We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ardno, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Arglesnz
Carrog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic woodland walks”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Garden and woodlands a real treat. A very restful holiday location, peaceful with a great view. Easy cottage to stay in.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator...
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Loved the cottage and the views were amazing, so relaxing a perfect peaceful holiday. There are some lovely walks surrounding the cottage in the grounds, we will be booking again

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
703kate
Huntsville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome place!”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was truly wonderful. It was cozy, clean and had everything that we needed. My husband, 9 year old daughter and I had a great time wandering about the property including the fields, forest and shoreline. The cottage and grounds were well looked after. We had privacy and quiet but at the same time we weren't too far a drive from doing and seeing things. We loved it at Ardno!

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SJohnson9...
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, relaxing and so romantix”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Set in beautiful scenery we were lucky to spend a week here back in May with our dog.

It's just perfect and everything has been thought of!

There are some lovely walks right on your door step and it's perfect for just curling up in front of the fire.

Only thing that would have been useful would be a welcome pack on arrival with milk, tea/coffee etc as the nearest shop is about 15 mins drive away and after a long drive up a cuppa on arrival would have been perfect.

Nothing to fault the cottage though.. It's just perfect! One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in Scotland.

We enjoyed it so much that we will be coming back at the end of November!!

See you again soon!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven543...
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It's the type of place you don't want anyone else to know about so you can keep it to yourself. Great little cottage and location. Stunning views at the cottage and surrounding areas. Peaceful place to stay. Only down side is not a great signal and no access for wifi which means it's difficult to look up anything to help plan a day. But that's a minor point and wouldn't stop is staying again

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Great review - appreciated. Puzzled - BT Wi-Fi was put in Ardno Cottage this year and to our knowledge it has been working as expected. I wish you had let us know if you were having a problem. It will be checked. Regards: Leonard at Lochgoilhead Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teitei13
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Difficult review to write...some good and some disappointing.”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The view from the bungalow, situated in the most magical of estates, is picture perfect. Ardno Estate is managed beautifully and in a most natural way. The bungalow was spotless. It is a long, long way to anywhere so if site-seeing be prepared for long drives. Want a newspaper or milk then it's a 14 mile round trip. I had two reservations - firstly there was not a book in the place. I've stayed in many, many rentals in beautiful locations and they all came with maps, guide books, and books on the local flora and fauna, not here. And secondly, even though we had paid top whack for the place the owner charged us £10 after when we informed them of a breakage. Never in my experience have I been charged or heard of others being charged for a breakage. I'd be very concerned about upsetting a glass of red wine on the carpet, I'm sure the owner would charge for a carpet clean. I felt it penny pinching and bad form. However Leonard, the Manager of the property, was quick to respond to emails and was very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Being charged for breaking the glass of the cafetiere...very poor etiquette.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We have emailed each other since. There is a lot that is good about your review but of course being charged £10 for a breakage, which you kindly reported on departure, has soured your view. You were a great family to deal with and I would hope to see you back in this beautiful part of Scotland again. Leonard at Lochgoilhead Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.