We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not the best HIE, but still good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Ranked #48 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best HIE, but still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Staff was awesome! Room was big, though not as big as other Expresses I've stayed at (the only non-bed seating in our double queen was a desk chair...). Despite being next to the ice machine, we didn't hear it all night (that was a shocker because I know people were using it -- we could hear them going down the hall).

Downside: located on one side of a divided highway, so it was impossible to get to from one direction without doing a turnaround (not like the extra two minutes were that crucial, but still...). Nothing exciting is that close, the tub could have used some new enamel, and the toilet seat was one of those broken ones that slides to the side when you use it, but... for being the "worst" Express I've stayed in, it was still far beyond other hotels in the price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radioactive_piano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Radioactive_piano,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to navigate the roads and the room conditions.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    34
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
45
21
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Had a king - room was roomy, larger than expected. Area quiet and large parking lot. Breakfast room large with many tables and complimentary breakfast was, like wow. Eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, a variety of pastries (more than the usual few), etc. Only downer was orange colored water for orange juice. The cranberry and apple juices were fine. Location was fine for us as we were attending a family funeral that was only a few miles away. Be forewarned - if you are not familiar with KC-Raytown area, there is a Blue Ridge Parkway, Blue Ridge Cut-off and Blue Ridge Blvd. They are 3 separate streets and the GPS was as confused as we were as it said "location on your left" and it wasn't. The Blue Ridge we needed was maybe a mile away, but it was to our left.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRGmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time in giving us your wonderful review about our hotel. We appreciate your review and bringing to our attention the details we needed to make more improvements. We assure you that your comments are valuable to us as we use them as reference as we evaluate the areas in our Hotel that require further consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast. Great pool and hot tub. Only complaint is we were here on business trip and we have tools and we were told that it looks hideous and we should move it to the back. We thought it was very rude and for that I would not stay here again. Now I would like to say it was no one that works the front desk thay were amazing! It was some creppy man that was rude.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joheayhlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize for not having to provide you the best customer service. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. It is unfortunate indeed that we have not sufficed to your exacting standard; nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation requirement in the future as we shall ensure your comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

TIP: My Garmin was able to locate the property when I entered 8551 Blue Pky. No other spelling variation on that address worked. You’ll want help finding this place as it’s located on a curve in a hilly region.

Check-in was quick and friendly, and I was given room 305. That room is relatively spacious with two queen beds and a sitting area with a couch and two chairs. The off-brand flat-screen TV works OK. There is an unusual mattress cover underneath the sheets that bunched up with any sort of movement. Otherwise the room was tasteful and up-to-date. Overall OK, but not a standout when compared to other Express properties.

Unfortunately I observed what several others have already mentioned. The furnishings and decorations might be up-to-date, but the building craftsmanship is sloppy and detracts from the overall effect. Even though fairly new, rug seams are separating, tiles are cracked, caulk and paint are smeared on surfaces, noise seems to transmit way too much, the parking lot is chopped up and mostly sloping and the backyard is a mess. It’s disappointing to see things that shouldn’t be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zender33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We certainly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. Thank you very much for drawing your attention to these problems. Rest assured that we will look into this matter so we can address these issues right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed the night with a large group of people for one night and picked this to be close to the stadium for the Cubs Royals game. Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly just not too helpful. Our group had made reservations months ahead and they had messed up our reservations and not given us enough rooms to start off with the week before when we called to add another room. They did end up accomodating all of us inthe end but was quite a chore to get this to happen. Our rooms were clean but for a family of 5 they gave us a King Suite, which would have been fine if it had other furniture like a pull out sofa. Would have amde for a tight fit xcept anotehr party in our group had a large room with 2 queens and swapped out iwth us. Tht was luxury until 5:00 when the people in teh fitness center "right above" started in on the treadmill, probably not a great place for a room underneath. Walls are indeed very paper thin adn we could hear the entire converaation next door in our room. Also thought it was strnage that though we had made our reservations so far out that we were all over the hotel nd not at all in a group anywhere near each other. Breakfast was good and other then that issues with the hotel were small, tazi service was less desirable as we tried to get taxis to the game (as the stadium is in no way 2.2 miles as the website states more over 4 miles). One of teh 6 taxis order showed so we eneded up having to drive to the game.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawnjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize for not having to provide you the best customer service. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. It is unfortunate indeed that we have not sufficed to your exacting standard; nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation requirement in the future as we shall ensure your comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

This hotel is truly wonderful! We searched everywhere for a hotel with a Jacuzzi in-room for our first anniversary and this was the only hotel we could find! We were hesitant to spend such an important occasion in a Holiday Inn Express--but there was no need! The room was spacious, clean and well-styled.The tub was an actual Jacuzzi, not just a jetted tub.

They had exceptional service, as well. We mentioned that it was our anniversary and they left a beautiful orchid, a card, and a bottle of champagne. It was a wonderful experience and we were definitely be back!

Room Tip: For a room w/Jacuzzi, request when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegHarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Checked in here while passing through town. My expectations were high knowing it was a new hotel. Wrong. The walls were paper thin, the area seemed kind of sketchy, and the work in the rooms was shotty. I didn't feel very safe and it was hard to find good nearby.

They didn't seem to have the standard Holiday Inn Ex breakfast and while good, I had to ask the breakfast attendant to identify what was offered.

Would pass this one up the next time through.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradowhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
26.9 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 113 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
13.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#59 of 113 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
5.7 km away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
5.5 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Address: 8551 E State Route 350, Kansas City, MO 64133-4730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing