We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast. Great pool and hot tub. Only complaint is we were here on business trip and we have tools and we were told that it looks hideous and we should move it to the back. We thought it was very rude and for that I would not stay here again. Now I would like to say it was no one that works the front desk thay were amazing! It was some creppy man that was rude.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joheayhlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize for not having to provide you the best customer service. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. It is unfortunate indeed that we have not sufficed to your exacting standard; nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation requirement in the future as we shall ensure your comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

TIP: My Garmin was able to locate the property when I entered 8551 Blue Pky. No other spelling variation on that address worked. You’ll want help finding this place as it’s located on a curve in a hilly region.

Check-in was quick and friendly, and I was given room 305. That room is relatively spacious with two queen beds and a sitting area with a couch and two chairs. The off-brand flat-screen TV works OK. There is an unusual mattress cover underneath the sheets that bunched up with any sort of movement. Otherwise the room was tasteful and up-to-date. Overall OK, but not a standout when compared to other Express properties.

Unfortunately I observed what several others have already mentioned. The furnishings and decorations might be up-to-date, but the building craftsmanship is sloppy and detracts from the overall effect. Even though fairly new, rug seams are separating, tiles are cracked, caulk and paint are smeared on surfaces, noise seems to transmit way too much, the parking lot is chopped up and mostly sloping and the backyard is a mess. It’s disappointing to see things that shouldn’t be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zender33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We certainly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. Thank you very much for drawing your attention to these problems. Rest assured that we will look into this matter so we can address these issues right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed the night with a large group of people for one night and picked this to be close to the stadium for the Cubs Royals game. Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly just not too helpful. Our group had made reservations months ahead and they had messed up our reservations and not given us enough rooms to start off with the week before when we called to add another room. They did end up accomodating all of us inthe end but was quite a chore to get this to happen. Our rooms were clean but for a family of 5 they gave us a King Suite, which would have been fine if it had other furniture like a pull out sofa. Would have amde for a tight fit xcept anotehr party in our group had a large room with 2 queens and swapped out iwth us. Tht was luxury until 5:00 when the people in teh fitness center "right above" started in on the treadmill, probably not a great place for a room underneath. Walls are indeed very paper thin adn we could hear the entire converaation next door in our room. Also thought it was strnage that though we had made our reservations so far out that we were all over the hotel nd not at all in a group anywhere near each other. Breakfast was good and other then that issues with the hotel were small, tazi service was less desirable as we tried to get taxis to the game (as the stadium is in no way 2.2 miles as the website states more over 4 miles). One of teh 6 taxis order showed so we eneded up having to drive to the game.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawnjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize for not having to provide you the best customer service. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. It is unfortunate indeed that we have not sufficed to your exacting standard; nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation requirement in the future as we shall ensure your comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This hotel is truly wonderful! We searched everywhere for a hotel with a Jacuzzi in-room for our first anniversary and this was the only hotel we could find! We were hesitant to spend such an important occasion in a Holiday Inn Express--but there was no need! The room was spacious, clean and well-styled.The tub was an actual Jacuzzi, not just a jetted tub.

They had exceptional service, as well. We mentioned that it was our anniversary and they left a beautiful orchid, a card, and a bottle of champagne. It was a wonderful experience and we were definitely be back!

Room Tip: For a room w/Jacuzzi, request when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegHarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Checked in here while passing through town. My expectations were high knowing it was a new hotel. Wrong. The walls were paper thin, the area seemed kind of sketchy, and the work in the rooms was shotty. I didn't feel very safe and it was hard to find good nearby.

They didn't seem to have the standard Holiday Inn Ex breakfast and while good, I had to ask the breakfast attendant to identify what was offered.

Would pass this one up the next time through.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradowhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I had read all the tripadvisor reviews before booking and they seemed to go w/ a wide range of responses. Frankly, I liked my stay but nothing outstanding.

GPS to hotel worked great but the prior search engine directions to the hotel were off because there are so many Blue, East Blue, Blue Ridge Parkways etc. Little suprising as you come over a hill and sure enough the hotel comes up quickly on the right of Route 350.

Very nice, new appearnace from the outside. Great check-in, very friendly lady manning the front desk and clean, well lit and comfortable lobby. Small elevator but the hotel was not nearly full on a Monday night so it was OK. While it's a fairly busy area, you absolutely need a car to stay here, get to resaturants and @KC. Plenty of parking and well-lit.

Room w/ a king bed was large, bathroom big and clean, nice toiletries bnut nothing fancy. A somewhat odd observation but there could not have been more than 6 cars in the parking lot but at least 4 of us were on the same floor, in 4 adjacent rooms and the hotel , while new, does not seem that well sound proofed. Could hear the neighbors fairly well.

Breakfast was fresh, plentiful, they have a TV in the breakfast room and USA Today's and the lady serving was very helpful and the room was very clean.

Shower was hot in the morning but the drain sticks in the up position and the water did not drain (I believe the maid must have had a tactic). The TV did not turn on w/ the remote but did work w/ both volume and changing channels. I used their lobby PC and printer for my flight check-in and it worked great.

Price was right for the room, restauarnts @ it including Applebee's (don't bother going) were an OK choice but you had to drive.Second night I stumbled on a GREAT Mexican resturant, Los Compas about a mile down 350 on the right in a strip mall and it was great, fresh, apparently family run and it was my bext meal in KC.

I liked the stay but it's a little underwhelming a hotel. For the value it is good.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

From the outside, this hotel looked very nice. The price was great compared to other hotels in the area. But overall, we were unimpressed with this hotel. We could hear people walking around above us and in the hallway all night long. We slept terribly. There was a wasp flying in the room the following morning. We contacted their manager, but she never returned our phone call. We will be paying the extra money from now on to stay at the Drury. You get what you pay for in this instance...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semchargue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
5.4 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
5.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
7.7 km away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
5.6 km away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
33.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Address: 8551 E State Route 350, Kansas City, MO 64133-4730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $143 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing