am, the music stopped (which is earlier than the 2-3 am normal closing time...apparently my call was the last straw). An uncomfortable bed and late night listneing to music it what made this a bad rating instead of average. The staff did offer me to move to the other side of the building, but my kids has already passed out for the night and I did not want to wake them to move. Again, the staff attempted to go above and beyond, if management does get a hold of this, please give my kudos to them. I did manage to get about 2-3 hours sleep, went to check out breakfast in the a.m. It is a step above continental, with hot offerings. The French toast and sausage was good. The biscuits were a little hard and the gravy did not look too appetizing. The eggs were bad; undercooked and just pathetic. An elderly couple next to us were also eating eggs and they covered them up after taking one bite, so we were not alonein our opinion. My family and I were compensated for the room due to the terrible experience with the nightclub, which I really do appreciate. In summary, not a bad property, very good location (with exception of the night club; management or corporate should really get involved with the club, city or CoC to take care of this problem). Mostly clean, but take care of the vents! Beds and pillows are "m'eh". Awesome, awesome staff! Fix the small things at breakfast.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, request a room on the southside. It is the furthest away from the noisy neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here while visiting our daughter, who works for a nearby university. The price was right, The staff was extremely helpful and eager to please. If our daughter continues to live in Joplin, this is the place we'll stay when we visit. Just a nice place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

If a good nights sleep is what you need, I love the Drury properties. They aren't the warmest and inviting, but I have never heard a neighbor. The block construction versus thin drywall rooms makes them super quiet. The staff at this property is very attentive and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unclejent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I've always heard that Drury was an excellent hotel chain and was looking forward to my stay. However, I was very disappointed. The parking lot was small - my U-haul had to be parked near the restaurant next door and not in the hotel parking lot, making me uncomfortable. The breakfast left something to be desired - decent selection, but quality was poor. The room was clean but outdated and cramped.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Joplin, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Drury Inn and Suites. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We will share your feedback with our Renovation team and with our breakfast hosts.

Kristopher Karsten
General Manager
Drury Inn and Suites-Joplin, MO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Drury is just a great chain for terrific perks included in the room price. The staff at this location were helpful and friendly and the breakfast can't be beat. Some chains have given up on the sausage gravy and biscuits, but not Drury (thankfully!)! They have scrambled eggs and all the usual goodies too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equine_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Joplin
0.6 km away
TownePlace Suites Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Joplin
Hampton Inn Joplin
#2 of 23 in Joplin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#7 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#4 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Joplin

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Joplin
Address: 3601 Rangeline Road, Joplin, MO 64804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Joplin
#4 Business Hotel in Joplin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Joplin 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joplin's prime location near the Missouri borders of Kansas, Oklahoma and Arkansas brings travelers for business, outdoor adventure and Wild West history. Our hotel at I-44 and Rangeline Road is near a variety of restaurants, but Drury Inn & Suites offers free breakfast every day and free hot food and cold drinks every evening at our 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Joplin Hotel Joplin
Drury Joplin
Joplin Drury Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing